Is anyone else having problems with Startpage.com?

Chat about just about anything else
Post Reply
User avatar
Portreve
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2129
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 12:03 am
Location: Florida
Contact:

Is anyone else having problems with Startpage.com?

Post by Portreve » Wed Oct 09, 2019 7:39 pm

On the recommendation of others here on LMF, I've set up Startpage.com as my default search engine. However, lately I've noticed I'm having problems.

If I go directly to https://www.startpage.com/ and execute a query there, I get search results. However, when Firefox passes the query from something I've typed in the search/address bar, most of the time Startpage just times out and I never get any results (and generally not even an error message).

Has anyone else experienced this or any other strange problems with Startpage?
Presently rocking LinuxMint 19.2 Cinnamon.

Remember to mark your fixed problem [SOLVED].

Xi does look like Winnie the Pooh. FTCG.

User avatar
catweazel
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9730
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: Is anyone else having problems with Startpage.com?

Post by catweazel » Wed Oct 09, 2019 10:13 pm

Portreve wrote:
Wed Oct 09, 2019 7:39 pm
Has anyone else experienced this or any other strange problems with Startpage?
Not here, no, but I don't use it.

<runs and hides>
"There is, ultimately, only one truth -- cogito, ergo sum -- everything else is an assumption." - Me, my swansong.

ajgringo619
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1453
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:36 pm
Location: San Diego, California

Re: Is anyone else having problems with Startpage.com?

Post by ajgringo619 » Wed Oct 09, 2019 11:42 pm

Have you tried another browser? Does pinging https://startpage.com give good results?
Mint 19.2 XFCE
kernel 4.15.0-70-generic
AMD FX-8350 Eight-Core w/16 GB RAM
Nvidia GeForce 960 w/2GB RAM (440.26)
Image

User avatar
Pjotr
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13730
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:18 am
Location: The Netherlands (Holland)
Contact:

Re: Is anyone else having problems with Startpage.com?

Post by Pjotr » Thu Oct 10, 2019 5:26 am

Sometimes Startpage is slow/overloaded. I normally use Startpage for the sake of privacy, but I've set the search box in the Firefox panel to Google, as fallback. Also because in certain cases Google gives better results than Startpage.
Tip: 10 things to do after installing Linux Mint 19.2 Tina
Keep your Linux Mint healthy: Avoid these 10 fatal mistakes
Twitter: twitter.com/easylinuxtips
All in all, horse sense simply makes sense.

User avatar
Moem
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9514
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Is anyone else having problems with Startpage.com?

Post by Moem » Thu Oct 10, 2019 6:05 am

I've had no problems. I use Startpage on Waterfox and it always seems to work fine.
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!

User avatar
Pierre
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9163
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:33 am
Location: Perth, AU.

Re: Is anyone else having problems with Startpage.com?

Post by Pierre » Thu Oct 10, 2019 6:18 am

my Firefox search is set to use DDG .. ..
Image
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.

User avatar
majpooper
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 951
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 1:56 pm
Location: North Carolina, USA

Re: Is anyone else having problems with Startpage.com?

Post by majpooper » Thu Oct 10, 2019 12:56 pm

Portreve wrote:
Wed Oct 09, 2019 7:39 pm
when Firefox passes the query from something I've typed in the search/address bar, most of the time Startpage just times out and I never get any results (and generally not even an error message).
Using StartPage with FF - I never use the search/address bar for searches ( I use the large search bar located in the middle of the page) but tested it to see if I would get the same issue you describe. The search/address bar worked fine in my case.

User avatar
Portreve
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2129
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 12:03 am
Location: Florida
Contact:

Re: Is anyone else having problems with Startpage.com?

Post by Portreve » Sat Oct 12, 2019 10:27 am

catweazel wrote:
Wed Oct 09, 2019 10:13 pm
Portreve wrote:
Wed Oct 09, 2019 7:39 pm
Has anyone else experienced this or any other strange problems with Startpage?
Not here, no, but I don't use it.

<runs and hides>
[throws a bottle of Vegemite after catweazel]
Presently rocking LinuxMint 19.2 Cinnamon.

Remember to mark your fixed problem [SOLVED].

Xi does look like Winnie the Pooh. FTCG.

DAMIEN1307
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2199
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 8:13 pm
Location: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

Re: Is anyone else having problems with Startpage.com?

Post by DAMIEN1307 » Sat Oct 12, 2019 10:32 am

I use it on three different browsers, Brave, Slimjet, and Dissenter,(a fork off of Brave)...all work in a blink of an eye with no delay whatsoever.

I have seen it work in other peoples Firefox browsers and it is sloooow in comparison to what im used to.

Do not want to start wars but i havent been very happy with Firefox for some years now due to bloat, slowness, and configuration issues, but thats just me i guess...DAMIEN
ORDO AB CHAO

KBD47
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1808
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 12:03 am

Re: Is anyone else having problems with Startpage.com?

Post by KBD47 » Sat Oct 12, 2019 10:46 am

Do you have it set to startpage https? startpage in the search bar is usually added as a an add-on instead of putting it in manually. If you go to the startpage web site does it ask you to install it as an add-on to your browser? You might try that, or if you already have it as an add-on, remove it, then add it again.

User avatar
trytip
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3809
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: Is anyone else having problems with Startpage.com?

Post by trytip » Sat Oct 12, 2019 10:58 am

i don't actually want what i search for, but it's only an example. we call this censorship and you may not be aware of it but it's happening to a lot of subjects not only p0rn
Image
Image

Post Reply

Return to “Open chat”