Can't access all file locations in RawTherapee

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Post Reply
ozalba
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2024 8:34 am
Location: Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Can't access all file locations in RawTherapee

Post by ozalba »

I've just installed RawTherapee 5.10 (using Mint 21.3/Cinnamon), but can only access files in my /home/ folder and sub-folders. In the 'Places' pane, I can see my external drives, but can't open the folder tree for any of them. I guess I can get by, by copying my RAW files into /home/whatever/, but surely that shouldn't be necessary.

I've tried double-clicking, right-clicking, stopping and restarting the software; I've even tried reading the https://rawpedia.rawtherapee.com/Getting_Started page, but it just says "You need to point RawTherapee to where your raw photos are stored. Use the folder tree browser on the left of the File Browser tab to navigate to your raw photo repository and double-click on the folder to open it."

Am I doing anything wrong?

I was going to insert a screenshot here, but it looks like I need to link to a URL where the image resides, rather than upload one directly...?

TIA...

In case it's relevant, here's my system info:

Code: Select all

System:
  Kernel: 5.15.0-101-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 11.4.0 Desktop: Cinnamon 6.0.4
    tk: GTK 3.24.33 wm: muffin vt: 7 dm: LightDM 1.30.0 Distro: Linux Mint 21.3 Virginia
    base: Ubuntu 22.04 jammy
Machine:
  Type: Laptop System: TOSHIBA product: Satellite Pro R50-C v: PS562A-002001
    serial: <superuser required> Chassis: type: 10 v: Version 1.0 serial: <superuser required>
  Mobo: TOSHIBA model: Satellite Pro R50-C v: Version A0 serial: <superuser required>
    BIOS: TOSHIBA v: Version 1.10 date: 04/21/2015
Battery:
  ID-1: BAT1 charge: 17.1 Wh (100.0%) condition: 17.1/44.4 Wh (38.5%) volts: 14.8 min: 14.8
    model: G71C000JM110 type: Li-ion serial: N/A status: Full
CPU:
  Info: dual core model: Intel Core i3-5005U bits: 64 type: MT MCP smt: enabled arch: Broadwell
    rev: 4 cache: L1: 128 KiB L2: 512 KiB L3: 3 MiB
  Speed (MHz): avg: 1995 high: 1996 min/max: 500/2000 cores: 1: 1995 2: 1995 3: 1996 4: 1995
    bogomips: 15962
  Flags: avx avx2 ht lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx
Graphics:
  Device-1: Intel HD Graphics 5500 vendor: Toshiba driver: i915 v: kernel ports: active: eDP-1
    empty: DP-1,HDMI-A-1 bus-ID: 00:02.0 chip-ID: 8086:1616 class-ID: 0300
  Device-2: Chicony TOSHIBA Web Camera - HD type: USB driver: uvcvideo bus-ID: 2-7:6
    chip-ID: 04f2:b446 class-ID: 0e02
  Display: x11 server: X.Org v: 1.21.1.4 driver: X: loaded: modesetting unloaded: fbdev,vesa
    gpu: i915 display-ID: :0 screens: 1
  Screen-1: 0 s-res: 1366x768 s-dpi: 96 s-size: 361x203mm (14.2x8.0") s-diag: 414mm (16.3")
  Monitor-1: eDP-1 model: LG res: 1366x768 hz: 60 dpi: 101 size: 344x194mm (13.5x7.6")
    diag: 395mm (15.5") modes: 1366x768
  OpenGL: renderer: Mesa Intel HD Graphics 5500 (BDW GT2) v: 4.6 Mesa 23.2.1-1ubuntu3.1~22.04.2
    direct render: Yes
Audio:
  Device-1: Intel Broadwell-U Audio vendor: Toshiba driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel
    bus-ID: 00:03.0 chip-ID: 8086:160c class-ID: 0403
  Device-2: Intel Wildcat Point-LP High Definition Audio vendor: Toshiba driver: snd_hda_intel
    v: kernel bus-ID: 00:1b.0 chip-ID: 8086:9ca0 class-ID: 0403
  Sound Server-1: ALSA v: k5.15.0-101-generic running: yes
  Sound Server-2: PulseAudio v: 15.99.1 running: yes
  Sound Server-3: PipeWire v: 0.3.48 running: yes
Network:
  Device-1: Intel Ethernet I218-V vendor: Toshiba driver: e1000e v: kernel port: 3080
    bus-ID: 00:19.0 chip-ID: 8086:15a3 class-ID: 0200
  IF: enp0s25 state: down mac: <filter>
  Device-2: Intel Wireless 3165 driver: iwlwifi v: kernel pcie: speed: 2.5 GT/s lanes: 1
    bus-ID: 02:00.0 chip-ID: 8086:3165 class-ID: 0280
  IF: wlp2s0 state: up mac: <filter>
Bluetooth:
  Device-1: Intel Bluetooth wireless interface type: USB driver: btusb v: 0.8 bus-ID: 2-6:7
    chip-ID: 8087:0a2a class-ID: e001
  Report: hciconfig ID: hci0 rfk-id: 1 state: up address: <filter> bt-v: 2.1 lmp-v: 4.2
    sub-v: 1000 hci-v: 4.2 rev: 1000
