Howto: Remove Fortune messages in the Terminal

Write tutorials here
There are more tutorials here http://community.linuxmint.com/tutorial/welcome
Forum rules
Please don't add support questions to tutorials,start your own thread in the appropriate sub-forum instead. Before you post please read this
User avatar
ibm450
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 603
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 6:56 am
Location: Kwinana, Western Australia
Contact:

Re: Howto: Remove Fortune messages in the Terminal

Postby ibm450 » Sat Jan 30, 2010 12:56 pm

-o0o-
    im sorry, but im not being disrespecting of opinions here, just expression my own opinion that i found that the fortune s*** very annoying and took up unnecessary space and time to load up terminal time? btw alot of people have requested of removing the stupid fortune thing any ways?????????????

    so whats so dis-respectful of my own opinion????
Image
Asus UL50VT laptop ~ LM10 - Unity 12.04 - Win 7
Image

Mintylamb
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2009 1:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Howto: Remove Fortune messages in the Terminal

Postby Mintylamb » Sat Jan 30, 2010 1:32 pm

Actually I wasn't saying this to you specificaliy. If I had I would PM you.
Linux Mint 8 Helena KDE CE running on pentium 4 and 1 gig of ram + 500gig HD and ECS P4M800PRO-M moby.

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19595
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Howto: Remove Fortune messages in the Terminal

Postby Husse » Sat Jan 30, 2010 3:31 pm

Careful....
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

x0fx3
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 12:23 pm

Re: Howto: Remove Fortune messages in the Terminal

Postby x0fx3 » Wed Feb 10, 2010 6:27 pm

Thanks for the howto. :)

Mr. Alex
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 152
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2010 4:29 am

Re:

Postby Mr. Alex » Wed Mar 03, 2010 6:34 am

mumbo719 wrote:While you have the terminal open remove the fortune program.

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get remove fortune

Does it delete fortune database with all the quotes? Or after this command quotes are still in the system?

rius64
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 8:40 pm

Re: Howto: Remove Fortune messages in the Terminal

Postby rius64 » Sat Mar 06, 2010 8:49 pm

Very useful, thanks

Totenglocke
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 10:23 pm

Re: Howto: Remove Fortune messages in the Terminal

Postby Totenglocke » Thu Mar 18, 2010 1:50 am

Well crap. I did sudo apt-get remove fortune, and it messed up my themes (default ones included in Mint). Any ideas on how to fix this?

Mr. Alex
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 152
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2010 4:29 am

Re: Howto: Remove Fortune messages in the Terminal

Postby Mr. Alex » Fri Mar 19, 2010 12:30 pm

Totenglocke, I got the same problem. Your theme must become available again after some time.

User avatar
BigSteve_G
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 300
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 6:56 pm
Location: ~/a comfy chair
Contact:

Re: Howto: Remove Fortune messages in the Terminal

Postby BigSteve_G » Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:39 pm

Anyone know the location & name of the file containing the quotes shown in the fortune cookies?

- I'm thinking of replacing the quotes with useful reminders on using commands? or maybe just my own jibberish (I've yet to decide)
I've fixed Windows, tried running with Jackalopes, fought Koalas & now, I'm addicted to Mints

Now with half a decade running Linux mint, still enjoying it & still learning!

http://www.facebook.com/itsbigsteve

tower
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 256
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 12:08 pm

Re: Howto: Remove Fortune messages in the Terminal

Postby tower » Mon Mar 22, 2010 8:18 pm

Try here
/usr/share/games/fortune

Here is the man page
http://linux.die.net/man/6/fortune

This is the format

A day for firm decisions!!!!! Or is it?
%
A few hours grace before the madness begins again.
%
A gift of a flower will soon be made to you.
%

There are quite a few collections of fortune mods on the net everything from Starwars to very rude!
Quotes are separated by a % on a separate line

User avatar
BigSteve_G
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 300
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 6:56 pm
Location: ~/a comfy chair
Contact:

Re: Howto: Remove Fortune messages in the Terminal

Postby BigSteve_G » Tue Mar 23, 2010 7:38 am

-Thanks

Now let the madness start....
I've fixed Windows, tried running with Jackalopes, fought Koalas & now, I'm addicted to Mints

Now with half a decade running Linux mint, still enjoying it & still learning!

http://www.facebook.com/itsbigsteve

User avatar
Chacalo
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2010 9:25 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina.
Contact:

Re:

Postby Chacalo » Sat Apr 24, 2010 10:40 pm

Iain wrote:Thanks!


+1 :)

CodeCat
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2009 3:56 pm

Re: Howto: Remove Fortune messages in the Terminal

Postby CodeCat » Sat May 22, 2010 7:11 am

I like the fortunes as such, but the ASCII cow takes up too much space. Any idea how I can get rid of the cow while still displaying the message itself, just on one line?

michaudba
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2010 3:29 pm

Re: Howto: Remove Fortune messages in the Terminal

Postby michaudba » Tue Jun 08, 2010 3:49 pm

CodeCat wrote:I like the fortunes as such, but the ASCII cow takes up too much space. Any idea how I can get rid of the cow while still displaying the message itself, just on one line?

