And another one gets put on my refuse to use list !!!

Chat about just about anything else
Forum rules
Do not post support questions here. Before you post read the forum rules. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 30 days after creation.
User avatar
coffee412
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2344
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 7:38 pm
Location: I dont know
Contact:

Re: And another one gets put on my refuse to use list !!!

Post by coffee412 »

I guess we can add another reason to use REAL open source software eh?
Ryzen x1800 Asus Prime x370-Pro 32 gigs Ram RX480 graphics
Dell PE T610, Dell PE T710
- List your hardware Profile: inxi -Fxpmrz
MeshCentral * Virtualbox * Debian * InvoiceNinja * NextCloud * Linux since kernel 2.0.36
User avatar
TaterChip
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 705
Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2023 12:34 pm
Location: Everywhere USA

Re: And another one gets put on my refuse to use list !!!

Post by TaterChip »

coffee412 wrote: Thu Mar 14, 2024 4:46 pm I guess we can add another reason to use REAL open source software eh?
Every piece of software I use on a daily basis is FOSS.
When it comes to your data... two is one, one is none!
User avatar
coffee412
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2344
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 7:38 pm
Location: I dont know
Contact:

Re: And another one gets put on my refuse to use list !!!

Post by coffee412 »

TaterChip wrote: Thu Mar 14, 2024 7:35 pm
coffee412 wrote: Thu Mar 14, 2024 4:46 pm I guess we can add another reason to use REAL open source software eh?
Every piece of software I use on a daily basis is FOSS.
Me too. I do donate to some FOSS though.

Had one of my business clients email me and they have to have Adobe. Their going to be shocked because its all subscription now. To beat you to the punch, No they have to do adobe for their business. Me, I use whatever. :)
Ryzen x1800 Asus Prime x370-Pro 32 gigs Ram RX480 graphics
Dell PE T610, Dell PE T710
- List your hardware Profile: inxi -Fxpmrz
MeshCentral * Virtualbox * Debian * InvoiceNinja * NextCloud * Linux since kernel 2.0.36
User avatar
TaterChip
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 705
Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2023 12:34 pm
Location: Everywhere USA

Re: And another one gets put on my refuse to use list !!!

Post by TaterChip »

coffee412 wrote: Thu Mar 14, 2024 7:43 pm
TaterChip wrote: Thu Mar 14, 2024 7:35 pm
coffee412 wrote: Thu Mar 14, 2024 4:46 pm I guess we can add another reason to use REAL open source software eh?
Every piece of software I use on a daily basis is FOSS.
Me too. I do donate to some FOSS though.

Had one of my business clients email me and they have to have Adobe. Their going to be shocked because its all subscription now. To beat you to the punch, No they have to do adobe for their business. Me, I use whatever. :)
No beating me to the punch, I used to use Adobe. I stuck with Photoshop CS6, and Lightroom 3 for a long time after they went subscription based. Eventually I started playing around with Affinity Photo (also paid). When I made the decision to move to Linux, I started learning Gimp and Darktable.

I'm of the opinion now, that if a company is mandating the use of high dollar software then the company should have to foot the bill.
When it comes to your data... two is one, one is none!
User avatar
Pierre
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13271
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:33 am
Location: Perth, AU.

Re: And another one gets put on my refuse to use list !!!

Post by Pierre »

as always it's an great product untill it goes downhill
- again because of financial costs -
the WPS Office - windows version, was an great product, just a few years ago,
but now, they, are also now the gotta be - online to use their Product - - Read - Signed In - -

there is Not too many products, these days, that will let you Stay Off-line,
- whilst you are using their product.
- - Read - - tracking you - -
:arrow:
Image
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.
User avatar
TaterChip
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 705
Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2023 12:34 pm
Location: Everywhere USA

Re: And another one gets put on my refuse to use list !!!

Post by TaterChip »

Pierre wrote: Fri Mar 15, 2024 10:30 am as always it's an great product untill it goes downhill
- again because of financial costs -
the WPS Office - windows version, was an great product, just a few years ago,
but now, they, are also now the gotta be - online to use their Product - - Read - Signed In - -

there is Not too many products, these days, that will let you Stay Off-line,
- whilst you are using their product.
- - Read - - tracking you - -
:arrow:
One more reason I prefer LibreOffice. I'm getting sick of all these companies feeling like they have a right to track everything we do.
When it comes to your data... two is one, one is none!
User avatar
BG405
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2517
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2016 3:09 pm
Location: England

Re: And another one gets put on my refuse to use list !!!

