Linux mint freezes

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
weeple2000
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2021 10:26 pm

Linux mint freezes

Post by weeple2000 »

My machine has been freezing. For the most part, when this happens I have to restart the machine. I have replaced my PSU. I also tried to reinstall the latest Linux Mint. Neither of these solved my problem.
Last edited by SMG on Wed Nov 22, 2023 9:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Moved from Software & Applications to Other Topics because this issue is one of the system freezing and not a problem with a particular app.
User avatar
SMG
Level 25
Level 25
Posts: 30656
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2020 6:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: Linux mint freezes

Post by SMG »

weeple2000 wrote: Wed Nov 22, 2023 6:05 pmNeither of these solved my problem.
Please open the System Reports app and click the System Information tab on the left. Your computer's information should come up in the right pane. Then click the Copy button in the lower right and paste the results into a reply window here so we can see how Linux Mint views your hardware.
Image
A woman typing on a laptop with LM20.3 Cinnamon.
weeple2000
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2021 10:26 pm

Re: Linux mint freezes

Post by weeple2000 »

Code: Select all

System:
  Kernel: 5.15.0-89-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 11.4.0 Desktop: Cinnamon 5.8.4
    tk: GTK 3.24.33 wm: muffin dm: LightDM Distro: Linux Mint 21.2 Victoria base: Ubuntu 22.04 jammy
Machine:
  Type: Desktop System: Gigabyte product: A320M-S2H v: N/A serial: <superuser required>
  Mobo: Gigabyte model: A320M-S2H-CF serial: <superuser required> UEFI: American Megatrends LLC.
    v: F56b date: 02/09/2023
CPU:
  Info: 6-core model: AMD Ryzen 5 3600 bits: 64 type: MT MCP arch: Zen 2 rev: 0 cache: L1: 384 KiB
    L2: 3 MiB L3: 32 MiB
  Speed (MHz): avg: 2468 high: 4112 min/max: 2200/3600 boost: enabled cores: 1: 2196 2: 2196
    3: 2195 4: 2053 5: 4112 6: 2054 7: 2196 8: 2193 9: 2195 10: 2059 11: 4112 12: 2058
    bogomips: 86238
  Flags: avx avx2 ht lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm
Graphics:
  Device-1: AMD Cape Verde XT [Radeon HD 7770/8760 / R7 250X] vendor: Micro-Star MSI R7770-PMD1GD5
    driver: radeon v: kernel pcie: speed: 8 GT/s lanes: 16 ports: active: DVI-I-1,HDMI-A-1
    empty: DP-1 bus-ID: 08:00.0 chip-ID: 1002:683d
  Display: x11 server: X.Org v: 1.21.1.4 driver: X: loaded: ati,radeon
    unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,vesa gpu: radeon display-ID: :0 screens: 1
  Screen-1: 0 s-res: 3840x1080 s-dpi: 96
  Monitor-1: DVI-0 mapped: DVI-I-1 pos: primary,left model: Asus VH238 res: 1920x1080 dpi: 96
    diag: 584mm (23")
  Monitor-2: HDMI-0 mapped: HDMI-A-1 pos: right model: HP 27xw res: 1920x1080 dpi: 82
    diag: 686mm (27")
  OpenGL: renderer: VERDE ( LLVM 15.0.7 DRM 2.50 5.15.0-89-generic)
    v: 4.5 Mesa 23.0.4-0ubuntu1~22.04.1 direct render: Yes
Audio:
  Device-1: AMD Oland/Hainan/Cape Verde/Pitcairn HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 7000 Series]
    vendor: Micro-Star MSI driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel pcie: speed: 8 GT/s lanes: 16
    bus-ID: 08:00.1 chip-ID: 1002:aab0
  Device-2: AMD Starship/Matisse HD Audio vendor: Gigabyte driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel pcie:
    speed: 16 GT/s lanes: 16 bus-ID: 0a:00.4 chip-ID: 1022:1487
  Sound Server-1: ALSA v: k5.15.0-89-generic running: yes
