Can't Get Conky Manager for Mint 20

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
User avatar
smurphos
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7056
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 12:18 am
Location: Britisher
Contact:

Re: Can't Get Conky Manager for Mint 20

Post by smurphos »

OK didn't help.

So you are going to need to redesign your conky config to remove all the lines giving per core temperature info as it's not available on your hardware.

E.g. instead of

Code: Select all

${goto 10}${font StyleBats:size=11}CPU 1: ${cpu cpu 0}%${goto 120} ${execi 5 sensors|grep 'Core 0'| awk -F'+' '{print $2}' | awk -F'.' '{print $1}'} °C ${alignr}${freq 1} MHz
${goto 5}${color1}${cpubar cpu 0}${color}
${goto 10}${font StyleBats:size=11}CPU 2: ${cpu cpu 1}%${goto 120} ${execi 5 sensors|grep 'Core 1'| awk -F'+' '{print $2}' | awk -F'.' '{print $1}'} °C ${alignr}${freq 2} MHz
${goto 5}${color1}${cpubar cpu 1}${color}
${goto 10}${font StyleBats:size=11}CPU 3: ${cpu cpu 2}%${goto 120} ${execi 5 sensors|grep 'Core 2'| awk -F'+' '{print $2}' | awk -F'.' '{print $1}'} °C ${alignr}${freq 3} MHz
${goto 5}${color1}${cpubar cpu 2}${color}
${goto 10}${font StyleBats:size=11}CPU 4: ${cpu cpu 3}%${goto 120} ${execi 5 sensors|grep 'Core 3'| awk -F'+' '{print $2}' | awk -F'.' '{print $1}'} °C ${alignr}${freq 4} MHz
${goto 5}${color1}${cpubar cpu 3}${color}
${goto 10}${font StyleBats:size=11}CPU 5: ${cpu cpu 4}%${goto 120} ${execi 5 sensors|grep 'Core 3'| awk -F'+' '{print $2}' | awk -F'.' '{print $1}'} °C ${alignr}${freq 5} MHz
${goto 5}${color1}${cpubar cpu 4}${color}
${goto 10}${font StyleBats:size=11}CPU 6: ${cpu cpu 5}%${goto 120} ${execi 5 sensors|grep 'Core 3'| awk -F'+' '{print $2}' | awk -F'.' '{print $1}'} °C ${alignr}${freq 6} MHz
${goto 5}${color1}${cpubar cpu 5}${color}
${goto 10}${font StyleBats:size=11}CPU 7: ${cpu cpu 6}%${goto 120} ${execi 5 sensors|grep 'Core 3'| awk -F'+' '{print $2}' | awk -F'.' '{print $1}'} °C ${alignr}${freq 7} MHz
${goto 5}${color1}${cpubar cpu 6}${color}
${goto 10}${font StyleBats:size=11}CPU 8: ${cpu cpu 7}%${goto 120} ${execi 5 sensors|grep 'Core 3'| awk -F'+' '{print $2}' | awk -F'.' '{print $1}'} °C ${alignr}${freq 8} MHz
${goto 5}${color1}${cpubar cpu 7}${color}

Code: Select all

${goto 10}${font StyleBats:size=11}CPU 1: ${cpu cpu 0}% ${alignr}${freq 1} MHz
${goto 5}${color1}${cpubar cpu 0}${color}
${goto 10}${font StyleBats:size=11}CPU 2: ${cpu cpu 1}% ${alignr}${freq 2} MHz
${goto 5}${color1}${cpubar cpu 1}${color}
${goto 10}${font StyleBats:size=11}CPU 3: ${cpu cpu 2}% ${alignr}${freq 3} MHz
${goto 5}${color1}${cpubar cpu 2}${color}
${goto 10}${font StyleBats:size=11}CPU 4: ${cpu cpu 3}% ${alignr}${freq 4} MHz
${goto 5}${color1}${cpubar cpu 3}${color}
${goto 10}${font StyleBats:size=11}CPU 5: ${cpu cpu 4}% ${alignr}${freq 5} MHz
${goto 5}${color1}${cpubar cpu 4}${color}
${goto 10}${font StyleBats:size=11}CPU 6: ${cpu cpu 5}% ${alignr}${freq 6} MHz
${goto 5}${color1}${cpubar cpu 5}${color}
${goto 10}${font StyleBats:size=11}CPU 7: ${cpu cpu 6}% ${alignr}${freq 7} MHz
${goto 5}${color1}${cpubar cpu 6}${color}
${goto 10}${font StyleBats:size=11}CPU 8: ${cpu cpu 7}% ${alignr}${freq 8} MHz
${goto 5}${color1}${cpubar cpu 7}${color}
Then add a line along the lines of

Code: Select all

${goto 10}${font StyleBats:size=11}Temp: ${execi 5 sensors k10temp-pci-00c3 | grep 'Tctl' | cut -d'+' -f2}
For custom Nemo actions, useful scripts for the Cinnamon desktop, and Cinnamox themes visit my Github pages.

User avatar
Todd Sauve
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 11:36 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta

Re: Can't Get Conky Manager for Mint 20

Post by Todd Sauve »

I had to reinstall Mint 20 because it went onto the wrong SSD. But now Conky Manager simply won't start when I click on the icon but gives me this:
************************

Missing Dependencies

Commands Listed Below Are Not Available

* conky

Please install required packages and try again

OK
************************

What did I do wrong?

I followed the instructions on HOWTOBUILD. at https://github.com/zcot/conky-manager2/ ... TOBUILD.md but it won't work ... ???

It worked the last time on the previous install of Mint 20 Cinnamon but this time it is ornery! I'm 62 but whenever I tangle with Conky I feel like it gets the best of me! Waaah!! :shock: :roll: :(

User avatar
zcot
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 981
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 6:08 pm

Re: Can't Get Conky Manager for Mint 20

Post by zcot »

Install conky. ;)

User avatar
Todd Sauve
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 11:36 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta

Re: Can't Get Conky Manager for Mint 20

Post by Todd Sauve »

Thanks zcot! You've saved me again! :P :D 8)

User avatar
Todd Sauve
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 11:36 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta

Re: Can't Get Conky Manager for Mint 20

Post by Todd Sauve »

Does anyone know of a Conky widget that supports an 8 core CPU with 16 hyperthreads?

I have an AMD 3700X and it has 8 cores and 16 hyperthreads, and I'd ideally love to have a conky that displayed all of this information. Looking at my conky, which I have displayed the entire text for on page one of this thread, does anyone know how to expand it in this way?

I don't know if conky is even expandable to 8 cores and the 16 hyperthreads in the 3700X but if anyone has one or knows where one is, could you please let me know?

User avatar
Todd Sauve
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 11:36 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta

Re: Can't Get Conky Manager for Mint 20

Post by Todd Sauve »

OK, I just copy and pasted the first 8 cores underneath and that worked!

Post Reply

Return to “Compiz, Conky, Docks, & Widgets”