How to find program or possibly kill it

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Locked
barhaqodes
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2023 3:33 pm

How to find program or possibly kill it

Post by barhaqodes »

How to you find program in tty with a simple (like one line) command.
More commands would be use full for me, because I often need to find out what program takes most memory or most CPU usage.

A) So regarding memory usage, let's say:
A.1) I want to find find top 10 programs which consumes the most memory (and I want to see how much). Whilest I can find one specific program with a name, I cannot find this "Top 10" (sorted).
A.2.i) I want to find find programs which consumes the most memory, above some e.g. 150 MB, and return its pid
B) Regarding CPU usage, let's say:
B.1) I want to find top 5 programs which consumes the most CPU usage and I want to see how much of CPU unit [%] it consumes. Mint uses 4 or 6 cores on my PC (or threads).
B.2.i) I want to find top 5 programs which consumes the most memory, except these Palemoon and the other stuff Xfce which is necessary to run Mint. And I want to check it
B.2.ii) I want to find top 5 programs which consumes the most memory, except these Palemoon and the other stuff Xfce which is necessary to run Mint. And I want KILL it. Most likly Mint update service or what name is it.
Last edited by LockBot on Sun Oct 01, 2023 10:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
User avatar
Pjotr
Level 24
Level 24
Posts: 20111
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:18 am
Location: The Netherlands (Holland) 🇳🇱
Contact:

Re: How to find program or possibly kill it

Post by Pjotr »

Try this terminal command for the overview:

Code: Select all

top
Killing an app:

Code: Select all

killall name-of-victim-app
Replace name-of-victim-app by the name of the app that you wish to kill.
Tip: 10 things to do after installing Linux Mint 21.3 Virginia
Keep your Linux Mint healthy: Avoid these 10 fatal mistakes
Twitter: twitter.com/easylinuxtips
All in all, horse sense simply makes sense.
barhaqodes
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2023 3:33 pm

Re: How to find program or possibly kill it

Post by barhaqodes »

This is on a very begin. Just when I have started Mint 20 and fce terminal, then run sudo mc , then I run xed hosts /etc/hosts and suddenly the system was very slow like freezed. I switched to tty3 and run htop:

It seems to me like the update service and running python is the reason why system is so extremly slow. Is there way to turn off this services when Mint loads?

Also notice that due to been in tty3 I did not manage to copy the output to paste it here. This are just three line I retyped manually.

Code: Select all

CPU 1 100% load
CPU 2 100% load
CPU 3 100% load
CPU 4 100% load
Mem cca 70% green, cca 30% orange, swap 0
Tasks 112, 168 thr> 4 running
Load avg: 4.61 7.22 5.11
Uptime: 00:21:19

Xce Terminal is running and I am logged in tty3.

On the first place, there are displayed:
7:34.76 1928 root 39 19 239M 222M [RES SELECED] 16280 D 0.0 [CPU] 7.8 [Mem] python3 /usr/sbin/update-a...
3:04.59 2876 root 39 19 164M 99412 18648 [RES SELECED] S 0.0 [CPU] 3.4 [Mem] python3 /usr/lib/update-no...
0:04.23 1953 root 20 0  107M 99948 [RES SELECED] 65972 S 0.0 3.2 [Mem] python3  /usr/bin/mint-refr [refrash] 
Hoser Rob
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11796
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 8:57 am

Re: How to find program or possibly kill it

Post by Hoser Rob »

Maybe I'm missing something but I don't see anything on that list that you couldn't do with the system monitor that came with your desktop, and it's a GUI program. Some things really are simpler and/or quicker in CLI but I don't think this would qualify.
For every complex problem there is an answer that is clear, simple, and wrong - H. L. Mencken
barhaqodes
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2023 3:33 pm

Re: How to find program or possibly kill it

Post by barhaqodes »

System is very slow. Like extreme. Especially on the begin I had to wait 20 minutes. For this reason first thing I need to do is to log to tty3 and get ready for this extreme load CPU. On the begin I used something like gnome task manager or gnome system monitor, but I have described this in my previous thread. The CPU usage grows from 7% to 70% or more during like 20 seconds! The system does not react "at all". I cannot run some gnome tool when browser or even Xfce terminal is running. The fastest way to run the tools to kill process it to be ready on tty3. So I can run the top or htop (I like htop).

Edit:
I have found this helpful article https://phoenixnap.com/kb/check-cpu-usage-load-linux:
So

Code: Select all

top -i
is the easiest way to see CPU usage and command name.