Drives:
  Local Storage: total: 5.23 TiB used: 2.13 TiB (40.7%)
  ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Toshiba model: MQ01ABD075 size: 698.64 GiB speed: 3.0 Gb/s type: HDD
    rpm: 5400 serial: <filter> rev: 4M scheme: GPT
  ID-2: /dev/sdb type: USB vendor: Seagate model: ST1000LM025 HN-M101ABB size: 931.51 GiB
    type: HDD rpm: 5400 serial: <filter> rev: 1306 scheme: MBR
  ID-3: /dev/sdc type: USB vendor: Western Digital model: WD30EZRX-19D8PB0 size: 2.73 TiB
    type: HDD rpm: 5400 serial: <filter> rev: 0102 scheme: GPT
  ID-4: /dev/sdd type: USB vendor: Western Digital model: WD1002FBYS-02A6B0 size: 931.51 GiB
    type: HDD rpm: 7200 serial: <filter> rev: 0102 scheme: MBR
Partition:
  ID-1: / size: 686.1 GiB used: 160.18 GiB (23.3%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda3
  ID-2: /boot/efi size: 512 MiB used: 6.1 MiB (1.2%) fs: vfat dev: /dev/sda2
Swap:
  ID-1: swap-1 type: file size: 2 GiB used: 1.8 MiB (0.1%) priority: -2 file: /swapfile
USB:
  Hub-1: 1-0:1 info: Full speed or root hub ports: 2 rev: 2.0 speed: 480 Mb/s chip-ID: 1d6b:0002
    class-ID: 0900
  Hub-2: 1-1:2 info: Intel Integrated Hub ports: 8 rev: 2.0 speed: 480 Mb/s chip-ID: 8087:8001
    class-ID: 0900
  Hub-3: 2-0:1 info: Hi-speed hub with single TT ports: 11 rev: 2.0 speed: 480 Mb/s
    chip-ID: 1d6b:0002 class-ID: 0900
  Hub-4: 2-1:2 info: Realtek RTS5411 Hub ports: 4 rev: 2.1 speed: 480 Mb/s chip-ID: 0bda:5411
    class-ID: 0900
  Device-1: 2-1.2:8 info: PNY USB3.0 type: Mass Storage driver: uas interfaces: 1 rev: 2.1
    speed: 480 Mb/s power: 2mA chip-ID: 154b:8001 class-ID: 0806 serial: <filter>
  Device-2: 2-3:3 info: Realtek RTS5129 Card Reader Controller type: <vendor specific>
    driver: rtsx_usb,rtsx_usb_ms,rtsx_usb_sdmmc interfaces: 1 rev: 2.0 speed: 480 Mb/s power: 500mA
    chip-ID: 0bda:0129 class-ID: ff00 serial: <filter>
  Device-3: 2-4:4 info: Lite-On USB Multimedia Keyboard type: Keyboard,HID
    driver: hid-generic,usbhid interfaces: 2 rev: 1.1 speed: 1.5 Mb/s power: 100mA
    chip-ID: 04ca:002f class-ID: 0300
  Device-4: 2-5:5 info: MosArt Wireless Keyboard/Mouse type: Keyboard,Mouse
    driver: hid-generic,usbhid interfaces: 2 rev: 1.1 speed: 12 Mb/s power: 100mA chip-ID: 062a:4101
    class-ID: 0301
  Device-5: 2-6:7 info: Intel Bluetooth wireless interface type: Bluetooth driver: btusb
    interfaces: 2 rev: 2.0 speed: 12 Mb/s power: 100mA chip-ID: 8087:0a2a class-ID: e001
  Device-6: 2-7:6 info: Chicony TOSHIBA Web Camera - HD type: Video driver: uvcvideo
    interfaces: 2 rev: 2.0 speed: 480 Mb/s power: 500mA chip-ID: 04f2:b446 class-ID: 0e02
  Hub-5: 3-0:1 info: Super-speed hub ports: 4 rev: 3.0 speed: 5 Gb/s chip-ID: 1d6b:0003
    class-ID: 0900
  Hub-6: 3-1:2 info: Realtek Hub ports: 4 rev: 3.1 speed: 5 Gb/s chip-ID: 0bda:0411
    class-ID: 0900
  Device-1: 3-2:3 info: Samsung M3 Portable Hard Drive 1TB type: Mass Storage driver: uas
    interfaces: 1 rev: 3.0 speed: 5 Gb/s power: 8mA chip-ID: 04e8:61b6 class-ID: 0806
    serial: <filter>
Sensors:
  System Temperatures: cpu: 46.0 C mobo: N/A
  Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A
Repos:
  Packages: 2488 apt: 2473 flatpak: 15
  No active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/official-package-repositories.list
    1: deb https: //mirror.aarnet.edu.au/pub/linuxmint-packages virginia main upstream import backport
    2: deb http: //mirror.aarnet.edu.au/pub/ubuntu/archive jammy main restricted universe multiverse
    3: deb http: //mirror.aarnet.edu.au/pub/ubuntu/archive jammy-updates main restricted universe multiverse
    4: deb http: //mirror.aarnet.edu.au/pub/ubuntu/archive jammy-backports main restricted universe multiverse
    5: deb http: //security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ jammy-security main restricted universe multiverse
Info:
  Processes: 276 Uptime: 9h 18m wakeups: 1 Memory: 7.66 GiB used: 3.03 GiB (39.5%) Init: systemd
  v: 249 runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 11.4.0 alt: 11/12 Client: Unknown python3.10 client
  inxi: 3.3.13
User avatar
spamegg
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4994
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2019 2:34 am
Contact:

