Brave Browser [SOLVED]

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
sdcougar
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 105
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2010 9:45 pm

Brave Browser [SOLVED]

Post by sdcougar »

I just installed 19.1 Cinnamon and want to install Brave Browser. Went to their site and copied and pasted instructionsin terminal. Did not seem to finish. Last 2 lines said something about triggers. I did updates and tried again in terminal and this is what was said: ~$ sudo apt install apt-transport-https curl
[sudo] password for mike:
Sorry, try again.
[sudo] password for mike:
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
curl is already the newest version (7.58.0-2ubuntu3.8).
apt-transport-https is already the newest version (1.6.12).
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
mike@mike-Lenovo-G50-45:~$


But no Brave Browser.
Last edited by sdcougar on Fri Jan 10, 2020 8:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Lenovo G50 AMD A8 Linux 18 'Sarah' 64 bit Cinnamon

ciniset
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2017 10:14 am

Re: Brave Browser

Post by ciniset »

as per their site instructions, type in terminal:
on a line:

Code: Select all

curl -s https://brave-browser-apt-release.s3.brave.com/brave-core.asc | sudo apt-key --keyring /etc/apt/trusted.gpg.d/brave-browser-release.gpg add -
and <ENTER>
on a line:

Code: Select all

echo "deb [arch=amd64] https://brave-browser-apt-release.s3.brave.com/ stable main" | sudo tee /etc/apt/sources.list.d/brave-browser-release.list
and <ENTER>
on a line:

Code: Select all

sudo apt update
and <ENTER>
on a line:

Code: Select all

sudo apt install brave-browser
and <ENTER>

Lady Fitzgerald
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 520
Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2020 3:12 pm
Location: AZ, SSA (Squabbling States of America)

Re: Brave Browser

Post by Lady Fitzgerald »

Have you tried getting it from the repository?
Jeannie

Linux Mint Cinnamon 19.3 Cinnamon 64 bit
System 76 Serval WS (serw11) 17" Laptop

User avatar
Pierre
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 10599
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:33 am
Location: Perth, AU.

Re: Brave Browser

Post by Pierre »

the Brave browser is *not* available in the Software Repository,
& thus you do need to add it in .. ..
Image
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.

sdcougar
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 105
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2010 9:45 pm

Re: Brave Browser

Post by sdcougar »

mike@mike-Lenovo-G50-45:~$ CODE: SELECT ALL curl -s https://brave-browser-apt-release.s3.br ... e-core.asc | sudo apt-key --keyring /etc/apt/trusted.gpg.d/brave-browser-release.gpg add -
[sudo] password for mike: CODE:: command not found
Last edited by sdcougar on Fri Jan 10, 2020 2:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Lenovo G50 AMD A8 Linux 18 'Sarah' 64 bit Cinnamon

sdcougar
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 105
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2010 9:45 pm

Re: Brave Browser

Post by sdcougar »

This is what I did before:


Debian 9+, Ubuntu 14.04+ and Mint 17+

If you get gnutls_handshake() errors after adding the Brave repository on Debian 9, you may need to uninstall old conflicting packages.

sudo apt install apt-transport-https curl

curl -s https://brave-browser-apt-release.s3.br ... e-core.asc | sudo apt-key --keyring /etc/apt/trusted.gpg.d/brave-browser-release.gpg add -

echo "deb [arch=amd64] https://brave-browser-apt-release.s3.brave.com/ stable main" | sudo tee /etc/apt/sources.list.d/brave-browser-release.list

sudo apt update

sudo apt install brave-browser


https://brave-browser.readthedocs.io/en ... html#linux
Lenovo G50 AMD A8 Linux 18 'Sarah' 64 bit Cinnamon

sdcougar
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 105
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2010 9:45 pm

Re: Brave Browser

Post by sdcougar »

I tried again as per the immediately preceding post.

