Emergency mode Cinnamon when passing traffic through TOR

Questions about Wi-Fi and other network devices, file sharing, firewalls, connection sharing etc
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Post Reply
StrangeAngel
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2022 12:24 am

Emergency mode Cinnamon when passing traffic through TOR

Post by StrangeAngel »

:roll: Hi guys! I faced with such problem. When i passing all traffic through TOR network after few seconds Cinnamon enable emergency mode. Why? Someone answer me please! :roll:
User avatar
SMG
Level 25
Level 25
Posts: 32446
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2020 6:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: Emergency mode Cinnamon when passing traffic through TOR

Post by SMG »

StrangeAngel wrote: Sat Apr 13, 2024 6:17 amSomeone answer me please! :roll:
Please open the System Reports app and click the System Information tab on the left. Your computer's information should come up in the right pane. Then click the Copy button in the lower right and paste the results into a reply window here so we can see how Linux Mint views your hardware.
Image
A woman typing on a laptop with LM20.3 Cinnamon.
StrangeAngel
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2022 12:24 am

Re: Emergency mode Cinnamon when passing traffic through TOR

Post by StrangeAngel »

Code: Select all

System:
  Kernel: 5.15.0-102-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 11.4.0 Desktop: Cinnamon 6.0.4
    tk: GTK 3.24.33 wm: muffin dm: LightDM 1.30.0 Distro: Linux Mint 21.3 Virginia
    base: Ubuntu 22.04 jammy
Machine:
  Type: Desktop Mobo: Micro-Star model: PRO H610M-E DDR4 (MS-7D48) v: 2.0
    serial: <superuser required> UEFI: American Megatrends LLC. v: A.70 date: 11/08/2022
CPU:
  Info: 6-core model: 12th Gen Intel Core i5-12400F bits: 64 type: MT MCP smt: enabled
    arch: Alder Lake rev: 5 cache: L1: 480 KiB L2: 7.5 MiB L3: 18 MiB
  Speed (MHz): avg: 4180 high: 4356 min/max: 800/4400 cores: 1: 4356 2: 4341 3: 4105 4: 4025
    5: 4130 6: 4162 7: 4295 8: 4117 9: 4164 10: 4199 11: 4109 12: 4162 bogomips: 59904
  Flags: avx avx2 ht lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx
Graphics:
  Device-1: NVIDIA GA106 [GeForce RTX 3060 Lite Hash Rate] driver: nvidia v: 535.171.04 pcie:
    speed: 2.5 GT/s lanes: 16 ports: active: none off: HDMI-A-1 empty: DP-1,DP-2,DP-3
    bus-ID: 01:00.0 chip-ID: 10de:2504 class-ID: 0300
  Device-2: Logitech HD Webcam C510 type: USB driver: snd-usb-audio,uvcvideo bus-ID: 1-7:5
    chip-ID: 046d:081d class-ID: 0e02 serial: <filter>
  Display: x11 server: X.Org v: 1.21.1.4 driver: X: loaded: nvidia
    unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,nouveau,vesa gpu: nvidia display-ID: :0 screens: 1
  Screen-1: 0 s-res: 1920x1080 s-dpi: 81 s-size: 602x331mm (23.7x13.0") s-diag: 687mm (27")
  Monitor-1: HDMI-0 res: 1920x1080 dpi: 94 size: 518x324mm (20.4x12.8") diag: 611mm (24.1")
  OpenGL: renderer: NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3060/PCIe/SSE2 v: 4.6.0 NVIDIA 535.171.04
    direct render: Yes
Audio:
  Device-1: Intel Alder Lake-S HD Audio vendor: Micro-Star MSI driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel
    bus-ID: 00:1f.3 chip-ID: 8086:7ad0 class-ID: 0403
  Device-2: NVIDIA GA106 High Definition Audio driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel pcie:
    speed: 16 GT/s lanes: 16 bus-ID: 01:00.1 chip-ID: 10de:228e class-ID: 0403
  Device-3: Logitech HD Webcam C510 type: USB driver: snd-usb-audio,uvcvideo bus-ID: 1-7:5
    chip-ID: 046d:081d class-ID: 0e02 serial: <filter>
  Sound Server-1: ALSA v: k5.15.0-102-generic running: yes
  Sound Server-2: PulseAudio v: 15.99.1 running: yes
  Sound Server-3: PipeWire v: 0.3.48 running: yes
Network:
  Device-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet vendor: Micro-Star MSI
    driver: r8169 v: kernel pcie: speed: 2.5 GT/s lanes: 1 port: 3000 bus-ID: 03:00.0
    chip-ID: 10ec:8168 class-ID: 0200
  IF: enp3s0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
  Device-2: Realtek RTL8811AU 802.11a/b/g/n/ac WLAN Adapter type: USB driver: rtl88XXau
    bus-ID: 1-6:4 chip-ID: 0bda:a811 class-ID: 0000 serial: <filter>
  IF: wlx200db0ce22e0 state: up mac: <filter>
  IF-ID-1: docker0 state: down mac: <filter>
