Firefox webbrowser doesn’t work in Firejail sandbox

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
Alan16
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2020 3:06 pm

Firefox webbrowser doesn’t work in Firejail sandbox

Post by Alan16 »

.
1. To the command firefox Terminal replies:

[GFX1-]: More than 1 GPU from same vendor detected via PCI, cannot deduce device

The Firefox browser does open and work normally (like right now).

2. Synaptic package manager shows the Firefox packages on this pc.
It’s just Firefox 88.0 for Linux Mint ‘Tricia’ plus an english language pack plus ‘SpiderMonkeyJavascriptLibrary’.

3. Firejail I installed from the repository with sudo apt install firejail

Version 0.9.52.2 is in the repository and installed. On the website the latest versions are 0.9.64.4 and 0.9.56.2-LTS

4. To the command firejail firefox Terminal replies:

(…) /var/lib/dpkg/status (…) no such file or directory

and again

[GFX1-]: More than 1 GPU from same vendor detected via PCI, cannot deduce device

The Firefox browser does open, but it’s a white screen with only the address bar at the top.
I can paste a web address in the address bar, but when I click enter there’s no reaction, like the browser is ‘dead’.

The website icons of my favourite websites (among which this one) that I fixed on the browser starting page have disappeared. (They’re still there when I turn off Firejail and open an unsandboxed Firefox browser session).

Does anyone have an idea what could be wrong here and how to fix it?
mikeflan
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2521
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2020 9:28 am
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Firefox webbrowser doesn’t work in Firejail sandbox

Post by mikeflan »

Alan16 wrote:
Sun Apr 25, 2021 6:18 am
.
1. To the command firefox Terminal replies:
[GFX1-]: More than 1 GPU from same vendor detected via PCI, cannot deduce device
The Firefox browser does open and work normally (like right now).
Type this in a terminal:

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxxxrz
Post the output in "Code" tags. The button that inserts these tags is marked </>
Alan16
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2020 3:06 pm

Re: Firefox webbrowser doesn’t work in Firejail sandbox

Post by Alan16 »

mikeflan wrote:
Sun Apr 25, 2021 9:22 am

Type this in a terminal:

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxxxrz
Post the output in "Code" tags. The button that inserts these tags is marked </>
Here's the ouput:

Code: Select all

Mick@mick-HP-Pro-3010-Small-Form-Factor-PC:~$ inxi -Fxxxrz
System:
  Host: mick-HP-Pro-3010-Small-Form-Factor-PC 
  Kernel: 4.15.0-108-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 7.5.0 
  Desktop: Cinnamon 4.0.10 wm: muffin 4.0.7 dm: LightDM 1.26.0 
  Distro: Linux Mint 19.1 Tessa base: Ubuntu 18.04 bionic 
Machine:
  Type: Desktop System: Hewlett-Packard 
  product: HP Pro 3010 Small Form Factor PC v: N/A serial: <filter> Chassis: 
  type: 3 serial: <filter> 
  Mobo: PEGATRON model: 2A94h v: 1.02 serial: <filter> 
  BIOS: American Megatrends v: 5.14 date: 11/13/2009 
CPU:
  Topology: Dual Core model: Pentium E5300 bits: 64 type: MCP arch: Penryn 
  rev: A L2 cache: 2048 KiB 
  flags: lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 ssse3 vmx bogomips: 10373 
  Speed: 1381 MHz min/max: 1203/2603 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 1519 2: 1543 
Graphics:
  Device-1: Intel 4 Series Integrated Graphics vendor: Hewlett-Packard 
  driver: i915 v: kernel bus ID: 00:02.0 chip ID: 8086:2e22 
  Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.19.6 driver: modesetting unloaded: fbdev,vesa 
  resolution: 1920x1080~60Hz 
  OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel G45/G43 (ELK) v: 2.1 Mesa 20.0.8 
  direct render: Yes 
Audio:
  Device-1: Intel 82801JI HD Audio vendor: Hewlett-Packard 
  driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 00:1b.0 chip ID: 8086:3a3e 
  Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.15.0-108-generic 
Network:
  Device-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet 
  vendor: Hewlett-Packard driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: e800 
  bus ID: 02:00.0 chip ID: 10ec:8168 
  IF: enp2s0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter> 
Drives:
  Local Storage: total: 1.14 TiB used: 64.91 GiB (5.6%) 
  ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Seagate model: ST3250312AS size: 232.89 GiB 
  speed: 3.0 Gb/s rotation: 7200 rpm serial: <filter> rev: JC47 scheme: MBR 
  ID-2: /dev/sdg type: USB vendor: Seagate model: Basic size: 931.51 GiB 
  serial: <filter> rev: 0712 scheme: MBR 
Partition:
  ID-1: / size: 105.16 GiB used: 46.04 GiB (43.8%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda5 
Sensors:
  System Temperatures: cpu: 40.0 C mobo: N/A 
  Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A 
Repos:
  No active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list 
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/official-package-repositories.list 
  1: deb http://packages.linuxmint.com tessa main upstream import backport
  2: deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu bionic main restricted universe multiverse
  3: deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu bionic-updates main restricted universe multiverse
  4: deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu bionic-backports main restricted universe multiverse
  5: deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ bionic-security main restricted universe multiverse
  6: deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ bionic partner
Info:
  Processes: 174 Uptime: 5m Memory: 3.82 GiB used: 910.0 MiB (23.3%) 
  Init: systemd v: 237 runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 7.5.0 alt: 7 Shell: bash 
  v: 4.4.20 running in: gnome-terminal inxi: 3.0.27 
mick@mick-HP-Pro-3010-Small-Form-Factor-PC:~$ 
mikeflan
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2521
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2020 9:28 am
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Firefox webbrowser doesn’t work in Firejail sandbox

Post by mikeflan »

Thanks for posting that.
More than 1 GPU from same vendor detected via PCI, cannot deduce device
I don't see more than 1 GPU from same vendor, but maybe others will.

If you start Driver Manager do you get any driver selections listed? I suspect not. I suspect it will just say you are up to date. This is what I see:
driver.png
driver.png (45.21 KiB) Viewed 859 times
mikeflan
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2521
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2020 9:28 am
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Firefox webbrowser doesn’t work in Firejail sandbox

Post by mikeflan »

After reading this topic:
viewtopic.php?f=47&t=341637

I would like for you to try this:
Use htop to assure all Firefox processes have been terminated. Type htop in a terminal - F3 - type 'fire' - enter
If there are none then - enter - q. Skip to moving the firefox directory (below).
If there are some, highlight them and do - F9 - 9 - enter - keep searching for fire and terminate all Firefox processes.

Then move your entire '/home/mick/.mozilla/firefox/' directory to another location - perhaps /home/mick/Documents.

Then start Firefox by typing Firefox in a terminal. Does it work? If not, maybe we should backup, purge FF, and reinstall FF per the link above.
Alan16
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2020 3:06 pm

Re: Firefox webbrowser doesn’t work in Firejail sandbox

Post by Alan16 »

mikeflan wrote:
Sun Apr 25, 2021 6:47 pm
I don't see more than 1 GPU from same vendor, but maybe others will.

If you start Driver Manager do you get any driver selections listed? I suspect not. I suspect it will just say you are up to date.
Thanks for your help.

I haven't installed any nvidia drivers, as you can see from synaptic:

Image


How about the output that

(…) /var/lib/dpkg/status (…) no such file or directory ?
Last edited by Alan16 on Sun Apr 25, 2021 7:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Alan16
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2020 3:06 pm

Re: Firefox webbrowser doesn’t work in Firejail sandbox

Post by Alan16 »

mikeflan wrote:
Sun Apr 25, 2021 7:02 pm
After reading this topic:
viewtopic.php?f=47&t=341637

I would like for you to try this:
Use htop to assure all Firefox processes have been terminated. Type htop in a terminal - F3 - type 'fire' - enter
If there are none then - enter - q. Skip to moving the firefox directory (below).
If there are some, highlight them and do - F9 - 9 - enter - keep searching for fire and terminate all Firefox processes.

