[SOLVED] Different wallpaper on each display?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
milon
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 3:20 pm

[SOLVED] Different wallpaper on each display?

Post by milon »

I'm running Linux Mint 19.1 with Cinnamon with a dual monitor setup. I've currently got a folder of images that it rotates through, and it shows the same image on each display. Is it possible to rotate through the images and show a different one on each display?
Last edited by milon on Sat Feb 23, 2019 3:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
kato181
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1210
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2017 12:33 am
Location: Frederickton NSW

Re: Different wallpaper on each display?

Post by kato181 »

You haven't said whether they are themes or screensavers. Or what desktop you are using. eg, Cinnamon, Mate, Xfce
I'm on my windoz puta atm, so I can't really help you
try going to Desktop settings and see what is in there.
I'm assuming(but don't quote me) that because you have two monitors running off the same computer, it uses the one system, that won't be possible.
Then again, I don't use two monitors so i'm only having a guess here, you could try selecting one monitor and see if it has the options of selecting different themes/screen savers, and then select the other one and do the same.
go to Terminal and do the following and post the results here so others can help:
inxi -Fxz
good luck
milon
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 3:20 pm

Re: Different wallpaper on each display?

Post by milon »

I guess I didn't specify in the body of the post, but I am talking about the wallpaper picture. Not a screen saver.
milon wrote:
Thu Feb 21, 2019 12:20 pm
I'm running Linux Mint 19.1 with Cinnamon ...
Cinnamon desktop. ;)

And I've tried looking into the desktop settings, searching online, etc. I'm posting here as a last effort before giving up on the idea.

I'll run the command from home later and post the results.

Edit: The results of inxi -Fxz:

Code: Select all

System:
  Host: Desktop Kernel: 4.15.0-45-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc 
  v: 7.3.0 Desktop: Cinnamon 4.0.9 Distro: Linux Mint 19.1 Tessa 
  base: Ubuntu 18.04 bionic 
Machine:
  Type: Desktop System: BIOSTAR product: H81A v: 0.6 serial: <filter> 
  Mobo: BIOSTAR model: H81A v: 0.6 serial: <filter> 
  BIOS: American Megatrends v: 4.6.5 date: 07/18/2017 
Battery:
  Device-1: hidpp_battery_0 model: Logitech M570 charge: 75% 
  status: Discharging 
CPU:
  Topology: Quad Core model: Intel Core i5-4670K bits: 64 type: MCP 
  arch: Haswell rev: 3 L2 cache: 6144 KiB 
  flags: lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx bogomips: 27200 
  Speed: 800 MHz min/max: 800/3800 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 800 2: 800 
  3: 800 4: 800 
Graphics:
  Device-1: Intel Xeon E3-1200 v3/4th Gen Core Processor Integrated Graphics 
  vendor: Biostar Microtech Intl Corp driver: i915 v: kernel bus ID: 00:02.0 
  Device-2: NVIDIA GK208B [GeForce GT 710] vendor: Micro-Star MSI 
  driver: nvidia v: 390.77 bus ID: 01:00.0 
  Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.19.6 driver: modesetting,nvidia 
  unloaded: fbdev,nouveau,vesa resolution: 1280x1024~60Hz, 1280x1024~60Hz 
  OpenGL: renderer: GeForce GT 710/PCIe/SSE2 v: 4.6.0 NVIDIA 390.77 
  direct render: Yes 
Audio:
  Device-1: Intel Xeon E3-1200 v3/4th Gen Core Processor HD Audio 
  driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 00:03.0 
  Device-2: Intel 8 Series/C220 Series High Definition Audio 
  vendor: Biostar Microtech Intl Corp driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel 
  bus ID: 00:1b.0 
  Device-3: NVIDIA GK208 HDMI/DP Audio vendor: Micro-Star MSI 
  driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 01:00.1 
  Device-4: Logitech type: USB driver: hid-generic,snd-usb-audio,usbhid 
  bus ID: 3-7.2:6 
  Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.15.0-45-generic 
Network:
  Device-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet 
  vendor: Biostar Microtech Intl Corp driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: d000 
  bus ID: 03:00.0 
  IF: enp3s0 state: down mac: <filter> 
  Device-2: Qualcomm Atheros AR9287 Wireless Network Adapter driver: ath9k 
  v: kernel port: d000 bus ID: 04:00.0 
  IF: wlp4s0 state: up mac: <filter> 
Drives:
  Local Storage: total: 2.40 TiB used: 382.22 GiB (15.5%) 
  ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Western Digital model: WD6400AAKS-00A7B2 
  size: 596.17 GiB 
  ID-2: /dev/sdb vendor: Western Digital model: WD20EZRZ-00Z5HB0 
  size: 1.82 TiB 
Partition:
  ID-1: / size: 585.81 GiB used: 16.02 GiB (2.7%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1 
Sensors:
  System Temperatures: cpu: 29.8 C mobo: 27.8 C gpu: nvidia temp: 29 C 
  Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A gpu: nvidia fan: 50% 
Info:
  Processes: 337 Uptime: 1d 5h 00m Memory: 7.71 GiB used: 1.64 GiB (21.3%) 
  Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 7.3.0 Shell: bash v: 4.4.19 
  inxi: 3.0.27 
User avatar
kato181
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1210
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2017 12:33 am
Location: Frederickton NSW

Re: Different wallpaper on each display?

