Best Approach of Replace Linux MInt

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
vw98075
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2014 8:20 pm

Best Approach of Replace Linux MInt

Post by vw98075 »

I have run into some display problems on my Linux Mint Cinnamon 18.1. I have it for about thrree years. And I am wondering whether I shall replace it or not. What is the best approach of replacing it in a dual boot installation? Is possible to replace the OS without backup all files?
carum carvi
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1477
Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2017 11:44 pm

Re: Best Approach of Replace Linux MInt

Post by carum carvi »

No, that's not possible in my experience. My next question would be WHAT display problems you have lived with during the past 3 years? Display problems are my FIRST worry and I would abandon ANY OS, which causes such problems.

I am NOT a Linux prophet. If Linux does not meet your expectations, use Windows if that will work. BUT there are MANY friendly AND very experienced LinuxMInt users who are glad to be of help to you, when you have got a (display) problem. The great thing about Linux is that many problems can easily solved by a simple tweak....
User avatar
erginemr
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 315
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2020 11:19 pm
Location: Istanbul, TR

Re: Best Approach of Replace Linux MInt

Post by erginemr »

You can try to upgrade it to Mint 19.3 from within Mint, but first you should backup your important personal files externally. The "update manager" under Mint menu should have this functionality.

Alternatively, you may boot from a Mint 19.3 Live DVD/USB to see if your display problems repeat on a live medium. New Linux versions and kernels provide fixes to the existing problems.
Free as in free speech...
User avatar
erginemr
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 315
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2020 11:19 pm
Location: Istanbul, TR

Re: Best Approach of Replace Linux MInt

Post by erginemr »

carum carvi wrote:
Sun Jun 14, 2020 1:37 am
My next question would be WHAT display problems you have lived with during the past 3 years?
I second to that.
Free as in free speech...
User avatar
Pierre
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 10844
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:33 am
Location: Perth, AU.

Re: Best Approach of Replace Linux MInt

Post by Pierre »

it would also be nice, to know what video card, is involved, as well.
:)
Image
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.
Menard
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed May 08, 2019 5:14 am
Location: Angers (France)

Re: Best Approach of Replace Linux MInt

Post by Menard »

vw98075 wrote:
Sun Jun 14, 2020 12:22 am
I have run into some display problems on my Linux Mint Cinnamon 18.1. I have it for about thrree years. And I am wondering whether I shall replace it or not. What is the best approach of replacing it in a dual boot installation? Is possible to replace the OS without backup all files?
Hello
What CPU do you have ?
Linux Mint 19.3 64bits Cinnamon (Kernel 5.3.0-23)
AMD APU A8 7600 (3100 MHz to 3800 MHz) with DDR3 1833 MHz 4 GB x2
(CPU limited to 4x 3100 Mhz default by no support of the Turbo-core, then after editing grub, supports up to only 3600 MHz)
User avatar
AndyMH
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4749
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 5:23 pm
Location: Wiltshire

Re: Best Approach of Replace Linux MInt

Post by AndyMH »

Is possible to replace the OS without backup all files?
Yes if you have a separate /home partition and want to switch to another linux, but it's a bad idea. You should always have a backup, just in case...
Homebrew i5-8400+GTX1080 Cinnamon 19.0, 3 x Thinkpad T430 Cinnamon 19.0, i7-3632 , i5-3320, i5-3210, Thinkpad T60 19.0 Mate
vw98075
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2014 8:20 pm

Re: Best Approach of Replace Linux MInt

Post by vw98075 »

carum carvi wrote:
Sun Jun 14, 2020 1:37 am
No, that's not possible in my experience. My next question would be WHAT display problems you have lived with during the past 3 years? Display problems are my FIRST worry and I would abandon ANY OS, which causes such problems.
I have another post for those display problems and the only suggestion I get is to replace the OS. One is that some UI elements disappear after I suspensed the OS. The other one is the a browser, Brave, is blank after I am running some applications I am developing.
vw98075
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2014 8:20 pm

Re: Best Approach of Replace Linux MInt

Post by vw98075 »

erginemr wrote:
Sun Jun 14, 2020 2:54 am
You can try to upgrade it to Mint 19.3 from within Mint, but first you should backup your important personal files externally. The "update manager" under Mint menu should have this functionality.

