Help! Can't print. [Solved]

Forum rules
Before you post please read this
Post Reply
User avatar
MadMAUL
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2019 2:31 am

Help! Can't print. [Solved]

Post by MadMAUL »

I had things set up & I could print just fine. I'm not sure what happened but now I can't print anything.
If someone could help walk me through fixing this issue it would be greatly appreciated.
Let me know what info you need.
Last edited by MadMAUL on Thu Jul 02, 2020 11:23 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
kukamuumuka
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6699
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 4:51 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Help! Can't print.

Post by kukamuumuka »

You should tell something. READ: How To Get Help! -> viewtopic.php?f=17&t=83444
User avatar
MadMAUL
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2019 2:31 am

Re: Help! Can't print.

Post by MadMAUL »

Code: Select all

System:    Host: Matthew-LM Kernel: 4.15.0-108-generic x86_64
           bits: 64 gcc: 7.5.0
           Desktop: Cinnamon 3.8.9 (Gtk 3.22.30-1ubuntu4) dm: lightdm
           Distro: Linux Mint 19 Tara
Machine:   Device: desktop Mobo: ASRock model: Z170M Pro4S serial: N/A
           UEFI [Legacy]: American Megatrends v: P2.20 date: 11/05/2015
Battery    hidpp__0: charge: N/A condition: NA/NA Wh volts: NA
           model: Logitech Wireless Mouse M325 serial: <filter>status: Discharging
CPU:       Quad core Intel Core i5-6500 (-MCP-) 
           arch: Skylake-S rev.3 cache: 6144 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 25599
           clock speeds: min/max: 800/3600 MHz 1: 1138 MHz 2: 2980 MHz
           3: 2955 MHz 4: 2801 MHz
Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA GP107 [GeForce GTX 1050 Ti]
           bus-ID: 01:00.0 chip-ID: 10de:1c82
           Display Server: x11 (X.Org 1.19.6 )
           drivers: nvidia (unloaded: modesetting,fbdev,vesa,nouveau)
           Resolution: 3840x2160@60.00hz
           OpenGL: renderer: GeForce GTX 1050 Ti/PCIe/SSE2
           version: 4.6.0 NVIDIA 435.21 Direct Render: Yes
Audio:     Card-1 Intel 100 Series/C230 Series Family HD Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1f.3 chip-ID: 8086:a170
           Card-2 NVIDIA GP107GL High Def. Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 01:00.1 chip-ID: 10de:0fb9
           Card-3 Nam Tai E&E Products or OmniVision Sony Playstation Eye
           driver: USB Audio usb-ID: 001-005 chip-ID: 1415:2000
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.15.0-108-generic
Network:   Card: Intel Ethernet Connection (2) I219-V
           driver: e1000e v: 3.2.6-k bus-ID: 00:1f.6 chip-ID: 8086:15b8
           IF: enp0s31f6 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 1240.3GB (22.8% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: WDC_WD10JPVT size: 1000.2GB serial: <filter>
           ID-2: /dev/sdb model: CT240BX200SSD1 size: 240.1GB
           serial: <filter>
Partition: ID-1: / size: 220G used: 52G (25%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sdb1
RAID:      System: supported: N/A
           No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
           Unused Devices: none
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 31.0C mobo: N/A gpu: 0.0:32C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Repos:     Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/google-chrome.list
           deb [arch=amd64] http://dl.google.com/linux/chrome/deb/ stable main
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/graphics-drivers-ppa-bionic.list
           deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/graphics-drivers/ppa/ubuntu bionic main
           deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/graphics-drivers/ppa/ubuntu bionic main
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/official-package-repositories.list
           deb http://mirrors.evowise.com/linuxmint/packages tara main upstream import backport
           deb http://archive.linux.duke.edu/ubuntu bionic main restricted universe multiverse
           deb http://archive.linux.duke.edu/ubuntu bionic-updates main restricted universe multiverse
           deb http://archive.linux.duke.edu/ubuntu bionic-backports main restricted universe multiverse
           deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ bionic-security main restricted universe multiverse
           deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ bionic partner
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/rolfbensch-sane-git-bionic.list
           deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/rolfbensch/sane-git/ubuntu bionic main
           deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/rolfbensch/sane-git/ubuntu bionic main
Info:      Processes: 243 Uptime: 3:15 Memory: 4421.9/15992.0MB
           Init: systemd v: 237 runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 7.5.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.4.201 running in gnome-terminal-) inxi: 2.3.56 
brian_p
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1236
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 9:20 am

Re: Help! Can't print.

