Install seems to go fine, but Grub not loading (SOLVED)

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
ken8521
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2020 7:45 am

Install seems to go fine, but Grub not loading (SOLVED)

Post by ken8521 »

I've installed Linux many times but this laptop has given me some fits (Lenovo 330s)

I have 2 hard drives,

A 250gig NVME that has Windows 10, etc.. that came with the laptop.

A 240gig Sandisk SSD (/dev/sda) that was blank when this all started.

I boot the live 19.3 Live USB, go through the install process. During the partition setup, I set up a 12gig swap, and a 40gig /. The rest of the drive is unused for now, I'll format it later for general storage. All of this is on the Sandisk SSD (/dev/sda). I also set the boot loader to be installed to /dev/sda. Continue with the install, and everything appears to go w/o a hitch. At the end of the install, it doesn't appear to pick up the Windows install. This is really no concern, as once this is up it will probably only be booted about once a year on accident. When the install completes, I reboot, the SSD is first in the boot sequence, but every time it gets skipped and goes straight to booting Windows. It doesn't even appear Grub is trying to load.

This is my first new laptop in about 8yrs, but I know there's now a different Windows boot manager for Win 10... so I check the BIOS.. and it is set to "Legacy Supported" and "Legacy First", and the SSD is first in the boot sequence. My other option is UEFI, which I'm assuming would make Windows boot first.

What am I missing here?

Thanks

I should also add, although at this point I don't think it's relevant, I did have to use noapic to boot the live USB
Last edited by ken8521 on Sat Feb 15, 2020 8:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Pierre
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9812
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:33 am
Location: Perth, AU.

Re: Install seems to go fine, but Grub not loading

Post by Pierre »

are you using LinuxMint 19.x 64bit :?: that should also boot in UEFI mode ..
- - did you get any Installer issues pertaining to the Secure Boot function ?.
did you Install ON-line / OFF -line ?. that does seem to make an difference.

can you also boot that Live LinuxMint Media and type this into Terminal:

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxz
then copy the result of that, back here, on your reply.

have to disabled the Fast Start function in that win-10 system ?.
https://www.windowscentral.com/how-disa ... st-startup
Image
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.

ken8521
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2020 7:45 am

Re: Install seems to go fine, but Grub not loading

Post by ken8521 »

Yes, 19.3.. and installed online and downloaded all updates. Installer showed no errors, etc. Unfortunately I can't get the USB to boot in UEFI mode, so I had to use legacy.

mint@mint:~$ inxi -Fxz
System:
Host: mint Kernel: 5.0.0-32-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 7.4.0
Desktop: Cinnamon 4.4.5 Distro: Linux Mint 19.3 Tricia
base: Ubuntu 18.04 bionic
Machine:
Type: Laptop System: LENOVO product: 81FB v: Lenovo ideapad 330S-15ARR
serial: <filter>
Mobo: LENOVO model: LNVNB161216 v: SDK0J40700WIN serial: <filter>
UEFI [Legacy]: LENOVO v: 7WCN37WW date: 05/22/2019
Battery:
ID-1: BAT1 charge: 29.9 Wh condition: 30.0/30.0 Wh (100%)
model: LENOVO BASE-BAT status: Unknown
CPU:
Topology: Quad Core model: AMD Ryzen 5 2500U with Radeon Vega Mobile Gfx
bits: 64 type: MT MCP arch: Zen L2 cache: 2048 KiB
flags: lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm
bogomips: 31943
Speed: 1553 MHz min/max: 1600/2000 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 1546 2: 1502
3: 1356 4: 1502 5: 1491 6: 1495 7: 1424 8: 1445
Graphics:
Device-1: AMD Raven Ridge [Radeon Vega Series / Radeon Vega Mobile Series]
vendor: Lenovo driver: amdgpu v: kernel bus ID: 04:00.0
Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.4 driver: amdgpu,ati
unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,vesa resolution: 1920x1080~60Hz
OpenGL: renderer: AMD RAVEN (DRM 3.27.0 5.0.0-32-generic LLVM 8.0.0)
v: 4.5 Mesa 19.0.8 direct render: Yes
Audio:
Device-1: AMD vendor: Lenovo driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel
bus ID: 04:00.1
Device-2: AMD driver: N/A bus ID: 04:00.5
Device-3: AMD vendor: Lenovo driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel
bus ID: 04:00.6
Sound Server: ALSA v: k5.0.0-32-generic
Network:
Device-1: Qualcomm Atheros QCA9377 802.11ac Wireless Network Adapter
vendor: Lenovo driver: ath10k_pci v: kernel bus ID: 01:00.0
IF: wlp1s0 state: up mac: <filter>
Device-2: Atheros type: USB driver: btusb bus ID: 3-2:3
Drives:
Local Storage: total: 476.60 GiB used: 96.2 MiB (0.0%)
ID-1: /dev/nvme0n1 model: HFM256GDHTNG-8310A size: 238.47 GiB
ID-2: /dev/sda vendor: SanDisk model: SSD PLUS 240GB size: 223.57 GiB
temp: 38 C
ID-3: /dev/sdb type: USB vendor: SanDisk model: Cruzer Blade
size: 14.56 GiB
Partition:
ID-1: / size: 3.29 GiB used: 96.2 MiB (2.9%) fs: overlay source: ERR-102
ID-2: swap-1 size: 13.97 GiB used: 0 KiB (0.0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda1
Sensors:
System Temperatures: cpu: 52.2 C mobo: N/A gpu: amdgpu temp: 52 C
Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A
Info:
Processes: 247 Uptime: 2m Memory: 6.57 GiB used: 1.09 GiB (16.6%)
Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 7.4.0 Shell: bash v: 4.4.20
inxi: 3.0.32
mint@mint:~$

User avatar
Pierre
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9812
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:33 am
Location: Perth, AU.

Re: Install seems to go fine, but Grub not loading

Post by Pierre »

if you have Booted & Installed in legacy mode, then the LinuxMint Installer won't 'see' that Windows System.

so, try again, in UEFI mode & OFF-line, as well .. you should be able select that mode, from the Boot Menu ?.
- - just reuse the same partitions, and select to Format them, again, or you will get two LinuxMint systems :!:
Image
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.

ken8521
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2020 7:45 am

Re: Install seems to go fine, but Grub not loading

Post by ken8521 »

Pierre wrote:
Sat Feb 15, 2020 8:34 am
if you have Booted & Installed in legacy mode, then the LinuxMint Installer won't 'see' that Windows System.

so, try again, in UEFI mode & OFF-line, as well .. you should be able select that mode, from the Boot Menu ?.
- - just reuse the same partitions, and select to Format them, again, or you will get two LinuxMint systems :!:
Yeah, I understood the whole Legacy thing is why Win 10 was not picked up, I was just pointing out I didn't really care. I started going through the BIOS, again, rather than just the Boot section, and saw the option to disable Secure Boot, so I decided to give that a try. Disabled Secure Boot, left it in UEFI, and went ahead and reinstalled.

Bang.. now I'm on my install! :)

Now I just got to add noapic permanently to Grub, and it's a wrap, but that will be no problem.

Thanks for the help.

User avatar
Pierre
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9812
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:33 am
Location: Perth, AU.

Re: Install seems to go fine, but Grub not loading (SOLVED)

Post by Pierre »

Jolly Good
:D
do like an Happy Ending.
Image
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.

Post Reply

Return to “Installation & Boot”