Code: Select all

mpstat
from sysstat package or

Code: Select all

mpstat P 0
to see core usage of core #1

Please, what is it "nice" - "CPU usage for user processes labeled “nice”" ... what it means or how can a user mark process as nice?
mikeflan
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7136
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2020 9:28 am
Location: Houston, TX

Re: How to find program or possibly kill it

Post by mikeflan »

System is very slow. Like extreme.
OK, lets get a look at that system. Please type this in a terminal:

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxxxmprz
Post the output to this forum in "Code" tags. The button that inserts these tags is marked </>, which is in the mini toolbar above the edit box where you type your reply.
viewtopic.php?f=42&t=364929

If your Linux Mint install isn't in English, prefix any commands that you want to share output of with LC_ALL=C. That forces output to be English. For example instead of running the command "inxi -Fxxxmprz", you'd run the command "LC_ALL=C inxi -Fxxxmprz".
More info:
viewtopic.php?f=90&t=318644
viewtopic.php?p=2148154#p2148154dsk
barhaqodes
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2023 3:33 pm

Re: How to find program or possibly kill it

Post by barhaqodes »

Thank you for response. Here is the output and sorry for delays because of my curremt ilness.

Code: Select all

$ LC_ALL=C inxi -Fxxxmprz
System:
  Kernel: 5.4.0-144-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 9.4.0 
  Desktop: Xfce 4.14.2 tk: Gtk 3.24.13 info: xfce4-panel wm: xfwm4 
  dm: LightDM 1.30.0 Distro: Linux Mint 20 Ulyana base: Ubuntu 20.04 focal 
Machine:
  Type: Vmware System: VMware product: VMware Virtual Platform v: N/A 
  serial: <filter> Chassis: No Enclosure type: 1 serial: <filter> 
  Mobo: Intel model: 440BX Desktop Reference Platform serial: <filter> 
  BIOS: Phoenix v: 6.00 date: 07/02/2012 
Memory:
  RAM: total: 2.79 GiB used: 874.1 MiB (30.6%) 
  RAM Report: 
  permissions: Unable to run dmidecode. Root privileges required. 
CPU:
  Topology: 4x Single Core model: AMD FX-8300 bits: 64 type: SMP 
  arch: Bulldozer L2 cache: 8192 KiB 
  flags: avx lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 
  bogomips: 26488 
  Speed: 3311 MHz min/max: N/A Core speeds (MHz): 1: 3311 2: 3311 3: 3311 
  4: 3311 
Graphics:
  Device-1: VMware SVGA II Adapter driver: vmwgfx v: 2.15.0.0 
  bus ID: 00:0f.0 chip ID: 15ad:0405 
  Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.13 driver: vmware 
  unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,vesa resolution: 800x600~60Hz 
  OpenGL: renderer: SVGA3D; build v: 2.1 Mesa 21.2.6 direct render: Yes 
Audio:
  Device-1: Ensoniq ES1371/ES1373 / Creative Labs CT2518 
  driver: snd_ens1371 v: kernel bus ID: 02:02.0 chip ID: 1274:1371 
  Sound Server: ALSA v: k5.4.0-144-generic 
Network:
  Device-1: Intel 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 ACPI vendor: VMware Virtual Machine 
  type: network bridge driver: N/A port: 10c0 bus ID: 00:07.3 
  chip ID: 8086:7113 
  Device-2: Intel 82545EM Gigabit Ethernet 
  vendor: VMware PRO/1000 MT Single Port driver: e1000 v: 7.3.21-k8-NAPI 
  port: 2000 bus ID: 02:01.0 chip ID: 8086:100f 
  IF: ens33 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter> 
Drives:
  Local Storage: total: 515.76 GiB used: 46.43 GiB (9.0%) 
  ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: VMware model: Virtual IDE Hard Drive 
  size: 465.76 GiB speed: <unknown> serial: <filter> rev: 0001 scheme: MBR 
  ID-2: /dev/sdb vendor: VMware model: Virtual S size: 50.00 GiB 
  serial: N/A rev: 1.0 scheme: GPT 
Partition:
  ID-1: / size: 40.55 GiB used: 13.93 GiB (34.3%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sdb3 
  ID-2: /home size: 5.84 GiB used: 1.75 GiB (29.9%) fs: ext4 
  dev: /dev/sdb4 
  ID-3: /home/<filter>/mnt size: 14.00 GiB used: 13.85 GiB (98.9%) 
  fs: fuse.vmhgfs-fuse source: ERR-102 
  ID-4: /media/install size: 17.00 GiB used: 16.91 GiB (99.5%) fs: ntfs 
  dev: /dev/sda6 
  ID-5: swap-1 size: 2.54 GiB used: 0 KiB (0.0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sdb5 
Sensors:
  Message: No sensors data was found. Is sensors configured? 
Repos:
  No active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list 
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/google-chrome.list 
  1: deb [arch=amd64] https://dl.google.com/linux/chrome/deb/ stable main
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/google-earth-pro.list 
  1: deb [arch=amd64] http://dl.google.com/linux/earth/deb/ stable main
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/official-package-repositories.list 
  1: deb http://packages.linuxmint.com ulyana main upstream import backport #id:linuxmint_main
  2: deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu focal main restricted universe multiverse
  3: deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu focal-updates main restricted universe multiverse
  4: deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu focal-backports main restricted universe multiverse
  5: deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ focal-security main restricted universe multiverse
  6: deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ focal partner
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/opera-stable.list 
  1: deb https://deb.opera.com/opera-stable/ stable non-free #Opera Browser (final releases)
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/winehq.list 
  1: deb [signed-by=/usr/share/keyrings/winehq.gpg] http://dl.winehq.org/wine-builds/ubuntu/ focal main
Info:
  Processes: 208 Uptime: 9m Init: systemd v: 245 runlevel: 5 Compilers: 
  gcc: 9.4.0 alt: 9 Shell: bash v: 5.0.17 running in: xfce4-terminal 
  inxi: 3.0.38 
rickNS
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2970
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:59 pm

