Wayland - black screen, and then can't run Cinnamon

Questions about the experimental Wayland support on Linux Mint Cinnamon
Forum rules
Include your system information for help with troubleshooting. Report reproducible issues related to Wayland, whether for Cinnamon, an XApp, a Mint tool or any Linux Mint maintained software on the dedicated issue tracker. Topics in this forum are automatically closed after 6 months.
wujastyk
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 12:56 pm

Wayland - black screen, and then can't run Cinnamon

Post by wujastyk »

Cinnamon 6.0.4 tk: GTK 3.24.33, wm: muffin vt: 7 dm: LightDM 1.30.0 Distro: Linux Mint 21.3 Virginia base. Everything up to date. Thinkpad T580.

I tried Wayland and got a black screen. Nothing. So I switched off and then on. Tried to log in normally to Cinnamon, but no luck. I get the session login prompt and appear to have a good login. But then I have a screen that shows only the background. No icons, no panel. No response to any keyboard or mouse commands.

I have tried the fix mentioned in "Wayland Read this first" (viewtopic.php?t=411761). My system doesn't have a lightdm.conf file in /etc/lightdm. It has just a slick-greeter.conf and users.conf, and in /etc/lightdm/lightdm.confḍ there is a file 70-linuxmint.conf.
None of these files has any lines about autologin.

Any suggestions?
User avatar
SMG
Level 25
Level 25
Posts: 33018
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2020 6:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: Wayland - black screen, and then can't run Cinnamon

Post by SMG »

wujastyk wrote: Tue Mar 26, 2024 9:22 pmAny suggestions?
Do you have a Timeshift snapshot of your system when it was working?

I don't know why your install is missing that file. Was this a fresh install of LM21.3 or was it an in-place upgrade from a prior version?
Image
A woman typing on a laptop with LM20.3 Cinnamon.
wujastyk
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 12:56 pm

Re: Wayland - black screen, and then can't run Cinnamon

Post by wujastyk »

Yes, I do have a Timeshift backup. One from earlier today, and one from a week ago.
I ran "timeshift --restore" and accepted the defaults right up to the step about GRUB location. I wasn't sure what to choose, but in the event, whatever I chose and even if I aborted, I got "segmentation fault".

My system is an in-place upgrade from a prior version.

Thanks for thinking about this!
Dom
User avatar
SMG
Level 25
Level 25
Posts: 33018
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2020 6:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: Wayland - black screen, and then can't run Cinnamon

Post by SMG »

wujastyk wrote: Wed Mar 27, 2024 12:04 amI ran "timeshift --restore" and accepted the defaults right up to the step about GRUB location.
You ran that on your install or from the live session?

I'm not familiar with "segmentation faults" when running Timeshift. I have no guesses why that might happen.
wujastyk wrote: Wed Mar 27, 2024 12:04 amMy system is an in-place upgrade from a prior version.
You don't have a snapshot of the prior version?

Can you boot to a live session using an install usb so you can run fsck on the install? By running from the live session, you can unmount the install to fix if any errors are found.
How to Use fsck Command to Check and Repair Filesystem
Image
A woman typing on a laptop with LM20.3 Cinnamon.
wujastyk
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 12:56 pm

Re: Wayland - black screen, and then can't run Cinnamon

Post by wujastyk »

I booted from a USB and ran fsck. No faults or problems. The disks are fine.
wujastyk
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 12:56 pm

Re: Wayland - black screen, and then can't run Cinnamon

Post by wujastyk »

From an alt-ctrl-F4 CLI session I have installed MATE and this gives me an alternative login option that works just fine. At least I can now get on with work. But I still want to reinstate Cinnamon functionality.
User avatar
SMG
Level 25
Level 25
Posts: 33018
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2020 6:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: Wayland - black screen, and then can't run Cinnamon

Post by SMG »

wujastyk wrote: Wed Mar 27, 2024 3:33 pm I booted from a USB and ran fsck. No faults or problems. The disks are fine.
fsck checks the filesystem integrity.
wujastyk wrote: Wed Mar 27, 2024 4:47 pm From an alt-ctrl-F4 CLI session I have installed MATE and this gives me an alternative login option that works just fine. At least I can now get on with work. But I still want to reinstate Cinnamon functionality.
So you are seeing in the login drop-down the options for Cinnamon X11, Cinnamon Wayland, Cinnamon software rendering, and MATE?

