incorrectly named desktop icon when placing menu item onto desktop

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
wpshooter
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1070
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 8:06 am

incorrectly named desktop icon when placing menu item onto desktop

Post by wpshooter »

Do a new installation on Linux Mint 19.3 mate 64bit on a friends computer
and I have a screenshot of an example of how desktop icons are occasionally
mis-named when placing the there from the menu with the add to desktop
function. Notice the icon naming for the terminal how it is different from the
naming of all of the other icons. When/after I reboot the icon naming for
the terminal will be back to its correct state. But my question is what causes
this occasional mis-naming in the first place.

Unfortunately, the add attachment function says the printscreen attachment
is too large. It is 692kb. Is there any other way to send/attach this file ?

Thanks.
Mint 20 mate 64 bit.
SERVICE > competition
User avatar
Schultz
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1956
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2016 8:57 pm

Re: incorrectly named desktop icon when placing menu item onto desktop

Post by Schultz »

Upload it to imgur.com and then link to it. Or, shrink the image down a bit.
wpshooter
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1070
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 8:06 am

Re: incorrectly named desktop icon when placing menu item onto desktop

Post by wpshooter »

I still can not get it to size that it will attach.

Let me just give a description of the icon. It has a white box with the symbol of a cog/sprocket in the middle of it and below the box are the words -
mate-
terminal.
desktop

After I rebooted it is formatted correctly, just like all of the other icons on the desktop.
Which for instance, Rhythmbox, has a symbol of a musical note inside a rounded corner white square with the word Rhythmbox just under that square.

Thanks.
Mint 20 mate 64 bit.
SERVICE > competition
User avatar
smurphos
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7132
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 12:18 am
Location: Britisher
Contact:

Re: incorrectly named desktop icon when placing menu item onto desktop

Post by smurphos »

Another caja bug. It's failing to refresh the desktop after adding the launcher.

Pressing F5 to force a refresh of the desktop after adding to desktop is the workaround.
For custom Nemo actions, useful scripts for the Cinnamon desktop, and Cinnamox themes visit my Github pages.
wpshooter
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1070
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 8:06 am

Re: incorrectly named desktop icon when placing menu item onto desktop

Post by wpshooter »

smurphos wrote:
Mon May 11, 2020 1:16 am
Another caja bug. It's failing to refresh the desktop after adding the launcher.

Pressing F5 to force a refresh of the desktop after adding to desktop is the workaround.
Is anyone that knows how to fix it aware of this bug. It has been there for a L O N G time.

Thanks.
Mint 20 mate 64 bit.
SERVICE > competition
User avatar
smurphos
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7132
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 12:18 am
Location: Britisher
Contact:

Re: incorrectly named desktop icon when placing menu item onto desktop

Post by smurphos »

I think these are probably the same general bug - the failure to properly refresh affects regular caja windows aswell

https://github.com/mate-desktop/caja/issues/1301
https://github.com/mate-desktop/caja/issues/941
For custom Nemo actions, useful scripts for the Cinnamon desktop, and Cinnamox themes visit my Github pages.
User avatar
Schultz
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1956
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2016 8:57 pm

Re: incorrectly named desktop icon when placing menu item onto desktop

Post by Schultz »

smurphos wrote:
Mon May 11, 2020 1:26 pm
I think these are probably the same general bug - the failure to properly refresh affects regular caja windows aswell
I can vouch for that. I'm guessing it'll never get fixed.
Post Reply

Return to “MATE”