[solved] Flatpak, can it be removed

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
kuifje09
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2016 5:45 pm

[solved] Flatpak, can it be removed

Post by kuifje09 »

For some reason I have flatpak on my mint 19.2, but never asked for it.

If I am right then it is asking for pasword to install sometihing ?
While I don't like when working, I need to install or update anything, ( could be in the field... )
the question is now, can it harmless be removed?

Flatpak at this moment does not much ?

------------------
flatpak list
Ref Options
org.freedesktop.Platform.GL.nvidia-390-116/x86_64/1.4 system,runtime
org.freedesktop.Platform.ffmpeg/x86_64/1.6 system,runtime
org.freedesktop.Platform.html5-codecs/x86_64/18.08 system,runtime
org.freedesktop.Platform/x86_64/1.6 system,runtime
org.freedesktop.Platform/x86_64/18.08 system,runtime
org.gtk.Gtk3theme.Mint-Y/x86_64/3.22 system,runtime
----------------

When I nor remove flatpak with synaptic, will I lose my desktop too ?

How do I safely remove flatpak ? Can it be removed ?
Last edited by kuifje09 on Sun May 17, 2020 2:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

rene
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6570
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2016 6:58 pm

Re: Flatpak, can it be removed

Post by rene »

kuifje09 wrote:
Sun May 17, 2020 9:14 am
Can it be removed ?
Sure, but you may wish to just remove the currently installed content instead:

Code: Select all

flatpak remove --all
If you insist on removing flatpak itself (but note, even if you do, do above first in any case),

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get purge --autoremove flatpak libflatpak0
And, no, it shouldn't be asking (administrator) users for passwords...

kuifje09
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2016 5:45 pm

Re: Flatpak, can it be removed

Post by kuifje09 »

Thanks, I will try to remove it.

And yes, everytime I log in, it does ask in a few minutes, for a passwd within a popup. ( only once )
And in the details it says it is about flatpak to do something.

Still have a question, Flatpak, is it userbased, or systembased.
I mean will all users get the popup for the same software or only one of them.
And is it indeed just to get the latest software-updates for some application.

The only thing I know it started to popup since last update about a week ago or so...

rene
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6570
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2016 6:58 pm

Re: Flatpak, can it be removed

Post by rene »

Indeed Flatpak aims to check for updates to installed flatpak'ed applications. It's configured as a regular desktop Startup Application as found under Preferences -> Startup Applications.

From where you could also disable only that part --- but it still shouldn't be asking for a password in the first place if you are an administrator user and can't really imagine why it would. Perhaps sudo chown -R $(whoami): ~ and logging out and back in helps. Juts quickly checked, and even a standard user does get the Flatpak updater in their Startup Applications.

kuifje09
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2016 5:45 pm

Re: Flatpak, can it be removed

Post by kuifje09 »

Alright, So far it remains a question why after login I got a popup from flatpak, but, I removed it,
and after 2 reboots and logging in, I get no more popup's and everything looks normal ( until now.. )

So if it is not realy necesary, I wil keep it off my system.

Thanks for the help.

DAMIEN1307
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2820
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 8:13 pm
Location: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

Re: {solved] Flatpak, can it be removed

Post by DAMIEN1307 »

I get no more popup's and everything looks normal ( until now.. )
If your still getting popups try these codes below, just copy and paste to avoid typos...DAMIEN

Remove Flatpak remotes

To show remote sources:

Code: Select all

flatpak remotes
If it says "Not Found", etc. etc. You should be good to go...If it is still showing "sources", proceed with the next code:

Delete the sources as in this example:

Code: Select all

flatpak remote-delete flathub
ORDO AB CHAO

rene
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6570
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2016 6:58 pm

Re: {solved] Flatpak, can it be removed

Post by rene »

kuifje09 wrote:
Sun May 17, 2020 2:23 pm
So if it is not realy necesary, I wil keep it off my system.
Let me then just add to above instructions for removing Flatpak, i.e.,

Code: Select all

$ flatpak remove --all
$ sudo apt-get purge --autoremove flatpak libflatpak0
(where the first needs sudo as well if the invoking user is not an administrator) instructions for reinstalling it:

Code: Select all

$ sudo apt-get install flatpak libflatpak0 gir1.2-flatpak-1.0
$ sudo flatpak remote-add --if-not-exists flathub https://flathub.org/repo/flathub.flatpakrepo

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”