  IF-ID-2: outline-tun0 state: down mac: N/A
  IF-ID-3: vboxnet0 state: down mac: <filter>
Drives:
  Local Storage: total: 1.4 TiB used: 997.96 GiB (69.7%)
  ID-1: /dev/nvme0n1 model: DGSM3001TM23T size: 953.87 GiB speed: 31.6 Gb/s lanes: 4 type: SSD
    serial: <filter> rev: H220902a temp: 44.9 C scheme: GPT
  ID-2: /dev/sda model: 512GB RUN S9 512GB size: 476.94 GiB speed: 6.0 Gb/s type: SSD
    serial: <filter> rev: 4A0 scheme: GPT
Partition:
  ID-1: / size: 287.31 GiB used: 158.42 GiB (55.1%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/nvme0n1p6
  ID-2: /boot/efi size: 96 MiB used: 32.5 MiB (33.9%) fs: vfat dev: /dev/nvme0n1p2
Swap:
  ID-1: swap-1 type: file size: 2 GiB used: 0 KiB (0.0%) priority: -2 file: /swapfile
USB:
  Hub-1: 1-0:1 info: Hi-speed hub with single TT ports: 16 rev: 2.0 speed: 480 Mb/s
    chip-ID: 1d6b:0002 class-ID: 0900
  Device-1: 1-1:2 info: Sunplus Innovation Optical Mouse type: Mouse driver: hid-generic,usbhid
    interfaces: 1 rev: 2.0 speed: 1.5 Mb/s power: 98mA chip-ID: 1bcf:0005 class-ID: 0301
  Device-2: 1-2:3 info: China Resource Semico USB Keyboard type: Keyboard,Mouse
    driver: hid-generic,usbhid interfaces: 2 rev: 1.1 speed: 1.5 Mb/s power: 500mA
    chip-ID: 1a2c:4c5e class-ID: 0301
  Device-3: 1-6:4 info: Realtek RTL8811AU 802.11a/b/g/n/ac WLAN Adapter type: Network
    driver: rtl88XXau interfaces: 1 rev: 2.1 speed: 480 Mb/s power: 500mA chip-ID: 0bda:a811
    class-ID: 0000 serial: <filter>
  Device-4: 1-7:5 info: Logitech HD Webcam C510 type: Audio,Video driver: snd-usb-audio,uvcvideo
    interfaces: 4 rev: 2.0 speed: 480 Mb/s power: 500mA chip-ID: 046d:081d class-ID: 0e02
    serial: <filter>
  Hub-2: 1-14:6 info: Genesys Logic Hub ports: 4 rev: 2.0 speed: 480 Mb/s power: 100mA
    chip-ID: 05e3:0608 class-ID: 0900
  Hub-3: 2-0:1 info: Super-speed hub ports: 4 rev: 3.1 speed: 20 Gb/s chip-ID: 1d6b:0003
    class-ID: 0900
Sensors:
  System Temperatures: cpu: 27.8 C mobo: N/A gpu: nvidia temp: 58 C
  Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A gpu: nvidia fan: 0%
Repos:
  Packages: 3789 apt: 3748 flatpak: 20 snap: 21
  No active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/google-chrome.list
    1: deb [arch=amd64] https: //dl.google.com/linux/chrome/deb/ stable main
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/lunarg-vulkan-jammy.list
    1: deb https: //packages.lunarg.com/vulkan jammy main
    2: deb-src https: //packages.lunarg.com/vulkan jammy main
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/official-package-repositories.list
    1: deb http: //packages.linuxmint.com virginia main upstream import backport
    2: deb http: //archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu jammy main restricted universe multiverse
    3: deb http: //archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu jammy-updates main restricted universe multiverse
    4: deb http: //archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu jammy-backports main restricted universe multiverse
    5: deb http: //security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ jammy-security main restricted universe multiverse
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/steam-stable.list
    1: deb [arch=amd64,i386 signed-by=/usr/share/keyrings/steam.gpg] https: //repo.steampowered.com/steam/ stable steam
    2: deb-src [arch=amd64,i386 signed-by=/usr/share/keyrings/steam.gpg] https: //repo.steampowered.com/steam/ stable steam
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/vscode.list
    1: deb [arch=amd64,arm64,armhf] https: //packages.microsoft.com/repos/code stable main
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/yandex-browser.list
    1: deb [arch=amd64 signed-by=/etc/apt/keyrings/yandex-browser.gpg] https: //repo.yandex.ru/yandex-browser/deb stable main
  No active dnf repos in: /etc/dnf/dnf.conf
Info:
  Processes: 362 Uptime: 3h 17m wakeups: 0 Memory: 31.2 GiB used: 2.94 GiB (9.4%) Init: systemd
  v: 249 runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 11.4.0 alt: 11/12 clang: 14.0.0-1ubuntu1.1
  Client: Unknown python3.10 client inxi: 3.3.13
User avatar
SMG
Level 25
Level 25
Posts: 32446
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2020 6:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: Emergency mode Cinnamon when passing traffic through TOR