  Sound Server-2: PulseAudio v: 15.99.1 running: yes
  Sound Server-3: PipeWire v: 0.3.48 running: yes
Network:
  Device-1: Intel Wi-Fi 6 AX210/AX211/AX411 160MHz driver: iwlwifi v: kernel pcie: speed: 5 GT/s
    lanes: 1 bus-ID: 06:00.0 chip-ID: 8086:2725
  IF: wlp6s0 state: up mac: <filter>
  Device-2: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet vendor: Gigabyte
    driver: r8169 v: kernel pcie: speed: 2.5 GT/s lanes: 1 port: f000 bus-ID: 07:00.0
    chip-ID: 10ec:8168
  IF: enp7s0 state: down mac: <filter>
Bluetooth:
  Device-1: Intel AX210 Bluetooth type: USB driver: btusb v: 0.8 bus-ID: 1-6:2 chip-ID: 8087:0032
  Report: hciconfig ID: hci0 rfk-id: 0 state: up address: <filter>
Drives:
  Local Storage: total: 953.87 GiB used: 97.34 GiB (10.2%)
  ID-1: /dev/nvme0n1 vendor: Intel model: SSDPEKNW010T8 size: 953.87 GiB speed: 31.6 Gb/s
    lanes: 4 serial: <filter> temp: 39.9 C
Partition:
  ID-1: / size: 937.33 GiB used: 97.33 GiB (10.4%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/nvme0n1p3
  ID-2: /boot/efi size: 511 MiB used: 6.1 MiB (1.2%) fs: vfat dev: /dev/nvme0n1p1
Swap:
  ID-1: swap-1 type: file size: 2 GiB used: 0 KiB (0.0%) priority: -2 file: /swapfile
USB:
  Hub-1: 1-0:1 info: Hi-speed hub with single TT ports: 9 rev: 2.0 speed: 480 Mb/s
    chip-ID: 1d6b:0002
  Device-1: 1-6:2 info: Intel AX210 Bluetooth type: Bluetooth driver: btusb rev: 2.0
    speed: 12 Mb/s chip-ID: 8087:0032
  Hub-2: 2-0:1 info: Super-speed hub ports: 3 rev: 3.1 speed: 10 Gb/s chip-ID: 1d6b:0003
  Hub-3: 3-0:1 info: Hi-speed hub with single TT ports: 4 rev: 2.0 speed: 480 Mb/s
    chip-ID: 1d6b:0002
  Device-1: 3-1:2 info: Canon imageCLASS D300 type: Printer driver: usblp rev: 1.1
    speed: 12 Mb/s chip-ID: 04a9:262c
  Hub-4: 3-3:3 info: Terminus Hub ports: 4 rev: 2.0 speed: 480 Mb/s chip-ID: 1a40:0101
  Device-1: 3-3.2:4 info: Logitech G500 Laser Mouse type: Mouse,HID driver: hid-generic,usbhid
    rev: 2.0 speed: 12 Mb/s chip-ID: 046d:c068
  Device-2: 3-3.4:5 info: Holtek Keyboard LKS02 type: Keyboard,HID driver: hid-generic,usbhid
    rev: 1.1 speed: 1.5 Mb/s chip-ID: 04d9:1702
  Hub-5: 4-0:1 info: Super-speed hub ports: 4 rev: 3.1 speed: 10 Gb/s chip-ID: 1d6b:0003
Sensors:
  System Temperatures: cpu: 16.8 C mobo: 16.8 C gpu: radeon temp: 52.0 C
  Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A
Repos:
  Packages: 2243 apt: 2237 flatpak: 6
  No active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/official-package-repositories.list
    1: deb http: //mirror.team-cymru.com/mint-packages victoria main upstream import backport
    2: deb http: //mirror.team-cymru.com/ubuntu jammy main restricted universe multiverse
    3: deb http: //mirror.team-cymru.com/ubuntu jammy-updates main restricted universe multiverse
    4: deb http: //mirror.team-cymru.com/ubuntu jammy-backports main restricted universe multiverse
    5: deb http: //security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ jammy-security main restricted universe multiverse
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/spotify.list
    1: deb http: //repository.spotify.com stable non-free
Info:
  Processes: 374 Uptime: 1m Memory: 15.53 GiB used: 2.59 GiB (16.6%) Init: systemd v: 249
  runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 11.4.0 alt: 11/12 Client: Unknown python3.10 client inxi: 3.3.13
User avatar
SMG
Level 25
Level 25
Posts: 30656
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2020 6:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: Linux mint freezes