Then move your entire '/home/mick/.mozilla/firefox/' directory to another location - perhaps /home/mick/Documents.

Then start Firefox by typing Firefox in a terminal. Does it work? If not, maybe we should backup, purge FF, and reinstall FF per the link above.
Thanx for this one. Apparently ytene gets exactly the same message,

[GFX1-]: More than 1 GPU from same vendor detected via PCI, cannot deduce device

I'll do some experimenting and get back on this.

Do you have your webbrowser in a sandbox, by the way?
mikeflan
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2521
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2020 9:28 am
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Firefox webbrowser doesn’t work in Firejail sandbox

Post by mikeflan »

I haven't installed any nvidia drivers
I'm not interested in the nvidia drivers. I want to know what drivers are available in Driver Manager.
How about the output that
(…) /var/lib/dpkg/status (…) no such file or directory ?
I don't know what to make of that. I have a status file.
Type this in a terminal and report the results:

Code: Select all

ls -1 /var/lib/dpkg/s*
I get this:

Code: Select all

$ ls -1 /var/lib/dpkg/s*
/var/lib/dpkg/statoverride
/var/lib/dpkg/statoverride-old
/var/lib/dpkg/status
/var/lib/dpkg/status-old
Do you have your webbrowser in a sandbox, by the way?
No, I do not. It's just locked down with NoScript.
Alan16
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2020 3:06 pm

Re: Firefox webbrowser doesn’t work in Firejail sandbox

Post by Alan16 »

mikeflan wrote:
Sun Apr 25, 2021 6:47 pm

Thanks for posting that.

I don't see more than 1 GPU from same vendor, but maybe others will.

If you start Driver Manager do you get any driver selections listed? I suspect not. I suspect it will just say you are up to date. This is what I see:
driver.png
Hi mikeflan, sorry for not replying, very busy last week.

Like you expected, this is what I see:

Image
Alan16
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2020 3:06 pm

Re: Firefox webbrowser doesn’t work in Firejail sandbox

Post by Alan16 »

mikeflan wrote:
Sun Apr 25, 2021 8:13 pm

Type this in a terminal and report the results:

Code: Select all

ls -1 /var/lib/dpkg/s*
I get this:

Code: Select all

$ ls -1 /var/lib/dpkg/s*
/var/lib/dpkg/statoverride
/var/lib/dpkg/statoverride-old
/var/lib/dpkg/status
/var/lib/dpkg/status-old
I get this:

Code: Select all

$ ls -1 /var/lib/dpkg/s*
/var/lib/dpkg/statoverride
/var/lib/dpkg/status
/var/lib/dpkg/status-old 
The only difference is you have statusoverride-old
Alan16
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2020 3:06 pm

Firefox webbrowser doesn't work in Firejail sandbox

Post by Alan16 »

mikeflan wrote:
Sun Apr 25, 2021 7:02 pm
After reading this topic:
viewtopic.php?f=47&t=341637

I would like for you to try this:
Use htop to assure all Firefox processes have been terminated. Type htop in a terminal - F3 - type 'fire' - enter
If there are none then - enter - q. Skip to moving the firefox directory (below).
If there are some, highlight them and do - F9 - 9 - enter - keep searching for fire and terminate all Firefox processes.

Then move your entire '/home/mick/.mozilla/firefox/' directory to another location - perhaps /home/mick/Documents.

Then start Firefox by typing Firefox in a terminal. Does it work? If not, maybe we should backup, purge FF, and reinstall FF per the link above.
Quite a lot happened. I'll give an exact description.

1. htop isn't installed, I can install it with sudo apt install htop
2. I didn't, instead I simply turned of the computer - assuming that all Firefox processes will then be terminated - and restarted it.
3. I moved the firefox directory from .mozilla to Documents.