Post by SMG »

StrangeAngel wrote: Sat Apr 13, 2024 8:33 am

Code: Select all

System:
  Kernel: 5.15.0-102-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 11.4.0 Desktop: Cinnamon 6.0.4
    tk: GTK 3.24.33 wm: muffin dm: LightDM 1.30.0 Distro: Linux Mint 21.3 Virginia
    base: Ubuntu 22.04 jammy
Machine:
  Type: Desktop Mobo: Micro-Star model: PRO H610M-E DDR4 (MS-7D48) v: 2.0
    serial: <superuser required> UEFI: American Megatrends LLC. v: A.70 date: 11/08/2022
CPU:
  Info: 6-core model: 12th Gen Intel Core i5-12400F bits: 64 type: MT MCP smt: enabled
    arch: Alder Lake rev: 5 cache: L1: 480 KiB L2: 7.5 MiB L3: 18 MiB
Have you tried the 6.5 kernel available in Update Manager? A 12th-gen Intel CPU should really be using a 6 series kernel. Let us know if you need directions for upgrading.

Also, if this is the correct link, your BIOS/UEFI is missing quite a few updates.
Image
A woman typing on a laptop with LM20.3 Cinnamon.
StrangeAngel
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2022 12:24 am

Re: Emergency mode Cinnamon when passing traffic through TOR

Post by StrangeAngel »

I'm updated bios and computer not see my audio card now. Sound work only through videocard at HDMI. What should i do?
User avatar
SMG
Level 25
Level 25
Posts: 32446
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2020 6:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: Emergency mode Cinnamon when passing traffic through TOR

Post by SMG »

StrangeAngel wrote: Sat Apr 13, 2024 12:34 pm I'm updated bios and computer not see my audio card now. Sound work only through videocard at HDMI. What should i do?
Is Cinnamon no longer going to emergency mode?

There can be many reasons (with many easy fixes) as to why sound stops. It's possible the updates changed a setting related to sound in the BIOS/UEFI. Sometimes these updates reset the BIOS/UEFI to their defaults.

