Note for all: Compiz is NOT neccessary for functionality...

Chat about anything related to Linux Mint
paranightpara8
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2020 2:41 am

Note for all: Compiz is NOT neccessary for functionality...

Post by paranightpara8 »

Some of Mint users think and write, that Compiz is neccessary for functionality of such topics like "minimize, maximize, close" buttons, drawin title bars, panels and so on.
False.
Compiz is not neccessary and i can prove it by using pure Debian Linux system with Mate Desktop in it:
by default, Debian does not install Compiz at all, but all basic functionaltiy and - even changing themes and panels' opacity, putting images on them, etc., - works out of the box, i can prove it because i see all packets with "compiz" word NOT installed by default and do not miss any functionality in my dekstop.
After some debates i intalled it and saw reason, why some users think, it is neccessary: it has so interface, that is with buttons and names of this functionality, but:
THE meaning of these are NOT functionality, BUT effect on it... :!: :!: :!:
User avatar
Kadaitcha Man
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2611
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 10:17 pm

Re: Note for all: Compiz is NOT neccessary for functionality...

Post by Kadaitcha Man »

paranightpara8 wrote:
Sun Jun 21, 2020 2:32 am
... i can prove it because i see all packets with "compiz" word NOT installed by default ...
That's not a reliable way to prove that some software X is not installed. There are many packages installed that don't show up as installed. All you've proven is that the package is not listed as installed.

Code: Select all

kman@rooter:~$ sudo apt policy dnsmasq
[sudo] password for kman:       
dnsmasq:
  Installed: (none)
  Candidate: 2.80-1
  Version table:
     2.80-1 500
        500 http://debian.mirror.serversaustralia.com.au/debian buster/main amd64 Packages
        500 http://debian.mirror.serversaustralia.com.au/debian buster/main i386 Packages
You can bet your bottom dollar that it is indeed installed though.

Code: Select all

kman@rooter:~$ locate dnsmasq
/etc/NetworkManager/dnsmasq-shared.d
/etc/NetworkManager/dnsmasq.d
/etc/dbus-1/system.d/dnsmasq.conf
/usr/sbin/dnsmasq
/usr/share/dnsmasq-base
/usr/share/dnsmasq-base/trust-anchors.conf
/usr/share/doc/dnsmasq-base
/usr/share/doc/dnsmasq-base/DBus-interface.gz
/usr/share/doc/dnsmasq-base/FAQ.gz
/usr/share/doc/dnsmasq-base/README.Debian
/usr/share/doc/dnsmasq-base/changelog.Debian.gz
/usr/share/doc/dnsmasq-base/changelog.archive.gz
/usr/share/doc/dnsmasq-base/changelog.gz
/usr/share/doc/dnsmasq-base/copyright
/usr/share/doc/dnsmasq-base/doc.html
/usr/share/doc/dnsmasq-base/examples
/usr/share/doc/dnsmasq-base/setup.html
/usr/share/doc/dnsmasq-base/examples/dnsmasq.conf.example
/usr/share/locale/de/LC_MESSAGES/dnsmasq.mo
/usr/share/locale/es/LC_MESSAGES/dnsmasq.mo
/usr/share/locale/fi/LC_MESSAGES/dnsmasq.mo
/usr/share/locale/fr/LC_MESSAGES/dnsmasq.mo
/usr/share/locale/id/LC_MESSAGES/dnsmasq.mo
/usr/share/locale/it/LC_MESSAGES/dnsmasq.mo
/usr/share/locale/no/LC_MESSAGES/dnsmasq.mo
/usr/share/locale/pl/LC_MESSAGES/dnsmasq.mo
/usr/share/locale/pt_BR/LC_MESSAGES/dnsmasq.mo
/usr/share/locale/ro/LC_MESSAGES/dnsmasq.mo
/usr/share/man/es/man8/dnsmasq.8.gz
/usr/share/man/fr/man8/dnsmasq.8.gz
/usr/share/man/man8/dnsmasq.8.gz
/var/lib/dpkg/info/dnsmasq-base.conffiles
/var/lib/dpkg/info/dnsmasq-base.list
/var/lib/dpkg/info/dnsmasq-base.md5sums
/var/lib/dpkg/info/dnsmasq-base.postinst
/var/lib/dpkg/info/dnsmasq-base.postrm
It's pronounced kad-eye-cha, not kada-itcha.
paranightpara8
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2020 2:41 am

Re: Note for all: Compiz is NOT neccessary for functionality...