Post by kato181 »

milon wrote:
Fri Feb 22, 2019 1:11 pm
I guess I didn't specify in the body of the post, but I am talking about the wallpaper picture. Not a screen saver.
milon wrote:
Thu Feb 21, 2019 12:20 pm
I'm running Linux Mint 19.1 with Cinnamon ...
Cinnamon desktop. ;)

And I've tried looking into the desktop settings, searching online, etc. I'm posting here as a last effort before giving up on the idea.

I'll run the command from home later and post the results.

Edit: The results of inxi -Fxz:

Code: Select all

System:
  Host: Desktop Kernel: 4.15.0-45-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc 
  v: 7.3.0 Desktop: Cinnamon 4.0.9 Distro: Linux Mint 19.1 Tessa 
  base: Ubuntu 18.04 bionic 
Machine:
  Type: Desktop System: BIOSTAR product: H81A v: 0.6 serial: <filter> 
  Mobo: BIOSTAR model: H81A v: 0.6 serial: <filter> 
  BIOS: American Megatrends v: 4.6.5 date: 07/18/2017 
Battery:
  Device-1: hidpp_battery_0 model: Logitech M570 charge: 75% 
  status: Discharging 
CPU:
  Topology: Quad Core model: Intel Core i5-4670K bits: 64 type: MCP 
  arch: Haswell rev: 3 L2 cache: 6144 KiB 
  flags: lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx bogomips: 27200 
  Speed: 800 MHz min/max: 800/3800 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 800 2: 800 
  3: 800 4: 800 
Graphics:
  Device-1: Intel Xeon E3-1200 v3/4th Gen Core Processor Integrated Graphics 
  vendor: Biostar Microtech Intl Corp driver: i915 v: kernel bus ID: 00:02.0 
  Device-2: NVIDIA GK208B [GeForce GT 710] vendor: Micro-Star MSI 
  driver: nvidia v: 390.77 bus ID: 01:00.0 
  Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.19.6 driver: modesetting,nvidia 
  unloaded: fbdev,nouveau,vesa resolution: 1280x1024~60Hz, 1280x1024~60Hz 
  OpenGL: renderer: GeForce GT 710/PCIe/SSE2 v: 4.6.0 NVIDIA 390.77 
  direct render: Yes 
Audio:
  Device-1: Intel Xeon E3-1200 v3/4th Gen Core Processor HD Audio 
  driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 00:03.0 
  Device-2: Intel 8 Series/C220 Series High Definition Audio 
  vendor: Biostar Microtech Intl Corp driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel 
  bus ID: 00:1b.0 
  Device-3: NVIDIA GK208 HDMI/DP Audio vendor: Micro-Star MSI 
  driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 01:00.1 
  Device-4: Logitech type: USB driver: hid-generic,snd-usb-audio,usbhid 
  bus ID: 3-7.2:6 
  Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.15.0-45-generic 
Network:
  Device-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet 
  vendor: Biostar Microtech Intl Corp driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: d000 
  bus ID: 03:00.0 
  IF: enp3s0 state: down mac: <filter> 
  Device-2: Qualcomm Atheros AR9287 Wireless Network Adapter driver: ath9k 
  v: kernel port: d000 bus ID: 04:00.0 
  IF: wlp4s0 state: up mac: <filter> 
Drives:
  Local Storage: total: 2.40 TiB used: 382.22 GiB (15.5%) 
  ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Western Digital model: WD6400AAKS-00A7B2 
  size: 596.17 GiB 
  ID-2: /dev/sdb vendor: Western Digital model: WD20EZRZ-00Z5HB0 
  size: 1.82 TiB 
Partition:
  ID-1: / size: 585.81 GiB used: 16.02 GiB (2.7%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1 
Sensors:
  System Temperatures: cpu: 29.8 C mobo: 27.8 C gpu: nvidia temp: 29 C 
  Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A gpu: nvidia fan: 50% 
Info:
  Processes: 337 Uptime: 1d 5h 00m Memory: 7.71 GiB used: 1.64 GiB (21.3%) 
  Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 7.3.0 Shell: bash v: 4.4.19 
  inxi: 3.0.27 
I've not heard of anyone wanting different themes on two monitors, let alone having succeeded in doing it, but that's not to say that it's not possible. But my opinion for what it's worth is that I don't think you can do it.
User avatar
phd21
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9975
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Different wallpaper on each display?