Re: How to find program or possibly kill it

Post by rickNS »

First No experience with VMware.

There does not appear much wrong withe the virtual machinespecs using only 30% of about 3GB of RAM.

Question is how much ram does the host machine have ? You may be using too many resources in the virtual machine.

And what speed would you expect of a 1998 Pentium processor "Mobo: Intel model: 440BX", running
at speeds of up to 1 GHz
And most likely much less than that, from tom's hardware,
Review of Slot 1 Motherboards with Intel 440BX Chipset - Spring 1998
By Thomas Pabst
published May 26, 1998

Introduction

Intel won the run and is the first to ship a chipset that is running at 100 MHz system or front side bus clock. People who want to have the fastest Pentium II CPUs will now have to take advantage of this chipset, because 333 MHz is as far as Intel will let you get in a board with 440LX chipset. 350, 400 and 450 MHz will require 100 MHz FSB and so 440BX. 100 MHz FSB alone are hardly giving any performance increase over 66 MHz, as you know from my article about the performance differences between 66 to 100 MHz FSB Slot 1 systems, but 350 or 400 MHz CPU clock will make sure that a BX system will indeed be faster than even an LX chipset with a 333 MHz CPU.
Mint 20.0, and 21.0 MATE on Thinkpads, 3 X T420, T450, T470, and X200
barhaqodes
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2023 3:33 pm

Re: How to find program or possibly kill it

Post by barhaqodes »

Why would creators of VMWare limit the machine back to 1995? Makes no sense.
VM Memory update to 2048M.