Here is where it ended up:

... Unpacking brave-browser (1.2.42) ...
Setting up brave-keyring (1.8) ...
OK
Setting up brave-browser (1.2.42) ...
update-alternatives: using /usr/bin/brave-browser-stable to provide /usr/bin/x-www-browser (x-www-browser) in auto mode
update-alternatives: using /usr/bin/brave-browser-stable to provide /usr/bin/gnome-www-browser (gnome-www-browser) in auto mode
update-alternatives: using /usr/bin/brave-browser-stable to provide /usr/bin/brave-browser (brave-browser) in auto mode
Processing triggers for desktop-file-utils (0.23+linuxmint5) ...
Processing triggers for man-db (2.8.3-2ubuntu0.1) ...
Processing triggers for gnome-menus (3.13.3-11ubuntu1.1) ...
Processing triggers for mime-support (3.60ubuntu1) ...
mike@mike-Lenovo-G50-45:~$
Lenovo G50 AMD A8 Linux 18 'Sarah' 64 bit Cinnamon

DAMIEN1307
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2818
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 8:13 pm
Location: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

Re: Brave Browser

Post by DAMIEN1307 »

Hi sdcougar,

Uninstall everything that you have done thus far"

Code: Select all

sudo apt purge brave-browser*
Then, open "update manager", click the "edit" tab...then click "Other Software" tab...Then click on, in order to highlight the entry marked "brave", and click the remove button:

From there, use the scripts i have only slightly modified from the Official version from the Official website in order to install brave...do each one, one at a time and only then reboot system when completed...hopefully you will then have Brave as a working, viable browser...Report back when done with a yay or nay...DAMIEN

Ps...I couldnt allow myself to just standby and watch your slow torture any longer...I will be extremely rare to be heard from here from now on in the forums and will ONLY choose to answer posts that interest me and where i think I will be able to have any possible, positive impact in future...Im not perfect and realise this as such, but have always strived to do the best that i am capable thereof.

Code: Select all

curl -s https://brave-browser-apt-release.s3.brave.com/brave-core.asc | sudo apt-key add -

Code: Select all

UBUNTU_CODENAME=$( (grep DISTRIB_CODENAME /etc/upstream-release/lsb-release || grep DISTRIB_CODENAME /etc/lsb-release) 2>/dev/null | cut -d'=' -f2 )

Code: Select all

echo "deb [arch=amd64] https://brave-browser-apt-release.s3.brave.com/ bionic main" | sudo tee /etc/apt/sources.list.d/brave-browser-release-bionic.list

Code: Select all

sudo apt update

Code: Select all

sudo apt install brave-browser brave-keyring
ORDO AB CHAO

sdcougar
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 105
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2010 9:45 pm

Re: Brave Browser

Post by sdcougar »

DAMIEN1307 wrote:
Fri Jan 10, 2020 5:38 pm
Hi sdcougar,

Uninstall everything that you have done thus far"

Code: Select all

sudo apt purge brave-browser*
Then, open "update manager", click the "edit" tab...then click "Other Software" tab...Then click on, in order to highlight the entry marked "brave", and click the remove button:

From there, use the scripts i have only slightly modified from the Official version from the Official website in order to install brave...do each one, one at a time and only then reboot system when completed...hopefully you will then have Brave as a working, viable browser...Report back when done with a yay or nay...DAMIEN

Ps...I couldnt allow myself to just standby and watch your slow torture any longer...I will be extremely rare to be heard from here from now on in the forums and will ONLY choose to answer posts that interest me and where i think I will be able to have any possible, positive impact in future...Im not perfect and realise this as such, but have always strived to do the best that i am capable thereof.

Code: Select all

curl -s https://brave-browser-apt-release.s3.brave.com/brave-core.asc | sudo apt-key add -

Code: Select all

UBUNTU_CODENAME=$( (grep DISTRIB_CODENAME /etc/upstream-release/lsb-release || grep DISTRIB_CODENAME /etc/lsb-release) 2>/dev/null | cut -d'=' -f2 )

Code: Select all

echo "deb [arch=amd64] https://brave-browser-apt-release.s3.brave.com/ bionic main" | sudo tee /etc/apt/sources.list.d/brave-browser-release-bionic.list

Code: Select all

sudo apt update

Code: Select all

sudo apt install brave-browser brave-keyring
YAY

Thank You
Lenovo G50 AMD A8 Linux 18 'Sarah' 64 bit Cinnamon

DAMIEN1307
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2818
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 8:13 pm
Location: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

Re: Brave Browser [SOLVED]

Post by DAMIEN1307 »

YEAHHHH...Im very happy to have been of some small help to you here on the forums...and your appreciation is highly valued to me...DAMIEN