Post by SMG »

weeple2000 wrote: Thu Nov 23, 2023 1:52 pm System:
Kernel: 5.15.0-89-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 11.4.0 Desktop: Cinnamon 5.8.4
tk: GTK 3.24.33 wm: muffin dm: LightDM Distro: Linux Mint 21.2 Victoria base: Ubuntu 22.04 jammy
CPU:
Info: 6-core model: AMD Ryzen 5 3600 bits: 64 type: MT MCP arch: Zen 2 rev: 0 cache: L1: 384 KiB
L2: 3 MiB L3: 32 MiB
Have you tried the 6.2 kernel yet? It's available in Update Manager and might help with this issue.

Instructions for upgrading to the 6.2 kernel:
  • Open Update Manager.
  • Select View > Linux Kernels and click Continue.
  • Make sure 6.2 is selected on the left panel and then click the top-most option on the right panel. An "Install" button will appear.
  • Install the kernel and then reboot for it to become active.
Also, because you do betas for your motherboard, it appears there is a 56f available. (And for Gigabyte, f apparently comes after b. :mrgreen: )

Machine:
Type: Desktop System: Gigabyte product: A320M-S2H v: N/A serial: <superuser required>
Mobo: Gigabyte model: A320M-S2H-CF serial: <superuser required> UEFI: American Megatrends LLC.
v: F56b date: 02/09/2023

I would try the newer kernel first.
Image
A woman typing on a laptop with LM20.3 Cinnamon.
weeple2000
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2021 10:26 pm

Re: Linux mint freezes

Post by weeple2000 »

Thanks, I installed 6.2. I remember trying a new kernel and updating my motherboard bios when I previously looked into the issue. I cannot remember what kernel version I was running at the time, that was before i reinstalled mint.
weeple2000
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2021 10:26 pm

Re: Linux mint freezes

Post by weeple2000 »

I was hopeful because it appeared better at first. Now my computer has been freezing again.
User avatar
Pjotr
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19671
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:18 am
Location: The Netherlands (Holland) 🇳🇱
Contact:

Re: Linux mint freezes

Post by Pjotr »

Try a kernel from an even newer series:
https://easylinuxtipsproject.blogspot.c ... html#ID8.1
(item 8.1)
Tip: 10 things to do after installing Linux Mint 21.3 Virginia
Keep your Linux Mint healthy: Avoid these 10 fatal mistakes
Twitter: twitter.com/easylinuxtips
All in all, horse sense simply makes sense.
User avatar
SMG
Level 25
Level 25
Posts: 30656
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2020 6:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: Linux mint freezes

Post by SMG »

weeple2000 wrote: Sun Nov 26, 2023 2:08 am I was hopeful because it appeared better at first. Now my computer has been freezing again.
What might have changed between when it was better and when it began freezing again?

Is it freezing only when you run certain programs?
Image
A woman typing on a laptop with LM20.3 Cinnamon.
weeple2000
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2021 10:26 pm

Re: Linux mint freezes

Post by weeple2000 »

I'm not confident that this is a software issue. I am debating putting chrome os on this machine to see if the problem persists.

The problem happens when I'm just browsing the web or watching a video on a browser. I'm not doing anything too exciting with my desktop these days. I did try to reproduce the problem by running a benchmark program to overheat the machine but that did not produce the issue previously.