Post by brian_p »

Let's have the printer make and model and whether you have it connected by USB or over the network. Give the output of

Code: Select all

lpstat -t
and

Code: Select all

lpinfo -v
--
Brian.
User avatar
kukamuumuka
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6699
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 4:51 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Help! Can't print.

Post by kukamuumuka »

How about:

Code: Select all

lpstat -t -v

Code: Select all

ls /etc/cups/ppd
More info from

Code: Select all

man lpstat
User avatar
MadMAUL
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2019 2:31 am

Re: Help! Can't print.

Post by MadMAUL »

Canon Pixma MG6620 connected to wifi.

Code: Select all

scheduler is running
system default destination: Canon-MG6600
device for Canon-MG6600: ipp://40E2D4000000.local:631/ipp/print
device for MG6600-series: usb://Canon/MG6600%20series?serial=A083E4&interface=1
Canon-MG6600 accepting requests since Fri 26 Jun 2020 02:11:05 PM EDT
MG6600-series accepting requests since Tue 30 Jun 2020 02:14:28 PM EDT
printer Canon-MG6600 disabled since Fri 26 Jun 2020 02:11:05 PM EDT -
	Rendering completed
printer MG6600-series is idle.  enabled since Tue 30 Jun 2020 02:14:28 PM EDT
Canon-MG6600-233        maulxx          160768   Tue 30 Jun 2020 11:01:44 AM EDT
device for Canon-MG6600: ipp://40E2D4000000.local:631/ipp/print
device for MG6600-series: usb://Canon/MG6600%20series?serial=A083E4&interface=1

Code: Select all

Canon-MG6600.ppd  MG6600-series.ppd

Code: Select all

lpinfo -v
network socket
network beh
direct hp
network http
network https
network ipps
file cups-brf:/
network lpd
network ipp
serial serial:/dev/ttyS0?baud=115200
direct hpfax
network bjnp
network dnssd://Canon%20MG6600%20series._ipp._tcp.local/?uuid=00000000-0000-1000-8000-D8492F40E2D4
network ipp://40E2D4000000.local:631/ipp/print
brian_p
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1236
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 9:20 am

Re: Help! Can't print.

Post by brian_p »

Please post what you get for

Code: Select all

avahi-browse -rt _ipp._tcp

Code: Select all

avahi-browse -rt _uscan._tcp
--
Brian.
User avatar
MadMAUL
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2019 2:31 am

Re: Help! Can't print.

Post by MadMAUL »

Code: Select all

avahi-browse -rt _ipp._tcp
+ enp0s31f6 IPv6 Canon MG6600 series                           Internet Printer     local
+ enp0s31f6 IPv4 Canon MG6600 series                           Internet Printer     local
= enp0s31f6 IPv4 Canon MG6600 series                           Internet Printer     local
   hostname = [40E2D4000000.local]
   address = [192.168.1.68]
   port = [631]
   txt = ["print-wfds=T" "PaperMax=legal-A4" "kind=document,envelope,photo" "Fax=F" "Scan=T" "Duplex=T" "Color=T" "UUID=00000000-0000-1000-8000-D8492F40E2D4" "mac=D8:49:2F:40:E2:D4" "URF=V1.4,CP1,PQ4-5,RS600,SRGB24,W8,OB9,OFU0,DM3,IS1" "usb_CMD=URF" "usb_MDL=MG6600 series" "usb_MFG=Canon" "adminurl=http://40E2D4000000.local./index.html?PAGE_AAP" "note=" "pdl=application/octet-stream,image/urf,image/jpeg,image/pwg-raster" "product=(Canon MG6600 series)" "ty=Canon MG6600 series" "priority=15" "qtotal=1" "rp=ipp/print" "txtvers=1"]
= enp0s31f6 IPv6 Canon MG6600 series                           Internet Printer     local
   hostname = [40E2D4000000.local]
   address = [192.168.1.68]
   port = [631]
   txt = ["print-wfds=T" "PaperMax=legal-A4" "kind=document,envelope,photo" "Fax=F" "Scan=T" "Duplex=T" "Color=T" "UUID=00000000-0000-1000-8000-D8492F40E2D4" "mac=D8:49:2F:40:E2:D4" "URF=V1.4,CP1,PQ4-5,RS600,SRGB24,W8,OB9,OFU0,DM3,IS1" "usb_CMD=URF" "usb_MDL=MG6600 series" "usb_MFG=Canon" "adminurl=http://40E2D4000000.local./index.html?PAGE_AAP" "note=" "pdl=application/octet-stream,image/urf,image/jpeg,image/pwg-raster" "product=(Canon MG6600 series)" "ty=Canon MG6600 series" "priority=15" "qtotal=1" "rp=ipp/print" "txtvers=1"]
Nothing from