Alternatively, you may boot from a Mint 19.3 Live DVD/USB to see if your display problems repeat on a live medium. New Linux versions and kernels provide fixes to the existing problems.
Thanks for the suggestion/information.

I get some errors during the update. I tried to copy those error messages over but lost it. And I only update to 18.2, but not 19.2. Those display problems don't appear often. So, it isn't easy to reproduce them.

Deepin, another Linux distro, lets users update to the latest version of the OS on spot. Linux Mint doesn't yet to do the same.
Last edited by vw98075 on Mon Jun 15, 2020 2:12 pm, edited 3 times in total.
vw98075
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2014 8:20 pm

Re: Best Approach of Replace Linux MInt

Post by vw98075 »

erginemr wrote:
Sun Jun 14, 2020 2:56 am
carum carvi wrote:
Sun Jun 14, 2020 1:37 am
My next question would be WHAT display problems you have lived with during the past 3 years?
I second to that.
I only have those display problem lately. And I don't always use my Linux Mint do my development work day in and day out in the past three years.
User avatar
arvy
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1230
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 11:22 am

Re: Best Approach of Replace Linux MInt

Post by arvy »

Unless development of the display issue has coincided notably with specific software changes (e.g., drivers) it seems to me more like a gradually evolving hardware issue than anything to do with the OS version. In the circumstances, I think I'd be running some video tests.
Last edited by arvy on Mon Jun 15, 2020 1:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
System: Asus ROG Maximus XI Code mobo, Intel i9-9900K CPU, Nvidia GTX1080 GPU, 32 GB DDR4-3600 RAM, Sumsung Pro 2x512GB NVMe & 3x1TB SSD, Multiboot
vw98075
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2014 8:20 pm

Re: Best Approach of Replace Linux MInt

Post by vw98075 »

Pierre wrote:
Sun Jun 14, 2020 2:57 am
it would also be nice, to know what video card, is involved, as well.
:)
VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Xeon E3-1200 v2/3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller (rev 09)
vw98075
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2014 8:20 pm

Re: Best Approach of Replace Linux MInt

Post by vw98075 »

Menard wrote:
Mon Jun 15, 2020 4:01 am
Hello
What CPU do you have ?
Architecture: x86_64
CPU op-mode(s): 32-bit, 64-bit
Byte Order: Little Endian
CPU(s): 4
On-line CPU(s) list: 0-3
Thread(s) per core: 1
Core(s) per socket: 4
Socket(s): 1
NUMA node(s): 1
Vendor ID: GenuineIntel
CPU family: 6
Model: 58
Model name: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3470S CPU @ 2.90GHz
Stepping: 9
CPU MHz: 1680.300
CPU max MHz: 3600.0000
CPU min MHz: 1600.0000
BogoMIPS: 5788.88
Virtualization: VT-x
L1d cache: 32K
L1i cache: 32K
L2 cache: 256K
L3 cache: 6144K
NUMA node0 CPU(s): 0-3
Flags: fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx rdtscp lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts rep_good nopl xtopology nonstop_tsc aperfmperf pni pclmulqdq dtes64 monitor ds_cpl vmx smx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm pcid sse4_1 sse4_2 x2apic popcnt tsc_deadline_timer aes xsave avx f16c rdrand lahf_lm epb ssbd ibrs ibpb stibp kaiser tpr_shadow vnmi flexpriority ept vpid fsgsbase smep erms xsaveopt dtherm ida arat pln pts md_clear flush_l1d
vw98075
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2014 8:20 pm