That's why I thought to replace the PSU anyway.
User avatar
SMG
Level 25
Level 25
Posts: 30656
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2020 6:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: Linux mint freezes

Post by SMG »

weeple2000 wrote: Sun Nov 26, 2023 8:22 pm I'm not confident that this is a software issue. I am debating putting chrome os on this machine to see if the problem persists.
Installing a different OS is usually a good way to determine if there is a hardware issue.
weeple2000 wrote: Sun Nov 26, 2023 8:22 pmThe problem happens when I'm just browsing the web or watching a video on a browser. I'm not doing anything too exciting with my desktop these days. I did try to reproduce the problem by running a benchmark program to overheat the machine but that did not produce the issue previously.

That's why I thought to replace the PSU anyway.
I think freezing is more likely to be a memory-related issue (if the problem is hardware). PSU problems are known to make the operating system spontaneously restart.
Image
A woman typing on a laptop with LM20.3 Cinnamon.
weeple2000
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2021 10:26 pm

Re: Linux mint freezes

Post by weeple2000 »

I ran memtest86 for a couple hours. It did one complete pass and a second pass was more than halfway through before I stopped it. No errors were found. I checked my bios, nothing was set for overclocking. My next thought was to increase voltage a bit on the RAM.

edit> this RAM is actually DDR4-3200 CL16-18-18-38 1.35V but I had to select an option to overclock it in the bios to set those specs.
User avatar
SMG
Level 25
Level 25
Posts: 30656
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2020 6:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: Linux mint freezes

Post by SMG »

weeple2000 wrote: Mon Nov 27, 2023 1:32 amedit> this RAM is actually DDR4-3200 CL16-18-18-38 1.35V but I had to select an option to overclock it in the bios to set those specs.
Does this mean the motherboard was not initially reading the memory properly?
Image
A woman typing on a laptop with LM20.3 Cinnamon.
weeple2000
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2021 10:26 pm

Re: Linux mint freezes

Post by weeple2000 »

I am not positive. I had the default option set.

I looked at this video for reference:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aDTS2HNGmyo

In the description it sounds like the same thing was set for their ram:
The Ram is under clocked by default to save energy, if you want to overclock, you need to change the settings in BIOS as shown.
weeple2000
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2021 10:26 pm

Re: Linux mint freezes

Post by weeple2000 »

Well, still freezing. I tried giving the ram some voltage. I tried to check this from Linux using

Code: Select all

dmidecode --type 17
But when I do that it shows 1.2V. That is what the underclock setting in the bios was. I did set it to overclock and then tried increasing voltage from 1.35 to 1.4. It froze again so I went to 1.43. I can view the voltage from the bios. It appears from the bios that the voltage is set to 1.43. When I check with dmidecode it shows 1.2. I am not sure why.
User avatar
SMG
Level 25
Level 25
Posts: 30656
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2020 6:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: Linux mint freezes

Post by SMG »

weeple2000 wrote: Tue Nov 28, 2023 12:25 am I am not positive. I had the default option set.
For what reason did you change the default setting? What problems were you having that you were trying to fix by overclocking the RAM?
weeple2000 wrote: Tue Nov 28, 2023 12:25 amI looked at this video for reference:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aDTS2HNGmyo
They indicate they were using BIOS version F50. You are using a newer version.
weeple2000 wrote: Tue Nov 28, 2023 12:25 amIn the description it sounds like the same thing was set for their ram:

The Ram is under clocked by default to save energy, if you want to overclock, you need to change the settings in BIOS as shown.
That sounds like a reason they made up to justify why they changed it. :?
weeple2000 wrote: Tue Nov 28, 2023 2:20 am Well, still freezing. I tried giving the ram some voltage.
Did you try putting the RAM settings back to the defaults and not tinkering with it?
Image
A woman typing on a laptop with LM20.3 Cinnamon.
weeple2000
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2021 10:26 pm

Re: Linux mint freezes

Post by weeple2000 »

The default was set when I was having the problem before I began troubleshooting.