EDIT...Just as an afterthought here, maybe there is someone of more influence and/or authority than i possess...i HAVE tried telling the "powers that be" at Brave, the problems that their installation scripts for Linux Mint 19.xx "bionic" series as well as Peppermint 9 and 10 "bionic" do not work well for most users and DID submit my so-called "fix" for this which has apparently worked 100% thus far, to NO avail, NO response, over many months of trying...Just maybe, someone much better than I might get a better response from them, thus helping our users here, to get proper, workable, installation instructions, from their Official Installation Website...Ive done the best i could do, and am no longer willing to waste my time, effort, my old, arthritic, typing fingers any longer in the pursuit of this endeavour.
ORDO AB CHAO

DAMIEN1307
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2818
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 8:13 pm
Location: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

Re: Brave Browser [SOLVED]

Post by DAMIEN1307 »

Hi sdcougar, it appears through my protonmail that you tried to contact me and when i clicked on it, i was referred back here to the forums which i would have expected but no message appeared...just wondering what it was...my last ending post to you was...
YAY
Thank You
...DAMIEN
ORDO AB CHAO

LogMan
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2017 8:57 pm

Re: Brave Browser [SOLVED]

Post by LogMan »

Had to say Thank You for posting your solution Damien1307, I know it's been a while since you posted the solution here but this saved me a bunch of head scratching !

ZakGordon
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 817
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2015 11:07 am

Re: Brave Browser [SOLVED]

Post by ZakGordon »

Just to add a note for others that search this up.

The instructions on the brave website could really do with having a couple of numbers next to them as it is a 5 step process (in the terminal). Sure they have white space, but 'newbies' (like me) WILL copy/paste ALL of it into the terminal and wonder what went wrong ;)

So break the steps down into 5 bits, as DAMIEN1307 showed above, answer each individual prompt for that before moving onto the next copy/paste line, and you should be good.
Laptop overheating? Check link here:itsfoss guide . A move from Cinnamon to XFCE can give a -5 to -10 degrees C change on overheating hardware.

Build a modern dual-boot Ryzen Win7/Linux Mint PC:Tutorial

sdcougar
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 105
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2010 9:45 pm

Re: Brave Browser

Post by sdcougar »

DAMIEN1307 wrote:
Fri Jan 10, 2020 5:38 pm
Hi sdcougar,

Uninstall everything that you have done thus far"

Code: Select all

sudo apt purge brave-browser*
Then, open "update manager", click the "edit" tab...then click "Other Software" tab...Then click on, in order to highlight the entry marked "brave", and click the remove button:

From there, use the scripts i have only slightly modified from the Official version from the Official website in order to install brave...do each one, one at a time and only then reboot system when completed...hopefully you will then have Brave as a working, viable browser...Report back when done with a yay or nay...DAMIEN

Ps...I couldnt allow myself to just standby and watch your slow torture any longer...I will be extremely rare to be heard from here from now on in the forums and will ONLY choose to answer posts that interest me and where i think I will be able to have any possible, positive impact in future...Im not perfect and realise this as such, but have always strived to do the best that i am capable thereof

Code: Select all

curl -s https://brave-browser-apt-release.s3.brave.com/brave-core.asc | sudo apt-key add -

Code: Select all

UBUNTU_CODENAME=$( (grep DISTRIB_CODENAME /etc/upstream-release/lsb-release || grep DISTRIB_CODENAME /etc/lsb-release) 2>/dev/null | cut -d'=' -f2 )

Code: Select all

echo "deb [arch=amd64] https://brave-browser-apt-release.s3.brave.com/ bionic main" | sudo tee /etc/apt/sources.list.d/brave-browser-release-bionic.list

Code: Select all

sudo apt update

Code: Select all

sudo apt install brave-browser brave-keyring
This was successfully installed on a 64 bit system. I am now overseas on an IBM T-60 with fresh install of Mint 19.2 xfc 32 bit. will it work on this?
Lenovo G50 AMD A8 Linux 18 'Sarah' 64 bit Cinnamon

DAMIEN1307
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2818
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 8:13 pm
Location: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

Re: Brave Browser [SOLVED]

Post by DAMIEN1307 »

I doubt it as i do not believe that Brave Browser has a 32 bit version...Use this one instead...DAMIEN

https://www.slimjet.com/en/postdl.php?v ... 2&type=deb
ORDO AB CHAO

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”