LMDE 6 won't load

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around LMDE as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums within the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Post Reply
danmar
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2023 1:16 pm

LMDE 6 won't load

Post by danmar »

I have taken an old computer which was running and old version of Linux and using a USB drive I installed LMDE 6 64 and 32, the program shows it is installing on the hard drive but when I reboot it says that is not boot-able.
I have tried several times.... using old HDD and then a new ssd. Not boot-able.
what is the secret???
Well.. I just tried Mint. It too won't boot off the hard drive. Could it be the age of the computer 2007, of the bios?
User avatar
MiZoG
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2090
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2018 8:30 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: LMDE 6 won't load

Post by MiZoG »

Hello danmar and welcome to Mint forums
Since you can at least boot into a live session with your installation media, open "System reports", go to "System Information" tab, press the "Copy" button on the bottom right and paste here. We need your system specs as a first step to troubleshoot this.
danmar
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2023 1:16 pm

Re: LMDE 6 won't load

Post by danmar »

Hello, and thanks for the reply.
Here is the system info you asked for
I am new to Linux but enjoy the idea for using something other that windows.

Code: Select all

System:
  Kernel: 5.15.0-76-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 11.3.0 Desktop: Cinnamon 5.8.4
    tk: GTK 3.24.33 wm: muffin dm: LightDM Distro: Linux Mint 21.2 Victoria base: Ubuntu 22.04 jammy
Machine:
  Type: Desktop Mobo: Intel model: DG965RY v: AAD41691-301 serial: <superuser required>
    BIOS: Intel v: MQ96510J.86A.1687.2007.0510.0258 date: 05/10/2007
CPU:
  Info: dual core model: Intel Core2 6600 bits: 64 type: MCP arch: Core Merom rev: 6 cache:
    L1: 128 KiB L2: 4 MiB
  Speed (MHz): avg: 2398 min/max: 1596/2394 cores: 1: 2398 2: 2398 bogomips: 9590
  Flags: ht lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 ssse3
Graphics:
  Device-1: Intel 82G965 Integrated Graphics driver: i915 v: kernel ports: active: VGA-1
    empty: none bus-ID: 00:02.0 chip-ID: 8086:29a2
  Display: x11 server: X.Org v: 1.21.1.4 driver: X: loaded: modesetting unloaded: fbdev,vesa
    gpu: i915 display-ID: :0 screens: 1
  Screen-1: 0 s-res: 1280x1024 s-dpi: 96
  Monitor-1: VGA-1 model: NEC LCD1760NX res: 1280x1024 dpi: 96 diag: 433mm (17")
  OpenGL: renderer: Mesa Intel 965G (BW) v: 2.1 Mesa 22.2.5 direct render: Yes
Audio:
  Device-1: Intel 82801H HD Audio driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
    chip-ID: 8086:284b
  Sound Server-1: ALSA v: k5.15.0-76-generic running: yes
  Sound Server-2: PulseAudio v: 15.99.1 running: yes
  Sound Server-3: PipeWire v: 0.3.48 running: yes
Network:
  Device-1: Intel 82566DC Gigabit Network driver: e1000e v: kernel port: 20c0 bus-ID: 00:19.0
    chip-ID: 8086:104b
  IF: enp0s25 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Drives:
  Local Storage: total: 395.9 GiB used: 13.54 GiB (3.4%)
  ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Western Digital model: WD Green 2.5 240GB size: 223.57 GiB
    speed: 3.0 Gb/s serial: <filter>
  ID-2: /dev/sdb type: USB vendor: SanDisk model: Cruzer Glide size: 114.6 GiB speed: <unknown>
    serial: <filter>
  ID-3: /dev/sdc type: USB vendor: SanDisk model: Cruzer Glide size: 57.73 GiB serial: <filter>
Partition:
  ID-1: / size: 966.9 MiB used: 27.5 MiB (2.8%) fs: overlay source: ERR-102
Swap:
  Alert: No swap data was found.
USB:
  Hub-1: 1-0:1 info: Full speed or root hub ports: 4 rev: 2.0 speed: 480 Mb/s chip-ID: 1d6b:0002
  Hub-2: 2-0:1 info: Full speed or root hub ports: 6 rev: 2.0 speed: 480 Mb/s chip-ID: 1d6b:0002
  Device-1: 2-5:2 info: SanDisk Cruzer Glide type: Mass Storage driver: usb-storage rev: 2.0
    speed: 480 Mb/s chip-ID: 0781:5575
  Device-2: 2-6:3 info: SanDisk Cruzer Glide type: Mass Storage driver: usb-storage rev: 2.0
    speed: 480 Mb/s chip-ID: 0781:5575
  Hub-3: 3-0:1 info: Full speed or root hub ports: 2 rev: 1.1 speed: 12 Mb/s chip-ID: 1d6b:0001
  Hub-4: 4-0:1 info: Full speed or root hub ports: 2 rev: 1.1 speed: 12 Mb/s chip-ID: 1d6b:0001
  Hub-5: 5-0:1 info: Full speed or root hub ports: 2 rev: 1.1 speed: 12 Mb/s chip-ID: 1d6b:0001
  Hub-6: 6-0:1 info: Full speed or root hub ports: 2 rev: 1.1 speed: 12 Mb/s chip-ID: 1d6b:0001
  Hub-7: 7-0:1 info: Full speed or root hub ports: 2 rev: 1.1 speed: 12 Mb/s chip-ID: 1d6b:0001
Sensors:
  System Temperatures: cpu: 78.0 C mobo: N/A
  Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A
Repos:
  Packages: apt: 2113
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list
    1: deb cdrom:[Linux Mint 21.2 _Victoria_ - Release amd64 20230711]/ jammy main
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/official-package-repositories.list
    1: deb http: //packages.linuxmint.com victoria main upstream import backport
    2: deb http: //archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu jammy main restricted universe multiverse
    3: deb http: //archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu jammy-updates main restricted universe multiverse
    4: deb http: //archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu jammy-backports main restricted universe multiverse
    5: deb http: //security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ jammy-security main restricted universe multiverse
Info:
  Processes: 198 Uptime: 2m Memory: 1.89 GiB used: 920.1 MiB (47.6%) Init: systemd v: 249
  runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 11.3.0 alt: 11/12 Client: Unknown python3.10 client inxi: 3.3.13
Last edited by SMG on Thu Nov 30, 2023 9:52 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Added code tags to inxi output to preserve its formatting making it easier to read.
User avatar
MiZoG
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2090
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2018 8:30 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: LMDE 6 won't load