Post by paranightpara8 »

This what You wrote, does not have any common with the topic because:
1. You write about Network Manager, not about Compiz. :!:
2. Your first command shows nothing more, what Synaptic can not to show, and yes, it is shown on my debian system too, it is installed by default. So - what?.. :?:
3. Your second command is not about package, but about files with specific name on a file system, which - yes, belongs to that package, because that package has a specific name too. :!:

Short summary: You have not proved anything about the neccessity of compiz - which is NOT neccessary...

Any more constructive talks about this topic - not misuse? :?:
User avatar
Kadaitcha Man
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2611
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 10:17 pm

Re: Note for all: Compiz is NOT neccessary for functionality...

Post by Kadaitcha Man »

paranightpara8 wrote:
Sun Jun 21, 2020 3:17 am
This what You wrote, does not have any common with the topic because:
1. You write about Network Manager, not about Compiz. :!:
example : noun

noun: example; plural noun: examples

1. a thing characteristic of its kind or illustrating a general rule.
It's pronounced kad-eye-cha, not kada-itcha.
paranightpara8
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2020 2:41 am

Re: Note for all: Compiz is NOT neccessary for functionality...

Post by paranightpara8 »

Sorry for a statement, but you are not right at this discussion...
User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4891
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains
Contact:

Re: Note for all: Compiz is NOT neccessary for functionality...

Post by AZgl1500 »

paranightpara8 wrote:
Sun Jun 21, 2020 2:32 am
Some of Mint users think and write, that Compiz is neccessary for functionality of such topics like "minimize, maximize, close" buttons, drawin title bars, panels and so on.
False.
Compiz is not neccessary and i can prove it by using pure Debian Linux system with Mate Desktop in it:
by default, Debian does not install Compiz at all, but all basic functionaltiy and - even changing themes and panels' opacity, putting images on them, etc., - works out of the box, i can prove it because i see all packets with "compiz" word NOT installed by default and do not miss any functionality in my dekstop.
After some debates i intalled it and saw reason, why some users think, it is neccessary: it has so interface, that is with buttons and names of this functionality, but:
THE meaning of these are NOT functionality, BUT effect on it... :!: :!: :!:
your phrasing is a bit strange, and I don't understand why you need to make a big deal out of this.

Compiz is not installed in 19.3 Cinnamon at all,
and I can't recall if it was in any of the previous version of Cinnamon ??
I have used 17.x and 18.x and now 19.x
Linux Mint 19.3 Cinnamon
User avatar
Moem
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11422
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Note for all: Compiz is NOT neccessary for functionality...

Post by Moem »

This post does not contain a 'suggestion or new idea', so it will be moved.
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!
rickNS
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 759
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:59 pm

Re: Note for all: Compiz is NOT neccessary for functionality...

Post by rickNS »

I been here quite awhile, and I never seen anyone say Compiz was necessary, so I wonder who the OP is arguing with ?

I do use compiz, and I like very much, actually often need, the enhanced desktop zoom feature. Some other stuff I just like.
AZgl1500 wrote:
Sun Jun 21, 2020 3:37 am
I don't understand why you need to make a big deal out of this.
Good point. Maybe just bored/trolling. Notice, very quick to argue with Kman.
Mint 19.0 mate on 2 identical Thinkpad T420's
User avatar
Kadaitcha Man
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2611
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 10:17 pm

Re: Note for all: Compiz is NOT neccessary for functionality...