Is your system still missing the lightdm.conf file?
What do you see in the Login Window app about login (on the Users tab) ?
Image
A woman typing on a laptop with LM20.3 Cinnamon.
wujastyk
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 12:56 pm

Re: Wayland - black screen, and then can't run Cinnamon

Post by wujastyk »

yes, I ran fsck. I should have said. No disk problems.

Yes, I am seeing the login drop-down the options for Cinnamon X11, Cinnamon Wayland, Cinnamon software rendering, and MATE. Exactly.

No, my system has /etc/init/lightdm.conf and also /etc/init/lightdm. I have checked both and they are identical to the same files on another working Cinnamon box that I have.

I'm not sure what you mean about what I see "in the Login Window app about login (on the Users tab)".
User avatar
SMG
Level 25
Level 25
Posts: 33018
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2020 6:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: Wayland - black screen, and then can't run Cinnamon

Post by SMG »

wujastyk wrote: Wed Mar 27, 2024 11:09 pmNo, my system has /etc/init/lightdm.conf and also /etc/init/lightdm. I have checked both and they are identical to the same files on another working Cinnamon box that I have.
My system has those files in addition to the other one mentioned earlier in this topic.
wujastyk wrote: Wed Mar 27, 2024 11:09 pmI'm not sure what you mean about what I see "in the Login Window app about login (on the Users tab)".
It's my understanding the Login Window app is a GUI to be able to configure lightdm-settings and is a Linux Mint app (and not specific to any one desktop environment). It works in conjunction with slick-greeter. Do you not have a Login Window app on your install?

Are you using some type of customized login or bootloader program or ssh program that might have changed your install?
Image
A woman typing on a laptop with LM20.3 Cinnamon.
wujastyk
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 12:56 pm

Re: Wayland - black screen, and then can't run Cinnamon

Post by wujastyk »

"Are you using some type of customized login or bootloader program or ssh program that might have changed your install?" -- No, a completely standard Cinnamon installation. Nothing fancy, all defaults.

The lightdm-settings program controls various, mostly cosmetic, settings for the login screen. Yes, I have it, yes, I've tried changing some settings, but no luck.

lightdm itself has a test mode ("lightdm --test-mode"). That opens a static sample login window. But that's all. Running lightdm as root under sudo reports "Failed to use bus name org.freedesktop.DisplayManager, do you have appropriate permissions?" I've been looking at the meaning of that message and solutions, but nothing conclusive yet.

I feel sure this is something simple; just a tweak to some config file somewhere that Wayland trashed. ...
User avatar
SMG
Level 25
Level 25
Posts: 33018
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2020 6:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: Wayland - black screen, and then can't run Cinnamon

Post by SMG »

wujastyk wrote: Tue Mar 26, 2024 9:22 pmI tried Wayland and got a black screen. Nothing. So I switched off and then on. Tried to log in normally to Cinnamon, but no luck. I get the session login prompt and appear to have a good login. But then I have a screen that shows only the background. No icons, no panel. No response to any keyboard or mouse commands.
If you get the session prompt and have a good login, then logging in is not the problem. A proper Cinnamon desktop loading is the problem.

The Cinnamon desktop loads when using Wayland so perhaps you switching off the computer rather than doing a controlled shutdown caused a problem.

I don't see where you have provided any information about your install. Please open the System Reports app and click the System Information tab on the left. Your computer's information should come up in the right pane. Then click the Copy button in the lower right and paste the results into a reply window here so we can see how Linux Mint views your hardware. It's fine to use MATE.