4. I typed firefox in a terminal. Firefox started exactly as in the first post. As before, the terminal shows:

[GFX1-]: More than 1 GPU from same vendor detected via PCI, cannot deduce device

So indeed it works. However,

5. The firefox directory is still in Documents. However, there is now another firefox directory back in .mozilla. The content is different:

original (moved from .mozilla to Docs):

Image

new (in .mozilla):

Image

6. I had the duckduckgo search engine, now I have the yahoo search engine.
7. My bookmarks have disappeared.
8. My top sites on the Firefox start page are gone. Instead, 'Facebook', 'twitter' and 'amazon' have been put there as top sites (- which I all three positively hate).

Questions:

Can the reason for this be, that the system went to the .mozilla directory and there created that second firefox directory that I now suddenly have?
It says "default release".

Can I delete that second firefox directory in .mozilla and then put the first firefox directory which is now in Documents back in .mozilla?
Alan16
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2020 3:06 pm

Re: Firefox webbrowser doesn’t work in Firejail sandbox

Post by Alan16 »

.
Good, it works. I deleted that new firefox directory in .mozilla, put the original firefox directory back in .mozilla from docs, and all is as before: duckduckgo, bookmarks, top sites etc.

Firefox still doesn't work in the Firejail sandbox, but at least this is instructive (for me as a noob).
mikeflan
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2521
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2020 9:28 am
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Firefox webbrowser doesn’t work in Firejail sandbox

Post by mikeflan »

So to summarize:
Firefox outside Firejail works fine, but gives this warning:
[GFX1-]: More than 1 GPU from same vendor detected via PCI, cannot deduce device

Firefox inside Firejail does not work right and the terminal gives the warning above and this one:
(…) /var/lib/dpkg/status (…) no such file or directory

We created a new FF profile and that did not change anything, so we put it back.
We did not reinstall FF as called for in viewtopic.php?f=47&t=341637 and I hesitate to tell you to do that since I don't thing it will help. I could be wrong here.

Since you have a /var/lib/dpkg/status file I would like to know what is in the 2nd '(…)', but of course there is no way to see that. Too bad. The 'no such file or directory' appears to be in error.

Maybe somebody who runs FF in FJ will show up to help us. In the meantime I suggest you run FF outside of FJ.

Feel free to correct my summary above if needed.
Alan16
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2020 3:06 pm

Re: Firefox webbrowser doesn’t work in Firejail sandbox

Post by Alan16 »

.
Thanx again. This is really analysing trying to solve a (minor) problem.
mikeflan wrote:
Sun May 02, 2021 9:32 am
So to summarize:
Firefox outside Firejail works fine, but gives this warning:
[GFX1-]: More than 1 GPU from same vendor detected via PCI, cannot deduce device
That's right. Hadn't even noticed that warning before, because I started FF with an icon.
mikeflan wrote:
Sun May 02, 2021 9:32 am
We created a new FF profile and that did not change anything, so we put it back.
O. k, so this new profile was automatically created, right?

mikeflan wrote:
Sun May 02, 2021 9:32 am
Firefox inside Firejail does not work right and the terminal gives the warning above and this one:
(…) /var/lib/dpkg/status (…) no such file or directory

Since you have a /var/lib/dpkg/status file I would like to know what is in the 2nd '(…)', but of course there is no way to see that. Too bad. The 'no such file or directory' appears to be in error.
Luckily we can, by running firejail firefox again:

Code: Select all

~$ firejail firefox
Reading profile /etc/firejail/firefox.profile
Reading profile /etc/firejail/disable-common.inc
Reading profile /etc/firejail/disable-devel.inc
Reading profile /etc/firejail/disable-programs.inc
Reading profile /etc/firejail/whitelist-common.inc
Reading profile /etc/firejail/whitelist-var-common.inc
Parent pid 3323, child pid 3324
Blacklist violations are logged to syslog
Child process initialized in 74.88 ms
dpkg-query: fout: fout bij het openen van bestand '/var/lib/dpkg/status' met pakketinformatie om er uit te lezen: No such file or directory
[GFX1-]: More than 1 GPU from same vendor detected via PCI, cannot deduce device

Parent is shutting down, bye...
I run the command, the terminal replies this, and a Firefox starting page opens, but doesn't work. As long as the browser page is open, the terminal is running a proces; after I close the browser, 'Parent shuts down'.