Post by Kadaitcha Man »

rickNS wrote:
Tue Jun 23, 2020 10:57 pm
Notice, very quick to argue with Kman.
I have that effect on people.
It's pronounced kad-eye-cha, not kada-itcha.
User avatar
all41
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6249
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:12 am
Location: Computer, Car, Cage

Re: Note for all: Compiz is NOT neccessary for functionality...

Post by all41 »

rickNS wrote:
Tue Jun 23, 2020 10:57 pm
I been here quite awhile, and I never seen anyone say Compiz was necessary, so I wonder who the OP is arguing with ?

I do use compiz, and I like very much, actually often need, the enhanced desktop zoom feature. Some other stuff I just like.

Have you tried compiz with Ulyana? For me it is not working the same as 19.3. I use it in MATE
Linux Crux=Aut Viam Inveniam Aut Faciam+libera ab tyrannis
rickNS
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 759
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:59 pm

Re: Note for all: Compiz is NOT neccessary for functionality...

Post by rickNS »

all41 wrote:
Tue Jun 23, 2020 11:07 pm

Have you tried compiz with Ulyana? For me it is not working the same as 19.3. I use it in MATE
No, but have the 20 beta in a VM will give it a quick test....and reply back here...shortly.
Mint 19.0 mate on 2 identical Thinkpad T420's
User avatar
all41
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6249
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:12 am
Location: Computer, Car, Cage

Re: Note for all: Compiz is NOT neccessary for functionality...

Post by all41 »

The trouble I am seeing is that keyboard focus seems to be held captive until I click on the desktop.
Keys such as Super (menu), Ctrl+Alt+T (terminal) and other keybindings will respond just once,
then I have to click on the desktop before they will operate again--but just once,
and then another desktop click is required. I have reset the compiz settings to default (nothing enabled)
with the same result.
Linux Crux=Aut Viam Inveniam Aut Faciam+libera ab tyrannis
rickNS
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 759
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:59 pm

Re: Note for all: Compiz is NOT neccessary for functionality...

Post by rickNS »

@all41

Yeah same here (not working just right, just yet)

I put some checks in a bunch of boxes, then enabled compiz, to see the windows border disappear. Loosing the minimize, close buttons etc.
Is that something that happened to you ?

I'll restart, make sure I have everything checked that is supposed to (the same as I have it now on Mint 19.)
Mint 19.0 mate on 2 identical Thinkpad T420's
User avatar
all41
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6249
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:12 am
Location: Computer, Car, Cage

Re: Note for all: Compiz is NOT neccessary for functionality...

Post by all41 »

I'll restart, make sure I have everything checked that is supposed to (the same as I have it now on Mint 19
The windows decoration is responsible for the border and window controls. That did not work in live mode but
works after install, so probably the same in vm.

Yes I set each of my settings exactly as 19.3 to make sure. Mostly I only use compiz for the place windows feature
but stealing the keyboard focus makes it a no-go for now. I tested some of the other features and they seem to be ok.
Linux Crux=Aut Viam Inveniam Aut Faciam+libera ab tyrannis
rickNS
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 759
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:59 pm

Re: Note for all: Compiz is NOT neccessary for functionality...

Post by rickNS »

all41 wrote:
Tue Jun 23, 2020 11:38 pm
I'll restart, make sure I have everything checked that is supposed to (the same as I have it now on Mint 19
The windows decoration is responsible for the border and window controls. That did not work in live mode but
works after install, so probably the same in vm.

Yes I set each of my settings exactly as 19.3 to make sure. Mostly I only use compiz for the place windows feature
but stealing the keyboard focus makes it a no-go for now. I tested some of the other features and they seem to be ok.
Well I got the borders back, was just missing a check mark, but
CTRL + ALT + T, did NOT bring up a terminal, and yes I clicked on the empty desktop first, no change ?

This might be a deal breaker for me too. Or maybe it will work differently with the non-beta final version ?
Mint 19.0 mate on 2 identical Thinkpad T420's
User avatar
all41
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6249
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:12 am
Location: Computer, Car, Cage

Re: Note for all: Compiz is NOT neccessary for functionality...