I want to see if I might be able to get an idea why you had a black screen when you tried Wayland. That is not happening for others.
Image
A woman typing on a laptop with LM20.3 Cinnamon.
wujastyk
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 12:56 pm

Re: Wayland - black screen, and then can't run Cinnamon

Post by wujastyk »

I have clawed my way back to a working Cinnamon session, but it's still very much a kludge. From MATE I added `cinnamon --replace` and `nemo-desktop` to the list of Startup Applications. Now, I can log in to Cinnamon and get a working session. First, I see the empty unresponsive desktop; then after a second when the above commands run, the desktop is populated from `~/Desktop` and I get a panel and mouse control. But in most respects the session has forgotten my themes, panel items, etc.

Somehow, trying Wayland smashed my Cinnamon installation. While I'm sort of back, it really isn't a stable, satisfactory situation.
wujastyk
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 12:56 pm

Re: Wayland - black screen, and then can't run Cinnamon

Post by wujastyk »

The Cinnamon desktop loads when using Wayland so perhaps you switching off the computer rather than doing a controlled shutdown caused a problem.
Yes, exactly right.


Here's my install information:

Code: Select all

System:
  Kernel: 6.5.0-26-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: N/A Desktop: Cinnamon 6.0.4 tk: GTK 3.24.33
    wm: muffin vt: 7 dm: LightDM 1.30.0 Distro: Linux Mint 21.3 Virginia base: Ubuntu 22.04 jammy
Machine:
  Type: Laptop System: LENOVO product: 20LAS6XR00 v: ThinkPad T580 serial: <superuser required>
    Chassis: type: 10 serial: <superuser required>
  Mobo: LENOVO model: 20LAS6XR00 v: SDK0J40709 WIN serial: <superuser required> UEFI: LENOVO
    v: N27ET51W (1.37 ) date: 08/22/2023
Battery:
  ID-1: BAT0 charge: 22.0 Wh (79.7%) condition: 27.6/32.0 Wh (86.3%) volts: 16.0 min: 15.3
    model: SMP 00UR891 type: Li-poly serial: <filter> status: Not charging cycles: 56
  ID-2: BAT1 charge: 17.9 Wh (79.2%) condition: 22.6/24.0 Wh (94.0%) volts: 12.1 min: 11.5
    model: SMP 01AV459 type: Li-poly serial: <filter> status: Not charging cycles: 105
CPU:
  Info: quad core model: Intel Core i5-8250U bits: 64 type: MT MCP smt: enabled arch: Coffee Lake
    rev: A cache: L1: 256 KiB L2: 1024 KiB L3: 6 MiB
  Speed (MHz): avg: 2300 min/max: 400/3400 cores: 1: 2300 2: 2300 3: 2300 4: 2300 5: 2300
    6: 2300 7: 2300 8: 2300 bogomips: 28800
  Flags: avx avx2 ht lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx
Graphics:
  Device-1: Intel UHD Graphics 620 vendor: Lenovo driver: i915 v: kernel ports: active: eDP-1
    empty: DP-1, DP-2, HDMI-A-1, HDMI-A-2 bus-ID: 00:02.0 chip-ID: 8086:5917 class-ID: 0300
  Device-2: Acer SunplusIT Integrated Camera type: USB driver: uvcvideo bus-ID: 1-8:5
    chip-ID: 5986:2113 class-ID: 0e02
  Display: x11 server: X.Org v: 1.21.1.4 driver: X: loaded: modesetting unloaded: fbdev,vesa
    gpu: i915 display-ID: :0 screens: 1
  Screen-1: 0 s-res: 1920x1080 s-dpi: 96 s-size: 508x285mm (20.0x11.2") s-diag: 582mm (22.9")
  Monitor-1: eDP-1 model: Lenovo res: 1920x1080 hz: 60 dpi: 142 size: 344x194mm (13.5x7.6")
    diag: 395mm (15.5") modes: 1920x1080
  OpenGL: renderer: Mesa Intel UHD Graphics 620 (KBL GT2) v: 4.6 Mesa 23.2.1-1ubuntu3.1~22.04.2
    direct render: Yes
Audio:
  Device-1: Intel Sunrise Point-LP HD Audio vendor: Lenovo driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel
    bus-ID: 00:1f.3 chip-ID: 8086:9d71 class-ID: 0403
  Sound Server-1: ALSA v: k6.5.0-26-generic running: yes
  Sound Server-2: JACK v: 1.9.20 running: no
  Sound Server-3: PulseAudio v: 15.99.1 running: yes
  Sound Server-4: PipeWire v: 0.3.48 running: yes
Network:
  Device-1: Intel Ethernet I219-V vendor: Lenovo driver: e1000e v: kernel port: N/A
    bus-ID: 00:1f.6 chip-ID: 8086:15d8 class-ID: 0200
