Erratic Desktop Effects - Work Only Sometimes

Screen resolution, 3D Acceleration, nVidia, ATI
Forum rules
Before you post please read this
Post Reply
iriches
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 6:30 am
Location: Bedford, UK.

Erratic Desktop Effects - Work Only Sometimes

Post by iriches »

Can anyone explain why I can enable desktop effects only sometimes? Some boots they can be enabled, and others they can't. Graphics card (and machine generally) is 100% stable under WinXP. When they cannot be disabled, the results of a compiz-check are:

--------------------------------------------------------------

Gathering information about your system...

Distribution: Linux Mint 8
http://www.linuxmint.com/rel_helena.php
Desktop environment: GNOME
Graphics chip: ATI Technologies Inc R420 JP [Radeon X800XT]
Driver in use: radeon
Rendering method: AIGLX

Checking if it's possible to run Compiz on your system...

Checking for texture_from_pixmap... [ OK ]
Checking for non power of two support... [ OK ]
Checking for composite extension... [ OK ]
Checking for FBConfig... [ OK ]
Checking for hardware/setup problems... [FAIL]

There has been (at least) one error detected with your setup:
Error: Software Rasterizer in use

--------------------------------------------------------------

The (hopefully) relevant info from sudo lspci -vvnn is:

--------------------------------------------------------------

01:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: ATI Technologies Inc R420 JP [Radeon X800XT] [1002:4a50]
Subsystem: ATI Technologies Inc Device [1002:0002]
Control: I/O+ Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B- DisINTx-
Status: Cap+ 66MHz+ UDF- FastB2B+ ParErr- DEVSEL=medium >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR- INTx-
Latency: 64 (2000ns min), Cache Line Size: 32 bytes
Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 16
Region 0: Memory at e8000000 (32-bit, prefetchable)
Region 1: I/O ports at d800
Region 2: Memory at d6000000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable)
Expansion ROM at e7fe0000 [disabled]
Capabilities: [58] AGP version 3.0
Status: RQ=256 Iso- ArqSz=0 Cal=0 SBA+ ITACoh- GART64- HTrans- 64bit- FW+ AGP3+ Rate=x4,x8
Command: RQ=1 ArqSz=0 Cal=0 SBA+ AGP- GART64- 64bit- FW- Rate=<none>
Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 2
Flags: PMEClk- DSI- D1+ D2+ AuxCurrent=0mA PME(D0-,D1-,D2-,D3hot-,D3cold-)
Status: D0 PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=0 PME-
Kernel modules: radeon, radeonfb

01:00.1 Display controller [0380]: ATI Technologies Inc R420 [X800XT-PE] (Secondary) [1002:4a70]
Subsystem: ATI Technologies Inc Device [1002:0003]
Control: I/O- Mem- BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B- DisINTx-
Status: Cap+ 66MHz+ UDF- FastB2B+ ParErr- DEVSEL=medium >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR- INTx-
Latency: 64 (2000ns min), Cache Line Size: 32 bytes
Region 0: Memory at d8000000 (32-bit, prefetchable) [disabled]
Region 1: Memory at d5800000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [disabled]
Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 2
Flags: PMEClk- DSI- D1+ D2+ AuxCurrent=0mA PME(D0-,D1-,D2-,D3hot-,D3cold-)
Status: D0 PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=0 PME-

--------------------------------------------------------------

Thanks for any help!

Ian

User avatar
richyrich
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9059
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: Erratic Desktop Effects - Work Only Sometimes

Post by richyrich »

What does ATI's website tell you about Linux drivers for your card ?

User avatar
rich_roast
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1123
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 4:37 pm

Re: Erratic Desktop Effects - Work Only Sometimes

Post by rich_roast »

This might not be super helpful but I can confirm a similar problem for an older ATi card (radeon 9600 mobility m10), using the open radeon driver.

Current advice is check that the card is physically inserted properly, but I don't buy it (because I have, and it's fine). There's a bug in xorg somewhere, I think, but I don't know about tracking it down.

iriches
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 6:30 am
Location: Bedford, UK.

Re: Erratic Desktop Effects - Work Only Sometimes

Post by iriches »

richyrich wrote:What does ATI's website tell you about Linux drivers for your card ?
It tells me I need to use the 9.3 Legacy drivers, which according to http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=59&t=31845 are not compatible with Mint 8. My only choice seems to be the open-source drivers.

User avatar
rich_roast
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1123
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 4:37 pm

Re: Erratic Desktop Effects - Work Only Sometimes

Post by rich_roast »

iriches wrote:My only choice seems to be the open-source drivers.
This is not necessarily a negative thing.

The open source radeon drivers are fine for running desktop effects on a 9600 (well, when dri loads for me, but that's my own problem). To check support and performance for your card check Xorg's wiki and free3d.org - it is of note that your card is currently recommended for best 3d performance by the latter.

While for the longest time running anything but proprietary gpu drivers resulted in poor 3d performance, in the case of the ati drivers this is beginning to change. I get reasonable frame rates in 3D games, including Sauerbraten-types with shaders turned on, and although overall performance still isn't what I think it could be, it's enough to make me quite happy.

In the long run it would be nice to support the open drivers development.

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Cards & Monitors”