It is this dpkg-query. Translated, it reads just about:

Code: Select all

dpkg-query: fault: fault opening file '/var/lib/dpkg/status' with package information to read: No such file or directory
Maybe somebody who runs FF in FJ will show up to help us.
In the meantime I suggest you run FF outside of FJ.
Sure, no problem. I use linux mint for over a year now without a problem. This is the first real obstacle I encounter.
Thanx for your help and let's see what comes up. Both Pjotr and Xenopeek have posted about it. Found several articles on the web, but none about this specific matter.
mikeflan
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2521
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2020 9:28 am
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Firefox webbrowser doesn’t work in Firejail sandbox

Post by mikeflan »

O. k, so this new profile was automatically created, right?
Correct. If FF does not see a profile it creates a new one.
Alan16
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2020 3:06 pm

Re: Firefox webbrowser doesn’t work in Firejail sandbox

Post by Alan16 »

I read people are discussing Firejail right now. Does anybody have any input here?
4. To the command firejail firefox Terminal replies:

(…) /var/lib/dpkg/status (…) no such file or directory
Maybe this is the problem.
(I admit I haven't been looking to solve it lately).
User avatar
Pjotr
Level 22
Level 22
Posts: 16845
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:18 am
Location: The Netherlands (Holland) 🇳🇱
Contact:

Re: Firefox webbrowser doesn’t work in Firejail sandbox

Post by Pjotr »

Strange. Works flawlessly on my machines (all of which are running Mint 20.1).
Tip: 10 things to do after installing Linux Mint 20.2 Uma
Keep your Linux Mint healthy: Avoid these 10 fatal mistakes
Twitter: twitter.com/easylinuxtips
All in all, horse sense simply makes sense.
Alan16
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2020 3:06 pm

Re: Firefox webbrowser doesn’t work in Firejail sandbox

Post by Alan16 »

Pjotr wrote:
Sun May 30, 2021 2:48 pm
Strange. Works flawlessly on my machines (all of which are running Mint 20.1).
My machine runs Mint 19.1 Tessa. So far I haven't updated kernels yet, following your advice to

7. Stick to your kernel series
https://easylinuxtipsproject.blogspot.c ... e.html#ID7

(My idea is to postpone updating kernels until I have some more experience with several aspects of the operating system).

However, it may be far fetched to look for a cause for the Firejail problem here.
User avatar
Pjotr
Level 22
Level 22
Posts: 16845
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:18 am
Location: The Netherlands (Holland) 🇳🇱
Contact:

Re: Firefox webbrowser doesn’t work in Firejail sandbox

Post by Pjotr »

Alan16 wrote:
Sun May 30, 2021 2:58 pm
Pjotr wrote:
Sun May 30, 2021 2:48 pm
Strange. Works flawlessly on my machines (all of which are running Mint 20.1).
My machine runs Mint 19.1 Tessa. So far I haven't updated kernels yet, following your advice to

7. Stick to your kernel series
https://easylinuxtipsproject.blogspot.c ... e.html#ID7

(My idea is to postpone updating kernels until I have some more experience with several aspects of the operating system).

However, it may be far fetched to look for a cause for the Firejail problem here.
No, that's unrelated.

This does look related, though:
https://github.com/netblue30/firejail/issues/3680
Key here is the comment from reinerh:
Sounds like /usr/bin/firefox is just a wrapper script in Linux Mint, and it tries to invoke dpkg (as it tries to access /var/lib/dpkg/status).
But it should have been fixed already about six months ago.... :?
Tip: 10 things to do after installing Linux Mint 20.2 Uma
Keep your Linux Mint healthy: Avoid these 10 fatal mistakes
Twitter: twitter.com/easylinuxtips
All in all, horse sense simply makes sense.
Post Reply