  IF: enp0s31f6 state: down mac: <filter>
  Device-2: Intel Wireless 8265 / 8275 driver: iwlwifi v: kernel pcie: speed: 2.5 GT/s lanes: 1
    bus-ID: 04:00.0 chip-ID: 8086:24fd class-ID: 0280
  IF: wlp4s0 state: up mac: <filter>
  IF-ID-1: wwan0 state: down mac: N/A
Bluetooth:
  Device-1: Intel Bluetooth wireless interface type: USB driver: btusb v: 0.8 bus-ID: 1-7:4
    chip-ID: 8087:0a2b class-ID: e001
  Report: hciconfig ID: hci0 rfk-id: 5 state: up address: <filter> bt-v: 2.1 lmp-v: 4.2
    sub-v: 100 hci-v: 4.2 rev: 100
Drives:
  Local Storage: total: 476.94 GiB used: 383.55 GiB (80.4%)
  ID-1: /dev/nvme0n1 vendor: Western Digital model: PC SN720 SDAQNTW-512G-1001 size: 476.94 GiB
    speed: 31.6 Gb/s lanes: 4 type: SSD serial: <filter> rev: 10190101 temp: 44.9 C scheme: GPT
Partition:
  ID-1: / size: 451.56 GiB used: 383 GiB (84.8%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/dm-1 mapped: mint--vg-root
  ID-2: /boot size: 703.1 MiB used: 542.6 MiB (77.2%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/nvme0n1p2
  ID-3: /boot/efi size: 511 MiB used: 15.2 MiB (3.0%) fs: vfat dev: /dev/nvme0n1p1
Swap:
  ID-1: swap-1 type: partition size: 15.87 GiB used: 884 KiB (0.0%) priority: -2 dev: /dev/dm-2
    mapped: mint--vg-swap_1
USB:
  Hub-1: 1-0:1 info: Hi-speed hub with single TT ports: 12 rev: 2.0 speed: 480 Mb/s
    chip-ID: 1d6b:0002 class-ID: 0900
  Device-1: 1-1:7 info: Pixart Imaging Optical Mouse type: Mouse driver: hid-generic,usbhid
    interfaces: 1 rev: 2.0 speed: 12 Mb/s power: 100mA chip-ID: 093a:2510 class-ID: 0301
  Device-2: 1-3:3 info: Alcor Micro AU9540 Smartcard Reader type: Smart Card driver: N/A
    interfaces: 1 rev: 2.0 speed: 12 Mb/s power: 50mA chip-ID: 058f:9540 class-ID: 0b00
  Device-3: 1-7:4 info: Intel Bluetooth wireless interface type: Bluetooth driver: btusb
    interfaces: 2 rev: 2.0 speed: 12 Mb/s power: 100mA chip-ID: 8087:0a2b class-ID: e001
  Device-4: 1-8:5 info: Acer SunplusIT Integrated Camera type: Video driver: uvcvideo
    interfaces: 2 rev: 2.0 speed: 480 Mb/s power: 500mA chip-ID: 5986:2113 class-ID: 0e02
  Device-5: 1-9:6 info: Synaptics Metallica MIS Touch Fingerprint Reader type: <vendor specific>
    driver: N/A interfaces: 1 rev: 2.0 speed: 12 Mb/s power: 100mA chip-ID: 06cb:009a class-ID: ff00
    serial: <filter>
  Hub-2: 2-0:1 info: Super-speed hub ports: 6 rev: 3.0 speed: 5 Gb/s chip-ID: 1d6b:0003
    class-ID: 0900
  Device-1: 2-3:2 info: Realtek Card Reader type: Mass Storage driver: usb-storage interfaces: 1
    rev: 3.0 speed: 5 Gb/s power: 800mA chip-ID: 0bda:0316 class-ID: 0806 serial: <filter>
Sensors:
  System Temperatures: cpu: 40.0 C mobo: N/A
  Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A
Repos:
  Packages: 3612 apt: 3601 flatpak: 11
  No active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/apandada1-ubuntu-foliate-jammy.list
    1: deb [signed-by=/usr/share/keyrings/apandada1-ubuntu-foliate-jammy-archive-keyring.gpg] https: //ppa.launchpadcontent.net/apandada1/foliate/ubuntu/ jammy main
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/christian-boxdoerfer-ubuntu-fsearch-stable-jammy.list
    1: deb [signed-by=/usr/share/keyrings/christian-boxdoerfer-ubuntu-fsearch-stable-jammy-archive-keyring.gpg] https: //ppa.launchpadcontent.net/christian-boxdoerfer/fsearch-stable/ubuntu/ jammy main
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/flatpak-stable-jammy.list
    1: deb [signed-by=/etc/apt/keyrings/flatpak-stable-jammy.gpg] https: //ppa.launchpadcontent.net/flatpak/stable/ubuntu jammy main
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/font-manager-staging-jammy.list
    1: deb [signed-by=/etc/apt/keyrings/font-manager-staging-jammy.gpg] https: //ppa.launchpadcontent.net/font-manager/staging/ubuntu jammy main
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/libreoffice-libreoffice-prereleases-jammy.list
