SOLVED - error communicating to tpm chip

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
Mark_B
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2018 7:39 pm
Location: Norfolk, UK

SOLVED - error communicating to tpm chip

Post by Mark_B »

Hi all,

New laptop arrived, installed latest Mint to duel boot with Win10 and it all runs like a dream. One oddity though..
When booting into Mint I see for a very brief moment six or so lines saying error communicating to tpm chip
I have searched and found about nine other questions about this but no solutions. One no-doubt well meaning soul even had a noob tune up his installation with a multitude of changes to defaults before finally admiting that in fact nothing he had done would bring a solution!
Given that apart from these messages at boot time everything seems to function as intended.. I'm not overly concerned but it would be nice to get to the bottom of this if possible.
Last edited by Mark_B on Wed Jul 01, 2020 9:31 am, edited 1 time in total.
OS: Linux Mint 20 x86_64 Kernel: 5.4.0-40-generic DE: Xfce WM: Xfwm4
HP Omen Laptop 17-C CPU: Intel i7-9750H (12) @ 4.500GHz
GPU: Intel UHD Graphics 630 / NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1650 1920x1080
Physical Ram: 16GB

User avatar
deck_luck
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 852
Joined: Mon May 27, 2019 6:57 pm
Location: R-4808 North

Re: error communicating to tpm chip

Post by deck_luck »

I think it is an Omen. ( :lol: pun intended).
🐧Linux Mint 19 XFCE 💡Give a friend a fish, and you feed them for a day. Teach a friend how to fish, and you feed them for a lifetime. ✝️ Proverbs 4:7 Wisdom is the principal thing; therefore get wisdom: and with all thy getting get understanding.

User avatar
Mark_B
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2018 7:39 pm
Location: Norfolk, UK

Re: error communicating to tpm chip

Post by Mark_B »

So... it could be a sign ?! :shock: Image
OS: Linux Mint 20 x86_64 Kernel: 5.4.0-40-generic DE: Xfce WM: Xfwm4
HP Omen Laptop 17-C CPU: Intel i7-9750H (12) @ 4.500GHz
GPU: Intel UHD Graphics 630 / NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1650 1920x1080
Physical Ram: 16GB

User avatar
GS3
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1439
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 7:51 am

Re: error communicating to tpm chip

Post by GS3 »

Mark_B wrote:
Tue Jun 30, 2020 3:47 pm
When booting into Mint I see for a very brief moment six or so lines saying error communicating to tpm chip
Do you want to actually use the TPM or do you just want the error message to go away? If you are only concerned about the error message I do not think it is of any concern.

I have several mobos with TPM but I get no error. OTOH I do not use the TPM. Even though in the past I thought I might use it one day, I later decided I'd rather not as it creates more risk than it solves.
HP Compaq Elite 8300 CMT - Linux Mint 18.2 Sonya - Kernel 4.4.0-171-generic x86_64 - Cinnamon 3.4.4 - Nemo
HP Compaq Elite 8300 CMT - Linux Mint 19.3 Tricia - Kernel 5.3.0-51-generic x86_64 - Cinnamon 4.4.8 - Nvidia GF108

User avatar
Mark_B
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2018 7:39 pm
Location: Norfolk, UK

Re: error communicating to tpm chip

Post by Mark_B »

My employer requires the TPM module to be fitted but I'm not intending to use this for work anytime soon, so I've disabled it now. This meant I had to set up a new Pin number in Windows, no biggie. No error msg's at boot time is a pleasing thing :)

Thanks for jumping in, all and any help is appreciated.
OS: Linux Mint 20 x86_64 Kernel: 5.4.0-40-generic DE: Xfce WM: Xfwm4
HP Omen Laptop 17-C CPU: Intel i7-9750H (12) @ 4.500GHz
GPU: Intel UHD Graphics 630 / NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1650 1920x1080
Physical Ram: 16GB

User avatar
GS3
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1439
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 7:51 am

Re: SOLVED - error communicating to tpm chip

Post by GS3 »

I have LM 19.3 installed and running and I thought I would give LM 20 a LIVE try and, sure enough, I got the same "failure to communicate error" so I disabled the TPM and the error went away.

Some years ago I was looking forward to TPM thinking it would add security but now I am of the opposite opinion and have no interest in using it.

The only reason I see for using it is in large organizations where people connect remotely and the organization wants to authenticate the hardware as one more level of security. For individual home users I see no reason or advantage. I see it more as a liability as with the TPM on the computer can more easily be tracked.
HP Compaq Elite 8300 CMT - Linux Mint 18.2 Sonya - Kernel 4.4.0-171-generic x86_64 - Cinnamon 3.4.4 - Nemo
HP Compaq Elite 8300 CMT - Linux Mint 19.3 Tricia - Kernel 5.3.0-51-generic x86_64 - Cinnamon 4.4.8 - Nvidia GF108

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”