Post by MiZoG »

Well, this is main edition's installation media and not LMDE's.
There is a known quirk in main edition's installer inherited from its base-system, Ubuntu 22.04, affecting "legacy" systems like yours.
AndyMH has posted a complete guide on their site to deal with that.

However, I understand, you had the same problem with LMDE 32bit and LMDE 64bit installation media already. I believe, but I'm not absolutely certain about it, that LMDE installer is not affected by the above mentioned "bug".

Since you say you cannot boot into your freshly installed system either in an old hdd or in a new ssd, check device boot priorities in bios settings.
Make sure that the drive with Mint is the first in your boot sequence.

A few details to clarify: How did you create the installation media? Rufus, Ventoy, Mint USB image writer?
What's the current OS of this machine?

Edit: You'd rather go for Mint Xfce with this hardware.
danmar
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2023 1:16 pm

Re: LMDE 6 won't load

Post by danmar »

High again, well, things aren't going well with this project
just some back ground on me... my first computer was a commodore 64, then a Tandy 1000, then and hp all in one, with windows 7... updated to 10.
the hard drive in this hp was failing so I upgraded to an ssd. runs real fast now. oh and I am old... 77.
I have been trying to put these new programs on the older computer which had been running Ubuntu and booted fine. don't remember how I installed it but it was running well. I have put Linux on an old laptop without any problem... running Mint.
I used Ventoy on a usb stick. I was thinking that Ventoy could be the problem as well as the new versions of LMDE 6 and Mint.
I have tried Rufus in the past. never heard of the MINT xfce.
I am, as I type, formatting the back to clean the SSD. and will be formatting the computers original drive back to new. I am using the old hard drive from my HP with windows 10 on it to run for now.... but it is real slow.
Thanks for your info and help. I really need it on this.
danmar
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2023 1:16 pm

Re: LMDE 6 won't load

Post by danmar »

MiZoG ,
Well after hitting my head on the computer several times.... like magic... I now have Mint, and LMDE 6 on the old hard drive, and all seems to work wonderfully. I used a CD to install Mint, after it rebooted I used disk manager to mount the drive with LMDE 6. now it is a duel boot system...
I am using this computer right now... now its just a matter of time to get it set up the way I want.
Thank you for all your help and support.
Dan
Post Reply

Return to “Beginner Questions”