Post by phd21 »

Hi milon,

Set a Different Wallpaper for Each Monitor on Ubuntu - OMG! Ubuntu!
https://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2018/01/dif ... untu-linux

How to Set Different Wallpaper for Each Monitor in Linux
https://itsfoss.com/wallpaper-multi-monitor/


How to change the wallpaper with variety or nitrogen in ArchLabs
- Nitrogen can use 2 screens
https://erikdubois.be/how-to-change-the ... -archlabs/

Hope this helps ...
Phd21: Mint 20 Cinnamon & xKDE (Mint Xfce + Kubuntu KDE) & KDE Neon 64-bit (new based on Ubuntu 20.04) Awesome OS's, Dell Inspiron I5 7000 (7573) 2 in 1 touch screen, Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,4gb Ram, Intel 4 Graphics.
User avatar
kato181
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1210
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2017 12:33 am
Location: Frederickton NSW

Re: Different wallpaper on each display?

Post by kato181 »

phd21 wrote:
Fri Feb 22, 2019 9:09 pm
Hi milon,

Set a Different Wallpaper for Each Monitor on Ubuntu - OMG! Ubuntu!
https://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2018/01/dif ... untu-linux

How to Set Different Wallpaper for Each Monitor in Linux
https://itsfoss.com/wallpaper-multi-monitor/


How to change the wallpaper with variety or nitrogen in ArchLabs
- Nitrogen can use 2 screens
https://erikdubois.be/how-to-change-the ... -archlabs/

Hope this helps ...
Well done mate...I searched for him lastnight also but i must have missed those links as it was getting late and my knockout pill started to kick in..This should help him.
User avatar
phd21
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9975
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Different wallpaper on each display?

Post by phd21 »

Hi kato181,

Thank you for saying so.

Those web links should help anyone who wants to use different wallpaper images on different screens.

My KDE systems have always been able to do that.

Cheers and have a great day and night...
Phd21: Mint 20 Cinnamon & xKDE (Mint Xfce + Kubuntu KDE) & KDE Neon 64-bit (new based on Ubuntu 20.04) Awesome OS's, Dell Inspiron I5 7000 (7573) 2 in 1 touch screen, Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,4gb Ram, Intel 4 Graphics.
User avatar
kato181
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1210
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2017 12:33 am
Location: Frederickton NSW

Re: Different wallpaper on each display?

Post by kato181 »

phd21 wrote:
Fri Feb 22, 2019 10:03 pm
Hi kato181,

Thank you for saying so.

Those web links should help anyone who wants to use different wallpaper images on different screens.

My KDE systems have always been able to do that.

Cheers and have a great day and night...
You to mate.
milon
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 3:20 pm

Re: Different wallpaper on each display?

Post by milon »

Thanks so much! I kept finding things that talked about KDE or other desktop environments, but this looks promising. I'm going to look into Nitrogen and HydraPaper! :D

EDIT: Haha! It's easy easy as $ sudo apt install nitrogen and then launch the app. :D
Last edited by milon on Sat Feb 23, 2019 11:04 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
phd21
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9975
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Different wallpaper on each display?

Post by phd21 »

Hi milon,

You are welcome...
Phd21: Mint 20 Cinnamon & xKDE (Mint Xfce + Kubuntu KDE) & KDE Neon 64-bit (new based on Ubuntu 20.04) Awesome OS's, Dell Inspiron I5 7000 (7573) 2 in 1 touch screen, Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,4gb Ram, Intel 4 Graphics.
milon
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 3:20 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Different wallpaper on each display?

Post by milon »

Haha - forgot to mark this as solved!

Thanks again for pointing me in the right direction! :)
ismail783
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2018 10:34 am

Re: [SOLVED] Different wallpaper on each display?

Post by ismail783 »

Let me explain with an example.

I have two 1920x1080 monitors.

I am using a 3840x1080 wallpaper.

Right Click Desktop > Change Desktop Background > Go to `Settings` Tab > Select `Spanned` from Picture aspect dropdown.
Attachments
Screenshot Of My Desktop
Screenshot Of My Desktop
rarsa
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2010 5:51 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Different wallpaper on each display?

Post by rarsa »

I am aware I am reviving a SOLVED thread, but I hope other people benefit from this when searching for the thread.

After reading the solution provided by ismail783
ismail783 wrote:
Thu Nov 28, 2019 3:49 am
I am using a 3840x1080 wallpaper.
I decided to create a script to generate the appropriate image for any monitor configuration and positioning.
Right now, it receives as a parameter either a file name, which it spans across all the monitors; or a directory name, from which the script randomly selects one image file per monitor and assembles them.

https://www.usingfoss.com/2020/09/setin ... es-in.html

I tried to be concise and clear in the script so it can be modified for other requirements.
Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”