I think their comment in the description makes sense because my ram wasn't running to spec until I set the option to overclock it. Default was 1.2V and slower timings, the ram was spec'd at 1.35V and timings were different.
User avatar
SMG
Level 25
Level 25
Posts: 30656
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2020 6:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: Linux mint freezes

Post by SMG »

weeple2000 wrote: Tue Nov 28, 2023 3:26 pm The default was set when I was having the problem before I began troubleshooting.
So you changed the settings for RAM and you changed the PSU.

What else did you change?

I am not aware of issues with Linux Mint freezing that were not either related to hardware issues or specific third-party extensions or apps that were installed.
Image
A woman typing on a laptop with LM20.3 Cinnamon.
weeple2000
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2021 10:26 pm

Re: Linux mint freezes

Post by weeple2000 »

I think the only other thing I did was add a PCIe wifi card instead of using a USB one. The PCIe card works a bit better but the USB wifi wasn't causing the freezing.
User avatar
SMG
Level 25
Level 25
Posts: 30656
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2020 6:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: Linux mint freezes

Post by SMG »

weeple2000 wrote: Sun Nov 26, 2023 8:22 pmThe problem happens when I'm just browsing the web or watching a video on a browser.
So the problem happens when you are using web browsers and wifi? That would likely point to GPU/graphics drivers or wifi as possible problem points.

I rechecked your graphics and it appears your GPU (Cape Verde) is GCN1 which means it was the first version which had experimental support for the amdgpu driver. Currently your system is using the older radeon drivers. To switch you will need to add kernel parameters. Maybe that will help with this issue.

The below are the four kernel parameters

Code: Select all

radeon.si_support=0 amdgpu.si_support=1 radeon.cik_support=0 amdgpu.cik_support=1
There is one space between each of the parameters. You can use the following information How to add a kernel parameter to temporarily or permanently add the parameters. When you add them temporarily, they are only added for that current boot cycle, so if, for any reason, they seem to cause issues or do not work, all you need to do is reboot to clear them. If you need more details than that topic provides, just let us know.
Image
A woman typing on a laptop with LM20.3 Cinnamon.
weeple2000
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2021 10:26 pm

Re: Linux mint freezes

Post by weeple2000 »

Thanks, I added the parameters and verified the new driver is present. I was suspecting my graphics card next. I was trying to avoid replacing it because it's an expensive item. The card actually predates this PC build. I had half a mind to pick up an Athlon 200GE to see if the problem would go away with a different graphics option.

Code: Select all

Graphics:
  Device-1: AMD Cape Verde XT [Radeon HD 7770/8760 / R7 250X] vendor: Micro-Star MSI R7770-PMD1GD5
    driver: amdgpu v: kernel pcie: speed: 8 GT/s lanes: 16 ports: active: DVI-I-1,HDMI-A-1
    empty: DP-1 bus-ID: 08:00.0 chip-ID: 1002:683d
  Display: x11 server: X.Org v: 1.21.1.4 driver: X: loaded: amdgpu,ati
    unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,vesa gpu: amdgpu display-ID: :0 screens: 1
  Screen-1: 0 s-res: 3840x1080 s-dpi: 96
  Monitor-1: DVI-I-0 mapped: DVI-I-1 pos: primary,left model: Asus VH238 res: 1920x1080 dpi: 96
    diag: 584mm (23")
  Monitor-2: HDMI-A-0 mapped: HDMI-A-1 pos: right model: HP 27xw res: 1920x1080 dpi: 82
    diag: 686mm (27")
  OpenGL: renderer: AMD Radeon HD 7700 Series (verde LLVM 15.0.7 DRM 3.49 6.2.0-37-generic)
    v: 4.6 Mesa 23.0.4-0ubuntu1~22.04.1 direct render: Yes
Post Reply

Return to “Other topics”