Did you try upgrading the kernel? Take a Timeshift snapshot of your system and then upgrade the kernel.
Instructions for upgrading to the 6.5 kernel:
  • Open Update Manager.
  • Select View > Linux Kernels and click Continue.
  • Make sure 6.5 is selected on the left panel and then click the top-most option on the right panel. An "Install" button will appear.
  • Install the kernel and then reboot for it to become active.
Image
A woman typing on a laptop with LM20.3 Cinnamon.
StrangeAngel
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2022 12:24 am

Re: Emergency mode Cinnamon when passing traffic through TOR

Post by StrangeAngel »

Yes, i installed new kernel. But i'dont have sound at both my system: Linux mint and Windows 11. How me return sound?
StrangeAngel
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2022 12:24 am

Re: Emergency mode Cinnamon when passing traffic through TOR

Post by StrangeAngel »

Now me have kernel 6.5 and updated BIOS. Error descripted in title saved, but now i missing sound too.
Last edited by StrangeAngel on Sun Apr 14, 2024 6:17 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
SMG
Level 25
Level 25
Posts: 32446
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2020 6:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: Emergency mode Cinnamon when passing traffic through TOR

Post by SMG »

StrangeAngel wrote: Sat Apr 13, 2024 1:26 pm Yes, i installed new kernel. But i'dont have sound at both my system: Linux mint and Windows 11. How me return sound?
If you are missing sound both in Linux Mint and in Windows 11, then the problem is not related to Linux Mint.

Please check the settings in your BIOS/UEFI for anything related to sound. Check the motherboard manual to see what settings might relate to sound. Create a new topic in the Sound forum if you need help with that.
StrangeAngel wrote: Sat Apr 13, 2024 1:42 pm Now me have kernel 6.5 an updated BIOS. Error descripted in title saved, but now i missing sound too.
If you are no longer getting the problem in the title, then this topic is solved. Please go to your first post in this topic, click the pencil icon, and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the title and submit the revised post so others know you are no longer seeking help on this issue. (animated gif courtesy of user BJZilberman)
Image
Image
A woman typing on a laptop with LM20.3 Cinnamon.
StrangeAngel
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2022 12:24 am

Re: Emergency mode Cinnamon when passing traffic through TOR

Post by StrangeAngel »

No, problem pointed in title remains. it's in something else. I shouldn't have touched the bios. :oops:
Last edited by SMG on Sat Apr 13, 2024 1:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Edited to comply with forum rules.
User avatar
SMG
Level 25
Level 25
Posts: 32446
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2020 6:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: Emergency mode Cinnamon when passing traffic through TOR

Post by SMG »

StrangeAngel wrote: Sat Apr 13, 2024 1:54 pm No, problem pointed in title remains. it's in something else.
I don't understand what "it's in something else" means.
Image
A woman typing on a laptop with LM20.3 Cinnamon.
StrangeAngel
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2022 12:24 am

Re: Emergency mode Cinnamon when passing traffic through TOR

Post by StrangeAngel »

SMG wrote: Sat Apr 13, 2024 1:56 pm
StrangeAngel wrote: Sat Apr 13, 2024 1:54 pm No, problem pointed in title remains. it's in something else.
I don't understand what "it's in something else" means.
The problem is not in the kernel and not in the bios. Now you undestand me? But now i have an additional problem with sound. I'm sad.
User avatar
SMG
Level 25
Level 25
Posts: 32446
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2020 6:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: Emergency mode Cinnamon when passing traffic through TOR

Post by SMG »

StrangeAngel wrote: Sat Apr 13, 2024 2:02 pmThe problem is not in the kernel and not in the bios. Now you undestand me?
Yes, thank you.

Did you install any Cinnamon applets or desklets (spices)?

When you are "passing traffic through TOR", is that inbound or outbound or both that is causing a problem?