Post by BG405 »

TaterChip wrote: Fri Mar 15, 2024 9:56 am I'm of the opinion now, that if a company is mandating the use of high dollar software then the company should have to foot the bill.
Exactly !!!

I'd also expect them to supply a machine if the s/w also requires a proprietary OS in order to ruin it. ←oops should I have typed "run"?
Dell Inspiron 1525 - LM17.3 CE 64-------------------Lenovo T440 - Manjaro KDE with Mint VMs
Toshiba NB250 - Manjaro KDE------------------------Acer Aspire One D255E - LM21.3 Xfce
Acer Aspire E11 ES1-111M - LM18.2 KDE 64 ----Two ROMS don't make a WRITE
User avatar
Lady Fitzgerald
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5920
Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2020 3:12 pm
Location: AZ, SSA (Squabbling States of America)

Re: And another one gets put on my refuse to use list !!!

Post by Lady Fitzgerald »

BG405 wrote: Fri Mar 15, 2024 6:55 pm ...←oops should I have typed "run"?
Nope, you had it right the first time. :wink:
Jeannie

To ensure the safety of your data, you have to be proactive, not reactive, so, back it up!
User avatar
coffee412
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2344
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 7:38 pm
Location: I dont know
Contact:

Re: And another one gets put on my refuse to use list !!!

Post by coffee412 »

TaterChip wrote: Fri Mar 15, 2024 9:56 am
coffee412 wrote: Thu Mar 14, 2024 7:43 pm
TaterChip wrote: Thu Mar 14, 2024 7:35 pm

Every piece of software I use on a daily basis is FOSS.
I'm of the opinion now, that if a company is mandating the use of high dollar software then the company should have to foot the bill.
I feel the same way. I have a law firm client that is full of 'total computer illiterates'. They are of the mind set that they MUST have Adobe and be like all the others (others meaning other lawfirms). To give you an idea what I have to deal with on an almost weekly basis:

-----------------------------------------------------------
User: Can you change my login password to windows to 'sla;fljaf'
Me: Please do not put your login credentials in emails. Especially this yahoo account. Why are you not using the company email?
User: Oh, Sorry. Then change it to 'adufopad' will you? I am using my yahoo account because I do not like <insert email client>.
Me: Just let me call you. Please use the company email also.
User: BTW, I cannot see any of the shares on the server.
Me: Did you change anything on your computer?
User: Only thing I did was change my password.
Me: There is no reason to change your password. The server needs your old password in order to access the shares.
-------------------------------------------------------------
Ryzen x1800 Asus Prime x370-Pro 32 gigs Ram RX480 graphics
Dell PE T610, Dell PE T710
- List your hardware Profile: inxi -Fxpmrz
MeshCentral * Virtualbox * Debian * InvoiceNinja * NextCloud * Linux since kernel 2.0.36
User avatar
AndyMH
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13859
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 5:23 pm
Location: Wiltshire

Re: And another one gets put on my refuse to use list !!!

Post by AndyMH »

coffee412 wrote: Sat Mar 16, 2024 7:50 am I feel the same way.
Required reading:
https://www.reddit.com/r/talesfromtechsupport/
Thinkcentre M720Q - LM21.3 cinnamon, 4 x T430 - LM21.3 cinnamon, Homebrew desktop i5-8400+GTX1080 Cinnamon 19.0
User avatar
coffee412
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2344
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 7:38 pm
Location: I dont know
Contact:

Re: And another one gets put on my refuse to use list !!!

Post by coffee412 »

AndyMH wrote: Sat Mar 16, 2024 8:37 am
coffee412 wrote: Sat Mar 16, 2024 7:50 am I feel the same way.
Required reading:
https://www.reddit.com/r/talesfromtechsupport/
Yes, Havent been there in some time. Once many years ago working on a AS/400 system I had to replace a drive in a rather large factory that made Sauder furniture. I had issues locating the drive as they had the expansion box connected and none of the 'light path' (plastic light indicators) were off. I checked the main one and there it was. So, I started the procedure and when I yanked the drive the whole factory came to a sudden stop. What happened is that the light path was missing from that drive bay so there was no "Active" light. I caught hell for that but I really think I was setup. I ended up leaving the company shortly afterwards.
Ryzen x1800 Asus Prime x370-Pro 32 gigs Ram RX480 graphics
Dell PE T610, Dell PE T710
- List your hardware Profile: inxi -Fxpmrz
MeshCentral * Virtualbox * Debian * InvoiceNinja * NextCloud * Linux since kernel 2.0.36
Newbie221
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2024 3:33 pm

Re: And another one gets put on my refuse to use list !!!