Re: Best Approach of Replace Linux MInt

Post by vw98075 »

arvy wrote:
Mon Jun 15, 2020 1:16 pm
Unless development of the display issue has coincided notably with specific software changes (e.g., drivers) it seems to me more like a gradually evolving hardware issue than anything to do with the OS version. In the circumstances, I think I'd be running some video tests.
That is a right assessment.
User avatar
arvy
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1230
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 11:22 am

Re: Best Approach of Replace Linux MInt

Post by arvy »

Well, in that case, going back to your first-asked questions, the display issue and the Mint 18.1 replacement decision are really entirely separate and unrelated matters. The latter is essentially a question of personal choice. FWIW, if I were doing it, I'd await the Mint 20 final release, back up all of my user files (docs, images, etc.) and at least try a fresh Mint 20 install. Nothing to lose that way.

Personally, I would never replace or even update any OS without an up-to-date, verified, complete system backup, regardless of whether it might be possible to avoid as a matter of absolute necessity. But that's just my "belt and suspenders" attitude toward Murphy's Law, admittedly influenced to a large extent by experience with Microsloth's Windows updates. You will use your own best judgement, of course, but who knows when reversing things may be desirable or even necessary.
System: Asus ROG Maximus XI Code mobo, Intel i9-9900K CPU, Nvidia GTX1080 GPU, 32 GB DDR4-3600 RAM, Sumsung Pro 2x512GB NVMe & 3x1TB SSD, Multiboot
gittiest personITW
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2106
Joined: Tue May 28, 2019 4:27 pm

Re: Best Approach of Replace Linux MInt

Post by gittiest personITW »

vw....
Most people will at one time or another lose their data for some reason.
They will do it, usually, only once. Twice means they are an idiot. Once can be put down to experience.

Lets say I took your computer and threw it in the garbage. The computer itself is replaceable. The photos/docs are not. Do yourself a favour and backup your data on at least 2 USB drives.
Just trying to save you the hassle of the 'experience' part of the first paragraph.
vw98075
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2014 8:20 pm

Re: Best Approach of Replace Linux MInt

Post by vw98075 »

arvy wrote:
Mon Jun 15, 2020 3:35 pm
...

Personally, I would never replace or even update any OS without an up-to-date, verified, complete system backup, regardless of whether it might be possible to avoid as a matter of absolute necessity. But that's just my "belt and suspenders" attitude toward Murphy's Law, admittedly influenced to a large extent by experience with Microsloth's Windows updates. You will use your own best judgement, of course, but who knows when reversing things may be desirable or even necessary.
Thanks for your insightful suggestion. On my old laptop, I have upgraded Deepin OS multiple times without any lost files to my knowledge. I was amazed that I even didn't need to reboot it after an OS upgrade. In the OS upgrade regard, Deepin is better than Linux Mint to have the latest version. The laptop CPU burned out after I tried to run multiple servers for software development on it.
Last edited by vw98075 on Tue Jun 16, 2020 5:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
vw98075
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2014 8:20 pm

Re: Best Approach of Replace Linux MInt

Post by vw98075 »

gittiest personITW wrote:
Mon Jun 15, 2020 4:10 pm
...
Just trying to save you the hassle of the 'experience' part of the first paragraph.
Thanks for your precaution suggestion.
Menard
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed May 08, 2019 5:14 am
Location: Angers (France)

Re: Best Approach of Replace Linux MInt

Post by Menard »

vw98075 wrote:
Mon Jun 15, 2020 1:21 pm
Menard wrote:
Mon Jun 15, 2020 4:01 am
Hello
What CPU do you have ?
Model name: Intel(R)
OK so I have nothing more to add, CPU probably not involved in your problem
Linux Mint 19.3 64bits Cinnamon (Kernel 5.3.0-23)
AMD APU A8 7600 (3100 MHz to 3800 MHz) with DDR3 1833 MHz 4 GB x2
(CPU limited to 4x 3100 Mhz default by no support of the Turbo-core, then after editing grub, supports up to only 3600 MHz)
Post Reply

Return to “Installation & Boot”