Note for all: Compiz is NOT neccessary for functionality...

Chat about anything related to Linux Mint
User avatar
all41
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6249
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:12 am
Location: Computer, Car, Cage

Re: Note for all: Compiz is NOT neccessary for functionality...

Post by all41 »

I found that most of the problems were conflicts between my conky and compiz, both which work nicely together in 19.3
Without conky running compiz seems to be fine.

Looking back through my notes I see I had a similar issue with 19.3 in the beginning, but after installing gm10's mint tools that issue was
mysteriously resolved, but gm10's tools are not compatible with Ulyana (perhaps just due to repository assignments).

I think I'll put this on the back burner for a while and wait for the 20 stable release to see if there are mitigations.
Linux Crux=Aut Viam Inveniam Aut Faciam+libera ab tyrannis
rickNS
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 759
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:59 pm

Re: Note for all: Compiz is NOT neccessary for functionality...

Post by rickNS »

all41 wrote:
Wed Jun 24, 2020 4:47 pm
I found that most of the problems were conflicts between my conky and compiz, both which work nicely together in 19.3
Without conky running compiz seems to be fine. /cut

I think I'll put this on the back burner for a while and wait for the 20 stable release to see if there are mitigations.
All41,
I got the final version of mint 20 on a live usb stick yesterday, and the compiz issues are still there, no CTRL+ALT+T for example
AND, I don't use conky so that is not the problem, or the "only" reason for it.

I also wasn't able to get persistence to work, tried twice, using the same method (LiLi) that has always worked for me. I may put mint 20 on back burner too. Busy with summertime stuff anyway. Frankly, and not to be smug about it, I'm just not that impressed with LM 20. And FWIW i did use the entire time mint 18.0, and 19.0, I pretty much skipped mint 17, and I just might do the same with 20.

Oh yeah, so who is going to report the bug?

Will try UNetBootin later, just so I don't have to keep re-doing everything. Another ting why isn't unbootin, or mkusb in the official repo ? I hate PPAs almost as bad as update/upgrades.
Mint 19.0 mate on 2 identical Thinkpad T420's
User avatar
all41
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6249
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:12 am
Location: Computer, Car, Cage

Re: Note for all: Compiz is NOT neccessary for functionality...

Post by all41 »

Using Marco notice the Ctrl+Alt+T = Run a terminal in Keyboard Shortcuts:
kb shortcuts marco.png
Same Keyboard Shortcuts menu using Compiz---no such listing:
kb shortcuts compiz.png
kb shortcuts compiz.png (17.36 KiB) Viewed 804 times
Notice the other transmogrifications in the menu.

If you're not using conky simply add a keyboard shortcut for terminal=Ctl+Alt+T
and you will be good to go
Linux Crux=Aut Viam Inveniam Aut Faciam+libera ab tyrannis
rickNS
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 759
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:59 pm

Re: Note for all: Compiz is NOT neccessary for functionality...

Post by rickNS »

all41 wrote:
Mon Jun 29, 2020 9:29 pm

If you're not using conky simply add a keyboard shortcut for terminal=Ctl+Alt+T
and you will be good to go
THANKS!
And that is the beauty of Linux, there's almost always another way, or an easy fix.
It just seems weird, perhaps oversight that terminal shortcut is missing.
Mint 19.0 mate on 2 identical Thinkpad T420's
User avatar
all41
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6249
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:12 am
Location: Computer, Car, Cage

Re: Note for all: Compiz is NOT neccessary for functionality...

Post by all41 »

rickNS wrote:
Tue Jun 30, 2020 2:41 am
all41 wrote:
Mon Jun 29, 2020 9:29 pm

If you're not using conky simply add a keyboard shortcut for terminal=Ctl+Alt+T
and you will be good to go
THANKS!
And that is the beauty of Linux, there's almost always another way, or an easy fix.
It just seems weird, perhaps oversight that terminal shortcut is missing.
yep--Exactly.
I am looking into this deeper day by day. When I garner more pertinent info I will post the bug report.
For now my workaround is panel scripts to enable/disable conky as need be.
I really like compiz smart window placement, and I also like my desktop conky.
Hard choices for now.
Linux Crux=Aut Viam Inveniam Aut Faciam+libera ab tyrannis
rickNS
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 759
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:59 pm

Re: Note for all: Compiz is NOT neccessary for functionality...

Post by rickNS »

all41 wrote:
Tue Jun 30, 2020 9:27 pm

yep--Exactly.
I am looking into this deeper day by day. When I garner more pertinent info I will post the bug report.
For now my workaround is panel scripts to enable/disable conky as need be.
I really like compiz smart window placement, and I also like my desktop conky.
Hard choices for now.
Hey all41,
Just though you might like to know, I got "everything" (re-compiz) back on LM20 as it was on LM19, the Super (menu) key, the CTRL+ALT+T shortcut. Window placement, my nice burn on close effect (white smoke on dark theme), zoom out , and transparent cube on rotate, with skydome image. Everything.

I did it with CCSM > Preferences > export/import .profile = done.
Attachments
ss-007-rs.jpg
Mint 19.0 mate on 2 identical Thinkpad T420's
User avatar
all41
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6249
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:12 am
Location: Computer, Car, Cage

Re: Note for all: Compiz is NOT neccessary for functionality...

Post by all41 »

Yep. Looks good. Mostly I use compiz for window placement.
Without conky running everything compiz is peachy here as well--but as I said
with a conky.rc running keyboard focus is captured.
As long as there is an open window on the desktop keyboard shortcuts such as
Ctrl+Alt+T or Super (for menu) work nicely. Close all open windows and the
misery is revealed. I have found this on installs of LM20MATE on different hardware.
So I will download Ubuntu to see if this happens there as well. Perhaps upstream probs
Linux Crux=Aut Viam Inveniam Aut Faciam+libera ab tyrannis
Post Reply

Return to “Chat about Linux Mint”