Here is a tutorial from the community on how to remove the cow:

http://community.linuxmint.com/tutorial/view/73

Hmm.. My first post in the mint forums, less than a week into using linux again and already helping people. I love this community!

Knowledge
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 5:10 pm

Re: Howto: Remove Fortune messages in the Terminal

Postby Knowledge » Wed Jun 09, 2010 12:24 am

/usr/bin/mint-fortune

that is what my file says...should i delete it?
also it say i can't edit it because i am not the owner....i really want to get rid of the fortunes though...i really don't like them
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64/ Linux Mint 9 x64
CPU: Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual T3200 @ 2.00GHz
RAM: 2GB
Graphics Card: Mobile Intel(R) 4 Series Express Chipset Family
Audio: Realtek High Definition Audio
DVD/CD Drive: HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-T50N

vincent
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2218
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 4:10 am

Re: Howto: Remove Fortune messages in the Terminal

Postby vincent » Wed Jun 09, 2010 12:28 am

Knowledge, have you read the first post in this thread and followed Clem's advice? It's really as simple as that...
Debian Testing x64/LM9 Main x64/Windows 7 x64 - LG R580 laptop w/ Intel Core 2 Duo T6500 2.1 GHz, 4 GB DDR2 RAM, Nvidia Geforce G 105M, Ralink rt2860 802.11n, 300 GB WD HD 5400 rpm

Knowledge
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 5:10 pm

Re: Howto: Remove Fortune messages in the Terminal

Postby Knowledge » Wed Jun 09, 2010 8:25 am

vincent wrote:Knowledge, have you read the first post in this thread and followed Clem's advice? It's really as simple as that...


i've tried that and all i get is another blank terminal line....back where i started...so i tried opening it my self and i only get read only permissions and i'm the only user and administrator on my laptop!

help please
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64/ Linux Mint 9 x64
CPU: Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual T3200 @ 2.00GHz
RAM: 2GB
Graphics Card: Mobile Intel(R) 4 Series Express Chipset Family
Audio: Realtek High Definition Audio
DVD/CD Drive: HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-T50N

mikeymouse
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 9:13 pm

Re: Howto: Remove Fortune messages in the Terminal

Postby mikeymouse » Wed Jun 09, 2010 1:19 pm

I have tried this method and in version 9 it does not work.
There is no /usr/games/fortune.
Are there any other ways to remove the fortune messages.
Thanks
mikeymouse

vincent
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2218
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 4:10 am

Re: Howto: Remove Fortune messages in the Terminal

Postby vincent » Wed Jun 09, 2010 2:05 pm

Knowledge wrote:
vincent wrote:Knowledge, have you read the first post in this thread and followed Clem's advice? It's really as simple as that...


i've tried that and all i get is another blank terminal line....back where i started...so i tried opening it my self and i only get read only permissions and i'm the only user and administrator on my laptop!

help please


A blank terminal line? Isn't that what you want though? I mean, you don't want fortunes in your terminal, so when you re-open a terminal, you won't see any more fortunes. As I've said, if you followed those instructions and deleted the last line (/usr/bin/mint-fortune) in that bash.bashrc file, save and close it, close the current terminal, and open a new one, you'll no longer see fortunes; I just tried it myself and it works.

Mikeymouse, delete the last line in /etc/bash.bashrc, the line that says /usr/bin/mint-fortune.
Debian Testing x64/LM9 Main x64/Windows 7 x64 - LG R580 laptop w/ Intel Core 2 Duo T6500 2.1 GHz, 4 GB DDR2 RAM, Nvidia Geforce G 105M, Ralink rt2860 802.11n, 300 GB WD HD 5400 rpm

Knowledge
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 5:10 pm

Re: Howto: Remove Fortune messages in the Terminal

Postby Knowledge » Wed Jun 09, 2010 3:31 pm

vincent wrote:
A blank terminal line? Isn't that what you want though? I mean, you don't want fortunes in your terminal, so when you re-open a terminal, you won't see any more fortunes. As I've said, if you followed those instructions and deleted the last line (/usr/bin/mint-fortune) in that bash.bashrc file, save and close it, close the current terminal, and open a new one, you'll no longer see fortunes; I just tried it myself and it works.

Mikeymouse, delete the last line in /etc/bash.bashrc, the line that says /usr/bin/mint-fortune.



i'm trying to do what mikeymouse is trying to do but i can't delete that line! /usr/bin/mint-fortune


the file says i only have read only permissions.....so i can't edit it...therefore i still have fortunes
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64/ Linux Mint 9 x64
CPU: Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual T3200 @ 2.00GHz
RAM: 2GB
Graphics Card: Mobile Intel(R) 4 Series Express Chipset Family
Audio: Realtek High Definition Audio
DVD/CD Drive: HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-T50N


Return to “Tutorials”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Pierre and 3 guests