Re: Can't access all file locations in RawTherapee

Post by spamegg »

Under the reply box, there are "Options" and "Attachments" tabs.
You can upload an image in the Attachments tab, it should be less than 200KB.
Otherwise you can upload to imgur.com and share the link here.

I am able to browse mounted drives. Maybe you have permission issues?
Screenshot from 2024-04-02 15-49-29.png
RIH
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2845
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2015 3:47 am

Re: Can't access all file locations in RawTherapee

Post by RIH »

You don't say from where you downloaded the Application, but my guess is that you downloaded a Flatpak version.
That "sandboxes" the Application.
If you download Flatseal that is a graphical interface that will make it easier to allow a Flatpak Application access other areas of your file system.
Not forgetting that will defeat the object of sandboxing if you do this rashly..
Image
ozalba
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2024 8:34 am
Location: Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: Can't access all file locations in RawTherapee

Post by ozalba »

RIH wrote: Tue Apr 02, 2024 8:52 am You don't say from where you downloaded the Application, but my guess is that you downloaded a Flatpak version.
I just opened the software manager, and downloaded from there, whatever it was. However, Flatpak comment noted, so it sounds like there's another dent on the learning curve I need to look into tonight.

The icon looked different for the external drives, but I couldn't really see what it was, or tell what it might have signified, though it didn't look like any sort of "no entry" symbol.

Tks for now.
ozalba
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2024 8:34 am
Location: Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: Can't access all file locations in RawTherapee

Post by ozalba »

spamegg wrote: Tue Apr 02, 2024 8:49 am Under the reply box, there are "Options" and "Attachments" tabs.
...

I am able to browse mounted drives. Maybe you have permission issues?
Ah, thanks; I can see that now. Might be worth having that advice in the "how to get help" post, or whetever it was that I looked, as I could only see advice on using the img and rimg tags.

It's been suggested I might have a Flatpak issue, so will look into that later.
ozalba
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2024 8:34 am
Location: Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: Can't access all file locations in RawTherapee

Post by ozalba »

RIH wrote: Tue Apr 02, 2024 8:52 am You don't say from where you downloaded the Application, but my guess is that you downloaded a Flatpak version.
Just looked again, and noticed the dropdown options in Software Manager. Flatpak was first, so that's what I went with (didn't notice there was an alternative anyway, and even if I had, it wouldn't have meant anything to me). Have now uninstalled the Flatpak and installed the System Package option, and can see my other drives, so thanks for that. It just remains to be seen if I can get along with RawTherapee, or whether I just fork out for the premium version of the PhotoshopExpress app on my phone, which more or less suits my needs.

Considering the Flatpak issue though: why might there be a problem, if such an application isn't sandboxed? I've kinda assumed that if it's listed in the Software Manager, it's OK to use. Am I just being naive?
RIH
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2845
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2015 3:47 am

Re: Can't access all file locations in RawTherapee

Post by RIH »

ozalba wrote: Wed Apr 03, 2024 5:47 am Considering the Flatpak issue though: why might there be a problem, if such an application isn't sandboxed? I've kinda assumed that if it's listed in the Software Manager, it's OK to use. Am I just being naive?
Using a Flatpak Application is perfectly alright, indeed, in some cases it is the sensible thing to do.
The Application will, undoubtedly, be of a later release than the non-Flatpak Software Manager version.
It offers extra security because it is restricting access to your computer.
They do tend to be large sized Applications though, because they contain all needed libraries for the Application.

Personally, I would prefer not to use Flatpaks unless I don't have a viable alternative, but I do use them.. :D
Image
ozalba
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2024 8:34 am
Location: Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: Can't access all file locations in RawTherapee

Post by ozalba »

RIH wrote: Wed Apr 03, 2024 6:10 am They do tend to be large sized Applications though, because they contain all needed libraries for the Application.
The Software Manager showed two versions, with the apparently older one being only ~106 MB, the newer being over 2 GB. I thought that was a hell of an increase, just because of a version update, but now I understand.

Anyway, now I need to post a plea for help with printer installation. And I was told this was the easy Linux...
Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”