Post by Newbie221 »

TaterChip wrote: Thu Mar 14, 2024 7:35 pm
Every piece of software I use on a daily basis is FOSS.

I use to just grab whatever I needed without giving any thought to it ! That has changed !



Thanks for your time
Newbie221
Newbie221
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2024 3:33 pm

Re: And another one gets put on my refuse to use list !!!

Post by Newbie221 »

Pierre wrote: Fri Mar 15, 2024 10:30 am as always it's an great product untill it goes downhill

the WPS Office - windows version, was an great product, just a few years ago,

What I liked most about it was the fact I could look up MS Excel how too's to figure out how to do things. Occasionally there would be minor differences but easy enough to figure out how to accomplish the task.



Thanks for your time
Newbie221
MintMagoo
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2024 6:05 am

Re: And another one gets put on my refuse to use list !!!

Post by MintMagoo »

coffee412 wrote: Mon Mar 11, 2024 8:49 pm I hear you loud and clear on the *ull*hit that is happening in the software world.

Just today I had to setup a new laptop for a client that had win11pro on it. During the first boot up it refused to go any further in the setup until I put it online to the internet. On win10 I could just select "I do not have internet". However, Now it seems win11 does not offer that. So, I had to get it online. Then it was trying to force me to create a MS account. Finally after fiddling around with it I found that if you select domain login you can create the local account and finish the setup.

Its a real pile of *hit.

I honestly feel bad for people that are not up on all this and just trying to use a new laptop. They end up creating a MS account and then of course never remember their login. Then MS goes into their Office365 and Edge dance. Its really a sick experience. I wanted to vomit.
In the future if you have to do this:

Hit Shift+F10 for command prompt

oobe/bypassnro

Some times it seems you have to:

cd oobe

then:
bypassnro

Also if you use Autounattend you can skip it using:

Code: Select all

<HideWirelessSetupInOOBE>true</HideWirelessSetupInOOBE>
In the ooebSystem pass like this:

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<unattend xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:unattend">
    <settings pass="specialize">
        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
            <InputLocale>en-US</InputLocale>
            <SystemLocale>en-US</SystemLocale>
            <UILanguage>en-US</UILanguage>
            <UILanguageFallback>en-US</UILanguageFallback>
            <UserLocale>en-US</UserLocale>
        </component>
        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
            <Display>
                <ColorDepth>32</ColorDepth>
                <HorizontalResolution>1920</HorizontalResolution>
                <RefreshRate>60</RefreshRate>
                <VerticalResolution>1080</VerticalResolution>
            </Display>
		<!-- <CopyProfile>true</CopyProfile>  -->
            <BluetoothTaskbarIconEnabled>true</BluetoothTaskbarIconEnabled>
           <!--  <ComputerName>CustomComputerNameHere</ComputerName -->>
		   <!-- <TimeZone>Eastern Standard Time</TimeZone> -->
        </component>
        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-RemoteAssistance-Exe" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
            <fAllowFullControl>false</fAllowFullControl>
            <fAllowToGetHelp>false</fAllowToGetHelp>
            <fEnableChatControl>false</fEnableChatControl>
        </component>
        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-SystemRestore-Main" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
            <DisableSR>1</DisableSR>
        </component>
        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Security-SPP-UX" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
            <SkipAutoActivation>true</SkipAutoActivation>
        </component>
        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-ErrorReportingCore" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
            <DefaultConsent>1</DefaultConsent>
            <DisableWER>1</DisableWER>
        </component>
    </settings>
    <settings pass="oobeSystem">
        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
            <InputLocale>en-US</InputLocale>
            <SystemLocale>en-US</SystemLocale>
            <UILanguage>en-US</UILanguage>
            <UILanguageFallback>en-US</UILanguageFallback>
            <UserLocale>en-US</UserLocale>
        </component>
        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
            <Display>
                <ColorDepth>32</ColorDepth>
                <HorizontalResolution>1920</HorizontalResolution>
                <RefreshRate>60</RefreshRate>
                <VerticalResolution>1080</VerticalResolution>
            </Display>
            <UserAccounts>
                <LocalAccounts>
                    <LocalAccount wcm:action="add">
                        <Password>
                            <Value>UABhAHMAcwB3AG8AcgBkAA==</Value>
                            <PlainText>false</PlainText>
                        </Password>
                        <DisplayName>UserNameHere</DisplayName>
                        <Group>Administrators</Group>
                        <Name>UserNameHere</Name>
                    </LocalAccount>
                </LocalAccounts>
            </UserAccounts>
            <OOBE>
                <HideEULAPage>true</HideEULAPage>
                <HideLocalAccountScreen>true</HideLocalAccountScreen>
                <HideOEMRegistrationScreen>true</HideOEMRegistrationScreen>
                <HideOnlineAccountScreens>true</HideOnlineAccountScreens>
                <HideWirelessSetupInOOBE>true</HideWirelessSetupInOOBE>
                <ProtectYourPC>3</ProtectYourPC>
                <UnattendEnableRetailDemo>false</UnattendEnableRetailDemo>
            </OOBE>
            <DesktopOptimization>
                <ShowWindowsStoreAppsOnTaskbar>false</ShowWindowsStoreAppsOnTaskbar>
                <GoToDesktopOnSignIn>true</GoToDesktopOnSignIn>
            </DesktopOptimization>
            <WindowsFeatures>
                <ShowInternetExplorer>false</ShowInternetExplorer>
                <ShowMediaCenter>false</ShowMediaCenter>
                <ShowWindowsMediaPlayer>true</ShowWindowsMediaPlayer>
            </WindowsFeatures>
            <BluetoothTaskbarIconEnabled>true</BluetoothTaskbarIconEnabled>
            <DisableAutoDaylightTimeSet>false</DisableAutoDaylightTimeSet>
        </component>
        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-SecureStartup-FilterDriver" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
            <PreventDeviceEncryption>true</PreventDeviceEncryption>
        </component>
    </settings>
    <settings pass="windowsPE">
        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core-WinPE" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
            <SetupUILanguage>
                <UILanguage>en-US</UILanguage>
            </SetupUILanguage>
            <UILanguage>en-US</UILanguage>
            <InputLocale>en-US</InputLocale>
            <SystemLocale>en-US</SystemLocale>
            <UILanguageFallback>en-US</UILanguageFallback>
            <UserLocale>en-US</UserLocale>
        </component>
        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Setup" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
            <Diagnostics>
                <OptIn>false</OptIn>
            </Diagnostics>
            <DiskConfiguration>
                <WillShowUI>Always</WillShowUI>
            </DiskConfiguration>
            <Display>
                <ColorDepth>32</ColorDepth>
                <HorizontalResolution>1920</HorizontalResolution>
                <RefreshRate>60</RefreshRate>
                <VerticalResolution>1080</VerticalResolution>
            </Display>
            <ImageInstall>
                <OSImage>
                    <InstallFrom>
                        <MetaData wcm:action="add">
                            <Key>/IMAGE/INDEX</Key>
                            <Value>6</Value>
                        </MetaData>
                    </InstallFrom>
                    <InstallToAvailablePartition>false</InstallToAvailablePartition>
                    <WillShowUI>OnError</WillShowUI>
                </OSImage>
            </ImageInstall>
            <UserData>
                <ProductKey>
                    <Key>VK7JG-NPHTM-C97JM-9MPGT-3V66T</Key>
                    <WillShowUI>OnError</WillShowUI>
                </ProductKey>
                <AcceptEula>true</AcceptEula>
            </UserData>
            <EnableFirewall>true</EnableFirewall>
        </component>
    </settings>
    <cpi:offlineImage cpi:source="wim:d:/wims/install_2004_x64_windows%2010%20pro/install_2004_x64.wim#Windows 10 Pro" xmlns:cpi="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:cpi" />
</unattend>
Note: Example for W10//11 pro on standard install, for other versions product key and index value need to be changed.
MintMagoo
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2024 6:05 am

Re: And another one gets put on my refuse to use list !!!