Post by all41 »

rickNS wrote:
Tue Jun 23, 2020 11:51 pm
all41 wrote:
Tue Jun 23, 2020 11:38 pm
I'll restart, make sure I have everything checked that is supposed to (the same as I have it now on Mint 19
The windows decoration is responsible for the border and window controls. That did not work in live mode but
works after install, so probably the same in vm.

Yes I set each of my settings exactly as 19.3 to make sure. Mostly I only use compiz for the place windows feature
but stealing the keyboard focus makes it a no-go for now. I tested some of the other features and they seem to be ok.
Well I got the borders back, was just missing a check mark, but
CTRL + ALT + T, did NOT bring up a terminal, and yes I clicked on the empty desktop first, no change ?

This might be a deal breaker for me too. Or maybe it will work differently with the non-beta final version ?
Yeah, I hope so too. Did you try just the Super (Menu) key? With compiz running press the Super key--it will seem to work ok.
Then open your /home (or another directory--then close it out using the close button--now try the super key again.
Linux Crux=Aut Viam Inveniam Aut Faciam+libera ab tyrannis
User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4891
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains
Contact:

Re: Note for all: Compiz is NOT neccessary for functionality...

Post by AZgl1500 »

all41 wrote:
Tue Jun 23, 2020 11:22 pm
The trouble I am seeing is that keyboard focus seems to be held captive until I click on the desktop.
Keys such as Super (menu), Ctrl+Alt+T (terminal) and other keybindings will respond just once,
then I have to click on the desktop before they will operate again--but just once,
and then another desktop click is required. I have reset the compiz settings to default (nothing enabled)
with the same result.
that 'one feature' is enough to prevent me from ever trying to use it.
Linux Mint 19.3 Cinnamon
marts123
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2020 5:13 am

Re: Note for all: Compiz is NOT neccessary for functionality...

Post by marts123 »

Well I got the borders back, was just missing a check mark, but
CTRL + ALT + T, did NOT bring up a terminal, and yes I clicked on the empty desktop first, no change ?
@rickNS
You can create a short cut to the terminal.
This chap here:
viewtopic.php?f=60&t=321848

posted a utube video at the foot of his post.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GvR5yvahqOk

At about the 27:20 point he begins to show you how it done.

I cant remember how to do it myself..
rickNS
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 759
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:59 pm

Re: Note for all: Compiz is NOT neccessary for functionality...

Post by rickNS »

all41 wrote:
Tue Jun 23, 2020 11:56 pm

Yeah, I hope so too. Did you try just the Super (Menu) key? With compiz running press the Super key--it will seem to work ok.
Then open your /home (or another directory--then close it out using the close button--now try the super key again.
No have not tried that.
Haven't done much experimenting at all really, busy with "other stuff".

Have you reported this bug ?

I might play with it a bit more later on today.
Frankly I'm not usually in any big hurry to upgrade, but I will at least get it on a persistent stick when the official release come down the pipe.
With the exception of one minor fixed bug (date/time was sometimes missing from panel) Mint 19.0 works just fine for me.
Mint 19.0 mate on 2 identical Thinkpad T420's
KBD47
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1846
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 12:03 am

Re: Note for all: Compiz is NOT neccessary for functionality...

Post by KBD47 »

Doesn't MATE use Marco or sometimes Compton compositor?
A known way of speeding up most DE's is disabling the compositor. There is even a guide about it:
https://easylinuxtipsproject.blogspot.c ... -mint.html
Any machine I have with only 2 gb ram I disable the compositor to lessen ram use and speed it up. I generally do that with any DE that has less than 6-8 gb ram.
I believe Debian MATE 10 comes with Marco enabled, but it is easily disabled. Debian generally runs light and fast out of the box compared to Ubuntu based distributions even with compositor enabled.
Post Reply

Return to “Chat about Linux Mint”