    1: deb http: //ppa.launchpad.net/libreoffice/libreoffice-prereleases/ubuntu jammy main
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/libreoffice-ppa-jammy.list
    1: deb http: //ppa.launchpad.net/libreoffice/ppa/ubuntu jammy main
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/linrunner-tlp-jammy.list
    1: deb [signed-by=/etc/apt/keyrings/linrunner-tlp-jammy.gpg] https: //ppa.launchpadcontent.net/linrunner/tlp/ubuntu jammy main
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/official-package-repositories.list
    1: deb https: //muug.ca/mirror/linuxmint/packages virginia main upstream import backport
    2: deb https: //mirror.it.ubc.ca/ubuntu jammy main restricted universe multiverse
    3: deb https: //mirror.it.ubc.ca/ubuntu jammy-updates main restricted universe multiverse
    4: deb https: //mirror.it.ubc.ca/ubuntu jammy-backports main restricted universe multiverse
    5: deb http: //security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ jammy-security main restricted universe multiverse
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/phoerious-ubuntu-keepassxc-jammy.list
    1: deb [signed-by=/usr/share/keyrings/phoerious-ubuntu-keepassxc-jammy-archive-keyring.gpg] https: //ppa.launchpadcontent.net/phoerious/keepassxc/ubuntu/ jammy main
  No active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/plexmediaserver.list
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/skype-stable.list
    1: deb [arch=amd64] https: //repo.skype.com/deb stable main
  No active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/sunderme-texstudio-daily-jammy.list
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/sunderme-texstudio-jammy.list
    1: deb http: //ppa.launchpad.net/sunderme/texstudio/ubuntu jammy main
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/typora.list
    1: deb [signed-by=/usr/share/keyrings/typora-archive-keyring.gpg] https: //typora.io/linux ./
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/ubuntuhandbook1-emacs-jammy.list
    1: deb [signed-by=/etc/apt/keyrings/ubuntuhandbook1-emacs-jammy.gpg] https: //ppa.launchpadcontent.net/ubuntuhandbook1/emacs/ubuntu jammy main
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/ubuntuhandbook1-geany-jammy.list
    1: deb [signed-by=/etc/apt/keyrings/ubuntuhandbook1-geany-jammy.gpg] https: //ppa.launchpadcontent.net/ubuntuhandbook1/geany/ubuntu jammy main
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/virtualbox-7.0.list
    1: deb [signed-by=/usr/share/keyrings/virtualbox-7.0-archive-keyring.gpg arch=amd64] https: //download.virtualbox.org/virtualbox/debian jammy contrib
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/vscode.list
    1: deb [signed-by=/usr/share/keyrings/vscode-archive-keyring.gpg arch=amd64] https: //packages.microsoft.com/repos/vscode stable main
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/yannubuntu-boot-repair-jammy.list
    1: deb [signed-by=/etc/apt/keyrings/yannubuntu-boot-repair-jammy.gpg] https: //ppa.launchpadcontent.net/yannubuntu/boot-repair/ubuntu jammy main
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/zotero.list
    1: deb [signed-by=/usr/share/keyrings/zotero-archive-keyring.gpg by-hash=force] https: //zotero.retorque.re/file/apt-package-archive ./
Info:
  Processes: 333 Uptime: 9h 6m wakeups: 10 Memory: 15.47 GiB used: 4.82 GiB (31.1%) Init: systemd
  v: 249 runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 11.4.0 alt: 11/12/9 Client: Unknown python3.10 client
  inxi: 3.3.13
I want to see if I might be able to get an idea why you had a black screen when you tried Wayland. That is not happening for others.
User avatar
SMG
Level 25
Level 25
Posts: 33018
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2020 6:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: Wayland - black screen, and then can't run Cinnamon