Are there any error messages showing in Windows (or in the device drivers for Windows) related to your sound?
Image
A woman typing on a laptop with LM20.3 Cinnamon.
StrangeAngel
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2022 12:24 am

Re: Emergency mode Cinnamon when passing traffic through TOR

Post by StrangeAngel »

I'm just now installed older version bios and it's work. Sound appeared. Yes!!! :D
Traffic tor passing through proxy 127.0.0.1:9080 . It's leads to Emergency mode. I' use Carburetor programm.
Last edited by StrangeAngel on Sun Apr 14, 2024 5:57 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
SMG
Level 25
Level 25
Posts: 32446
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2020 6:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: Emergency mode Cinnamon when passing traffic through TOR

Post by SMG »

StrangeAngel wrote: Sat Apr 13, 2024 3:06 pm I'm just now installed older version bios an it's work. Sound appeared. Yes!!! :D
Good to hear.
This topic Realtek Audio not working after Bios update on the MSI forum seems to indicate MSI has a problem with BIOS updates causing this to happen. The topic is 20 pages long. :shock: I read the first and last page (not wanting to read all 20 :mrgreen: ) and it looks like the MSI Global Moderator is responding to people so if you have some time you may want to read through the topic to see what is said about your specific motherboard. This problem has apparently happened on more than one model. Many people said downgrading brought back sound (just like what happened to you), but MSI needs to fix their issue.
StrangeAngel wrote: Sat Apr 13, 2024 3:06 pm Traffic tor passing through proxy 127.0.0.1:9080 . It's leads to Emergency mode. I' use Carburetor programm.
So the Carburetor program is crashing Cinnamon? Did you install the Flatpak version of Carburetor?

You can check in the ~/.xsession-errors file (a hidden file in your home directory) to see if it mentions Carburetor or some other problem.
Image
A woman typing on a laptop with LM20.3 Cinnamon.
StrangeAngel
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2022 12:24 am

Re: Emergency mode Cinnamon when passing traffic through TOR

Post by StrangeAngel »

So the Carburetor program is crashing Cinnamon? Did you install the Flatpak version of Carburetor?

You can check in the ~/.xsession-errors file (a hidden file in your home directory) to see if it mentions Carburetor or some other problem.
I looked this file. There is nothing about Carburetor. I think problem not in this. I tried early establish tor connection with tor programm(not Tor browser) from official repositories in the same way through proxy my localhost. And i getting same error. :shock:
Besides, connection work, my traffic pass through tor network(changing IP and appeared acces to blocked sites), but through few seconds or minutes Cinnamon go to emergency mode.
User avatar
SMG
Level 25
Level 25
Posts: 32446
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2020 6:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: Emergency mode Cinnamon when passing traffic through TOR

Post by SMG »

StrangeAngel wrote: Sun Apr 14, 2024 5:30 am... but through few seconds or minutes Cinnamon go to emergency mode.
When Cinnamon goes to emergency mode and puts the message on your screen about disabling applets and extensions and then you restart it, that restart is in the .xsession-errors file. Look at the lines in the file right before the restart to see if there are clues as to what might be causing Cinnamon to crash.
Image
A woman typing on a laptop with LM20.3 Cinnamon.
t42
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3808
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 6:48 pm

Re: Emergency mode Cinnamon when passing traffic through TOR

Post by t42 »

Carburetor
Is it Flatpak version, if so, Carburetor 4 has GTK4. Still marked on Flathub as unsafe application.
-=t42=-
StrangeAngel
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2022 12:24 am

Re: Emergency mode Cinnamon when passing traffic through TOR

Post by StrangeAngel »

I see same notes in time of error.
cinnamon-session[2892]: WARNING: t+1.35525s: Detected that screensaver has appeared on the bus
(cinnamon:3120): Clutter-CRITICAL **: 13:16:20.676: clutter_actor_add_child : assertion 'child->priv->parent == NULL' failed

What it's mean?
User avatar
SMG
Level 25
Level 25
Posts: 32446
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2020 6:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: Emergency mode Cinnamon when passing traffic through TOR

Post by SMG »

StrangeAngel wrote: Sun Apr 14, 2024 1:26 pm I see same notes in time of error.
cinnamon-session[2892]: WARNING: t+1.35525s: Detected that screensaver has appeared on the bus
(cinnamon:3120): Clutter-CRITICAL **: 13:16:20.676: clutter_actor_add_child : assertion 'child->priv->parent == NULL' failed

What it's mean?
The first one can be ignored.

If you see the second one repeatedly, then it is likely not the problem. I see repeated messages like that all the time and they are usually a sign of a buggy client app.
Image
A woman typing on a laptop with LM20.3 Cinnamon.
Post Reply

Return to “Networking”