Code: Select all

$ sudo LC_ALL=C inxi -Fxxxmprz
[sudo] heslo pro user:     
System:
  Kernel: 5.4.0-144-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 9.4.0 
  Desktop: Xfce 4.14.2 tk: Gtk 3.24.13 info: xfce4-panel wm: xfwm4 
  dm: LightDM 1.30.0 Distro: Linux Mint 20 Ulyana base: Ubuntu 20.04 focal 
Machine:
  Type: Vmware System: VMware product: VMware Virtual Platform v: N/A 
  serial: <filter> Chassis: No Enclosure type: 1 serial: N/A 
  Mobo: Intel model: 440BX Desktop Reference Platform serial: N/A 
  BIOS: Phoenix v: 6.00 date: 07/02/2012 
Memory:
  RAM: total: 1.92 GiB used: 665.5 MiB (33.8%) 
  Array-1: capacity: 1 TiB slots: 64 EC: None max module size: 32 GiB 
  Device-1: Slot0 size: 2 GiB info: single-bank speed: Unknown type: DRAM 
  detail: edo bus width: 32 bits total: 32 bits manufacturer: N/A 
  part-no: Not Specified serial: <filter> 
  Device-2: Slots 1-64: Slot63 size: No Module Installed 
CPU:
  Topology: 4x Single Core model: AMD FX-8300 bits: 64 type: SMP 
  arch: Bulldozer L1 cache: 1024 KiB L2 cache: 8192 KiB 
  flags: avx lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 
  bogomips: 26488 
  Speed: 3311 MHz min/max: N/A Core speeds (MHz): 1: 3311 2: 3311 3: 3311 
  4: 3311 
Graphics:
  Device-1: VMware SVGA II Adapter driver: vmwgfx v: 2.15.0.0 
  bus ID: 00:0f.0 chip ID: 15ad:0405 
  Display: server: X.Org 1.20.13 driver: vmware 
  unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,vesa resolution: 800x600~60Hz 
  OpenGL: renderer: SVGA3D; build v: 2.1 Mesa 21.2.6 direct render: Yes 
Audio:
  Device-1: Ensoniq ES1371/ES1373 / Creative Labs CT2518 
  driver: snd_ens1371 v: kernel bus ID: 02:02.0 chip ID: 1274:1371 
  Sound Server: ALSA v: k5.4.0-144-generic 
Network:
  Device-1: Intel 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 ACPI vendor: VMware Virtual Machine 
  type: network bridge driver: N/A port: 10c0 bus ID: 00:07.3 
  chip ID: 8086:7113 
  Device-2: Intel 82545EM Gigabit Ethernet 
  vendor: VMware PRO/1000 MT Single Port driver: e1000 v: 7.3.21-k8-NAPI 
  port: 2000 bus ID: 02:01.0 chip ID: 8086:100f 
  IF: ens33 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter> 
Drives:
  Local Storage: total: 515.76 GiB used: 46.43 GiB (9.0%) 
  ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: VMware model: Virtual IDE Hard Drive 
  size: 465.76 GiB speed: <unknown> serial: <filter> rev: 0001 scheme: MBR 
  ID-2: /dev/sdb vendor: VMware model: Virtual S size: 50.00 GiB 
  serial: N/A rev: 1.0 scheme: GPT 
Partition:
  ID-1: / size: 40.55 GiB used: 13.93 GiB (34.3%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sdb3 
  ID-2: /home size: 5.84 GiB used: 1.75 GiB (29.9%) fs: ext4 
  dev: /dev/sdb4 
  ID-3: /home/<filter>/mnt size: 14.00 GiB used: 13.85 GiB (98.9%) 
  fs: fuse.vmhgfs-fuse source: ERR-102 
  ID-4: /media/install size: 17.00 GiB used: 16.91 GiB (99.5%) fs: ntfs 
  dev: /dev/sda6 
  ID-5: swap-1 size: 2.54 GiB used: 0 KiB (0.0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sdb5 
Sensors:
  Message: No sensors data was found. Is sensors configured? 
Repos:
  No active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list 
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/google-chrome.list 
  1: deb [arch=amd64] https://dl.google.com/linux/chrome/deb/ stable main
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/google-earth-pro.list 
  1: deb [arch=amd64] http://dl.google.com/linux/earth/deb/ stable main
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/official-package-repositories.list 
  1: deb http://packages.linuxmint.com ulyana main upstream import backport #id:linuxmint_main
  2: deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu focal main restricted universe multiverse
  3: deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu focal-updates main restricted universe multiverse
  4: deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu focal-backports main restricted universe multiverse
  5: deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ focal-security main restricted universe multiverse
  6: deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ focal partner
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/opera-stable.list 
  1: deb https://deb.opera.com/opera-stable/ stable non-free #Opera Browser (final releases)
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/winehq.list 
  1: deb [signed-by=/usr/share/keyrings/winehq.gpg] http://dl.winehq.org/wine-builds/ubuntu/ focal main
Info:
  Processes: 218 Uptime: 2m Init: systemd v: 245 runlevel: 5 Compilers: 
  gcc: 9.4.0 alt: 9 Shell: bash (sudo) v: 5.0.17 
  running in: xfce4-terminal inxi: 3.0.38 
Also there is some information about this CPU speed:

Code: Select all

Speed: 3311 MHz min/max: N/A Core speeds (MHz): 1: 3311 2: 3311 3: 3311 
  4: 3311
But I dont think this is the reason why it sometimes goes so slow that it takes like 5 minuts to react on K/B or mouse signal/instruction.