Post by SMG »

wujastyk wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 7:34 pmHere's my install information:
I would not have guessed Intel to be the graphics as that is the one I consider least likely to cause an issue, especially not an Intel-only laptop.

Have you installed any applets or desklets beyond what normally comes with Cinnamon?

You are using a flatpak PPA? You're not sourcing flatpaks through the Linux Mint Software Manager?

Code: Select all

  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/flatpak-stable-jammy.list
    1: deb [signed-by=/etc/apt/keyrings/flatpak-stable-jammy.gpg] https: //ppa.launchpadcontent.net/flatpak/stable/ubuntu jammy main
Image
A woman typing on a laptop with LM20.3 Cinnamon.
wujastyk
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 12:56 pm

Re: Wayland - black screen, and then can't run Cinnamon

Post by wujastyk »

SMG wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 8:09 pm [quoteI
Have you installed any applets or desklets beyond what normally comes with Cinnamon?
No, just applets and desklets delivered through Spices. There are a couple of simple Nemo actions that I wrote myself, but they've been working fine for ages.
You are using a flatpak PPA? You're not sourcing flatpaks through the Linux Mint Software Manager?

Code: Select all

  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/flatpak-stable-jammy.list
    1: deb [signed-by=/etc/apt/keyrings/flatpak-stable-jammy.gpg] https: //ppa.launchpadcontent.net/flatpak/stable/ubuntu jammy main
AFAIK all my Flatpak programs are installed via the Cinnamon Software Manager. I can't recall installing any from the CLI, though I may be wrong. Maybe Upscaler?

Here are the Flatpak programs I currently have installed:

Code: Select all

Name                                        Application ID                             Version       Branch            Origin               Installation
Upscaler                                    io.gitlab.theevilskeleton.Upscaler         1.2.2         stable            upscaler-origin      system
Thomas Voegtlin, et al.                     org.electrum.electrum                      4.5.2         stable            flathub              system
Mesa                                        org.freedesktop.Platform.GL.default        24.0.3        23.08             flathub              system
Mesa (Extra)                                org.freedesktop.Platform.GL.default        24.0.3        23.08-extra       flathub              system
Intel                                       org.freedesktop.Platform.VAAPI.Intel                     23.08             flathub              system
GNOME Application Platform version 45       org.gnome.Platform                                       45                flathub              system
Mint-Y Gtk Theme                            org.gtk.Gtk3theme.Mint-Y                                 3.22              flathub              system
Mint-Y-Aqua Gtk Theme                       org.gtk.Gtk3theme.Mint-Y-Aqua                            3.22              flathub              system
Mint-Y-Blue Gtk Theme                       org.gtk.Gtk3theme.Mint-Y-Blue                            3.22              flathub              system
Mint-Y-Teal Gtk Theme                       org.gtk.Gtk3theme.Mint-Y-Teal                            3.22              flathub              system
KDE Application Platform                    org.kde.Platform                                         5.15-23.08        flathub              system