Code: Select all

avahi-browse -rt _uscan._tcp
brian_p
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1236
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 9:20 am

Re: Help! Can't print.

Post by brian_p »

Set up this print queue:

Code: Select all

lpadmin -p mg6600 -v ipp://40E2D4000000.local/ipp/print -E -m everywhere
Can you print with

Code: Select all

lp -d /etc/nsswitch.conf
--
Brian.
User avatar
MadMAUL
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2019 2:31 am

Re: Help! Can't print.

Post by MadMAUL »

No, I couldn't.
brian_p
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1236
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 9:20 am

Re: Help! Can't print.

Post by brian_p »

MadMAUL wrote:
Tue Jun 30, 2020 3:43 pm
No, I couldn't.
I'll examine my advice later when i get the time.

Meanwhile, give what you get for the command

Code: Select all

driverless
--
Brian.
User avatar
MadMAUL
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2019 2:31 am

Re: Help! Can't print.

Post by MadMAUL »

After entering that set up cue it did add another option for mg6600. I was able to print when selecting it.
How do I delete the other two listings now that this one works?

Code: Select all

ipp://40E2D4000000.local:631/ipp/print
brian_p
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1236
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 9:20 am

Re: Help! Can't print.

Post by brian_p »

MadMAUL wrote:
Tue Jun 30, 2020 3:58 pm
After entering that set up cue it did add another option for mg6600. I was able to print when selecting it.
You should now edit the subject header to have Solved in it.
How do I delete the other two listings now that this one works?
Use the Printers App or

Code: Select all

lpadmin -x PRINT_QUEUE_NAME
--
Brian.
User avatar
MadMAUL
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2019 2:31 am

Re: Help! Can't print.

Post by MadMAUL »

Thanks for the help Brian.

Code: Select all

lpadmin -x PRINT_QUEUE_NAME

Code: Select all

lpadmin: The printer or class does not exist.
I tried deleting the others in the browser localhost but it asks for a username & password but there's no place to enter it.
Last edited by MadMAUL on Thu Jul 02, 2020 11:28 am, edited 1 time in total.
brian_p
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1236
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 9:20 am

Re: Help! Can't print.

Post by brian_p »

MadMAUL wrote:
Thu Jul 02, 2020 11:11 am

Code: Select all

lpadmin: The printer or class does not exist.
We hope you typed the actual print queue name and not PRINT_QUEUE_NAME. Names are shown by

Code: Select all

lpstat -a
and in the Printers App.

Be careful not to delete the queue that works for you!
--
Brian.
User avatar
MadMAUL
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2019 2:31 am

Re: Help! Can't print. [Solved]

Post by MadMAUL »

That did work. Thanks.

Code: Select all

mg6600 accepting requests since Thu 02 Jul 2020 11:18:11 AM EDT
I still have a listing when I go to print under the mg6600 is shows Print ----- Rejecting jobs.
But, at least I can print now. Thanks again.
Post Reply

Return to “Printers & Scanners”