Post by MintMagoo »

Newbie221 wrote: Mon Mar 11, 2024 10:23 pm
diyliberty wrote: Mon Mar 11, 2024 7:56 pm If you need a cloud hosted apps, you could try self hosting it with an open source solution such as Nextcloud. It will take some setup but in the end you own everything so no EULA rufies.
Thank you for the suggestion.
I've been considering a localized cloud solution that runs off my wifi router. However I don't think I want a drive hooked up and running 24/7.
I've also been looking at Syncthing.
If all fails I'll just start carrying a thumb drive.



Thanks for your time
Newbie221
Exactly what I did, a steel 35gb thumb drive attached to my key-chain.
MintMagoo
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2024 6:05 am

Re: And another one gets put on my refuse to use list !!!

Post by MintMagoo »

I've been able to find a way to get things done on Mint instead of windows including a trading app. For everything critical as good as windows if not better.

Some issues with S.M.A.R.T., but that is really due to hardware manufacturers and not linux and have found good workarounds.

A battery charger app that is not critical, barley used and can be run on a VM that will never need to go online.

EVOLV chip tweeker/monitor, also can use on VM and never go online, also will be no longer be buying new EVOLV chips.

Macrium Rescue, that I will be keeping. Never goes online, booted offline from thumb drive, can backup and restore linux efi, root, home, swap in about 2 minutes with great compression. Extremely reliable.

Because MS has forced manufacturers into complying with "precision" touch-pads they still have the ability to make me miserable, but the issue exists in windows as well as linux.

Man do I hate MS.
User avatar
AndyMH
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13859
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 5:23 pm
Location: Wiltshire

Re: And another one gets put on my refuse to use list !!!

Post by AndyMH »

MintMagoo wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 8:47 am Macrium Rescue, that I will be keeping. Never goes online, booted offline from thumb drive, can backup and restore linux efi, root, home, swap in about 2 minutes with great compression. Extremely reliable.
There are linux alternatives, foxclone, rescuezilla, clonezilla. I'm the foxclone dev.
Thinkcentre M720Q - LM21.3 cinnamon, 4 x T430 - LM21.3 cinnamon, Homebrew desktop i5-8400+GTX1080 Cinnamon 19.0
MintMagoo
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2024 6:05 am

Re: And another one gets put on my refuse to use list !!!

Post by MintMagoo »

I'll give it a try when I get a chance. Does it handle NTFS too? Just that MR has been so dependable and the compression and speed are really good. Do you have a link to good instructions on creation and use?
User avatar
AndyMH
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13859
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 5:23 pm
Location: Wiltshire

Re: And another one gets put on my refuse to use list !!!

Post by AndyMH »

Yes, they all do. Foxclone:

https://foxclone.org/

Read the user guide. My recommendation now for putting it on a stick would be to use ventoy and I must update the guide to better reflect that. A "how to" on ventoy:
viewtopic.php?p=2389786&hilit=ventoy#p2389786

It's probably five years since I last looked at macrium. I did find it extremely slow to boot off a stick, as in go and get a coffee while you are waiting. You may have paid for it, I know they stopped doing the free version.
Thinkcentre M720Q - LM21.3 cinnamon, 4 x T430 - LM21.3 cinnamon, Homebrew desktop i5-8400+GTX1080 Cinnamon 19.0
User avatar
Lady Fitzgerald
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5920
Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2020 3:12 pm
Location: AZ, SSA (Squabbling States of America)

Re: And another one gets put on my refuse to use list !!!

Post by Lady Fitzgerald »

MintMagoo wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 11:03 am I'll give it a try when I get a chance. Does it handle NTFS too?...
I believe so but someone else will have to verify that.

MintMagoo wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 11:03 am ...Just that MR has been so dependable and the compression and speed are really good...
I agree; I used to use it back in the bad old days when I was still using (shudder) Windows. However, Foxclone is every bit as good, if not a bit better. Rescuezilla is another good one but it doesn't have the incredible support here that Foxclone does.

One tendency of new Linux users is to want to cling to their old windows programs which is understandable. However, for the best experience in Linux, it's generally a good idea to wean one's self away from depending on their old Window's programs whenever possible and find new Linux programs that can accomplish what the old Windows only programs did or work out new workflows to accomplish the same task. Usually, it won't happen overnight but it's worth the effort.

MintMagoo wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 11:03 am ...Do you have a link to good instructions on creation and use?
https://foxclone.org/uguide.html You can read it online and/or download it (look for the download icon near the upper right hand corner of the screen).
Jeannie

To ensure the safety of your data, you have to be proactive, not reactive, so, back it up!
Locked

Return to “Open Chat”