User avatar
SMG
Level 25
Level 25
Posts: 33018
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2020 6:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: Wayland - black screen, and then can't run Cinnamon

Post by SMG »

wujastyk wrote: Fri Mar 29, 2024 4:20 pm
SMG wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 8:09 pm [quoteI
Have you installed any applets or desklets beyond what normally comes with Cinnamon?
No, just applets and desklets delivered through Spices.
That means, yes, you installed applets and desklets beyond what normally comes with a Linux Mint Cinnamon install. I don't think everything in Spices was tested to see if it worked in Wayland.

Which ones do you have installed?
wujastyk wrote: Fri Mar 29, 2024 4:20 pm There are a couple of simple Nemo actions that I wrote myself, but they've been working fine for ages.
If there were not defaults that load (take action) when Cinnamon loads, then I wouldn't think they would be a factor in what happened.
wujastyk wrote: Fri Mar 29, 2024 4:20 pm
You are using a flatpak PPA? You're not sourcing flatpaks through the Linux Mint Software Manager?

Code: Select all

  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/flatpak-stable-jammy.list
    1: deb [signed-by=/etc/apt/keyrings/flatpak-stable-jammy.gpg] https: //ppa.launchpadcontent.net/flatpak/stable/ubuntu jammy main
AFAIK all my Flatpak programs are installed via the Cinnamon Software Manager. I can't recall installing any from the CLI, though I may be wrong. Maybe Upscaler?
This is the first time I've heard of Upscaler and I'm not that familiar with flatpak to know why someone would have a flatpak PPA installed. I was hoping you might know. :mrgreen:
Image
A woman typing on a laptop with LM20.3 Cinnamon.
wujastyk
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 12:56 pm

Re: Wayland - black screen, and then can't run Cinnamon

Post by wujastyk »

I'm afraid I cannot give more time to trying to solve this post-Wayland problem with Cinnamon. So I am currently backing up, wiping my disk, and reinstalling LM+Cinnamon.

A big thank you to everyone who gave thought to this problem. I'm really grateful - as always - to the Linux community.

Best wishes,
Dominik
Yann3131
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 01, 2024 6:31 am

Re: Wayland - black screen, and then can't run Cinnamon

Post by Yann3131 »

Just wanted to say i experienced the same issue as op, so something is really wrong somehow. I wish i knew exactly what i did, i wasn't even trying to install wayland and installed a few packages (vnc remote clients) and i found myself with a pretty unusable computer after rebooting and hours lost trying to fix stuff.
User avatar
SMG
Level 25
Level 25
Posts: 33018
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2020 6:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: Wayland - black screen, and then can't run Cinnamon

Post by SMG »

Yann3131 wrote: Thu May 02, 2024 5:12 pm Just wanted to say i experienced the same issue as op, so something is really wrong somehow. I wish i knew exactly what i did, i wasn't even trying to install wayland and installed a few packages (vnc remote clients) and i found myself with a pretty unusable computer after rebooting and hours lost trying to fix stuff.
Where did you notice OP mention their problem started after installing remote software programs? Remote software programs are a means to log into a computer so it is not all that surprising that is when your issue began.
Image
A woman typing on a laptop with LM20.3 Cinnamon.
Jeffrey Bennetch
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2024 1:26 pm

Re: Wayland - black screen, and then can't run Cinnamon

Post by Jeffrey Bennetch »

If I try to log in with Wayland with the normal user account I get the black screen, but once I reboot I can log in to regular Cinnamon like always. However, if I create a new test user account, I can log in with Wayland just fine.
Post Reply

Return to “Cinnamon on Wayland”