Yet in the newer version installed on W 8.1 they use old hardware. And when I first installed FreeLinux build on Ubuntu 22(?) so it went pretty fast at first moments, until next day or few days. So I installed Mint.
billyswong
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2211
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2019 1:02 am

Re: How to find program or possibly kill it

Post by billyswong »

rickNS wrote: Mon Apr 03, 2023 10:12 am And what speed would you expect of a 1998 Pentium processor "Mobo: Intel model: 440BX", running
at speeds of up to 1 GHz
Down below there is

Code: Select all

CPU:
  Topology: 4x Single Core model: AMD FX-8300 bits: 64 type: SMP 
  arch: Bulldozer L1 cache: 1024 KiB L2 cache: 8192 KiB 
  flags: avx lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 
  bogomips: 26488 
  Speed: 3311 MHz min/max: N/A Core speeds (MHz): 1: 3311 2: 3311 3: 3311 
  4: 3311 
So VMWare does show the guest the real host CPU, with 3.3GHz visible.

In QEMU, I can see "svm" as one of the CPU flags. Here it is not present. I am not entirely sure if it is due to behavioural difference of QEMU vs VMWare. But to be rather safe than sorry, I suggest one may take a look in the host computer BIOS. Check there and see if one has enabled "Virtualization" or "SVM" or "AMD-V" feature for the host machine. It is often disabled by default. Without it enabled, there can be a significant loss of performance of virtual machines.
rickNS
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2970
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:59 pm

Re: How to find program or possibly kill it

Post by rickNS »

billyswong wrote: Mon Apr 03, 2023 12:21 pm
Down below there is

Code: Select all

CPU:
  Topology: 4x Single Core model: AMD FX-8300 bits: 64 type: SMP 
  arch: Bulldozer L1 cache: 1024 KiB L2 cache: 8192 KiB 
  flags: avx lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 
  bogomips: 26488 
  Speed: 3311 MHz min/max: N/A Core speeds (MHz): 1: 3311 2: 3311 3: 3311 
  4: 3311 
So VMWare does show the guest the real host CPU, with 3.3GHz visible.
I admit I don't know about all things, but I just checked a virtual (virtualbox) machine of my own, and the inxi report from the virtual machine was twice as fast as the host, does NOT seem logical.

In any case I'd like to see the inxi report from the host booted from a Live USB, as the OP's virtual INXI report seems misleading ? And frankly I'm finding it hard to believe that it is actually 3.3GHz from that MB. Which I just read on another forum was consider 'antiquated' in 2005.
Mint 20.0, and 21.0 MATE on Thinkpads, 3 X T420, T450, T470, and X200
billyswong
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2211
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2019 1:02 am

Re: How to find program or possibly kill it

Post by billyswong »

FX-8300 is an AMD CPU launched in 2012. It is in no way compatible with an Intel 440BX chipset in real hardware. @rickNS you don't need to "make sense" of the lunatic hardware combination provided by VMWare.
barhaqodes
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2023 3:33 pm

Re: How to find program or possibly kill it

Post by barhaqodes »

rickNS:
I understand that the confusing point here is that VMWare dev team decided to simplify the job by skipping of the work of adding real names. The names here does not matter. It is clear that Pentium cannot run 4 core CPUs :lol: I dont have Live USB, this is installed from iso on HDD.

Another fact:
1) HW Info on host shows 1404.7 MHz on all 8 cores in "idle", VMPlayer is off.
2) When I run this command on WVPlayer in Mint 20:

Code: Select all

$ sudo LC_ALL=C inxi -Fxxxmprz | grep 33
  Device-33: Slot32 size: No Module Installed 
  Device-34: Slot33 size: No Module Installed 
  Speed: 3311 MHz min/max: N/A Core speeds (MHz): 1: 3311 2: 3311 3: 3311 
  4: 3311 
  IF: ens33 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
The real CPU #8* frequency measured in HW Info on HOST OS, was really 3.6 or 3.3 GHz, but this was only for a fraction of second like 0,3s. So, the host can control the core frequency on core 8 - that is good.
note: * 4 core CPU, but 8 threads
barhaqodes
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2023 3:33 pm

Re: How to find program or possibly kill it

Post by barhaqodes »

billyswong:
This old version of VMPlayer has no BIOS settings in VM settings. But I cannot remember that I have seen it in the newer one for W 8.1.
billyswong
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2211
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2019 1:02 am

Re: How to find program or possibly kill it

Post by billyswong »

barhaqodes wrote: Mon Apr 03, 2023 3:48 pm billyswong:
This old version of VMPlayer has no BIOS settings in VM settings. But I cannot remember that I have seen it in the newer one for W 8.1.
I am talking about BIOS setting of the host machine not the guest virtual machine.
barhaqodes
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2023 3:33 pm

Re: How to find program or possibly kill it

Post by barhaqodes »

Regarding BIOS, I got feeling I've seen it there, but cannot recall where. It is AMI BIOS ~07/2015
Locked

Return to “Beginner Questions”