Unable to Suspend

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
EchoLynx
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 8:49 am
Contact:

Unable to Suspend

Post by EchoLynx »

I have never been able to suspend on this machine: http://echolynx.com/dwnld/perm/EII-hardinfo_report.html

Fed up with this limitation, I've decided to dedicate the time to remedy this problem. Initially, the problem was that, upon clicking Suspend, the screen would fade to black, a blinking underscore would appear in the upper left hand corner, and the computer would hang. The computer didn't appear to change power states, and nothing but a hard reset could revive it. So I did some research.

Apparently, this is a graphic card driver issue. Unfortunately, most of those experiencing the same problem I am were using ATI cards - more specifically, ATI Radeon XPRESS 200M cards - and therefore using entirely different drivers.

Unsure of how to proceed, I decided to post here to ask for some help. Before doing so, however, I tried to recreate the problem. While I still can't use Suspend, the blinking underscore is no longer present, and all hard drives audibly power down (confirmed by touch - no vibrations). The screen remains black, and the system wholly unresponsive.

So, here I am. As you may have guessed, I am not very knowledgeable when it comes to Linux despite the fact I use Mint daily as my primary OS. Explanations of thought concerning my problem would be greatly appreciated, not only in working to an ultimate solution, but in furthering my education and, perhaps, that of another in a similar situation.

Regardless, I appreciate any help I can get. I am truly stumped with this one.

Thanks.
Saturday August 9th, 2008: Acquired Technician-class Amateur Radio License. Assigned call KB3ROH.
February (?) 2010: Acquired General-class Amateur Radio License.
Image

User avatar
mick55
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1485
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 2:47 am

Re: Unable to Suspend

Post by mick55 »

I can help, but......

I need some more information.

Run these commands in a terminal and copy/paste the output here.
(copy/paste the commands to ensure accuracy)

Code: Select all

inxi -F

Code: Select all

free | grep Swap

Code: Select all

sudo fdisk -l
Also read this and provide any information that is relevant.
http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=33561

thanks
mick
Things are more like they are now than they ever were before.

Dwight D. Eisenhower (1890 - 1969)

dawgdoc
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2744
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 12:53 am
Location: Formerly of Kentucky, the land of Mint Juleps

Re: Unable to Suspend

Post by dawgdoc »

looking at the hardinfo link you provided, you seem to be using an nvidia driver that supports your card,
OpenGL
Vendor NVIDIA Corporation
Renderer GeForce 8500 GT/PCI/SSE2
Version 3.0.0 NVIDIA 185.18.36
Direct Rendering Yes
I double checked with the nvidia site
GeForce 8 series:
8800 Ultra, 8800 GTX, 8300, 8600 GTS, 8400 GS, 8800 GT, 8800 GTS 512, 8200, 8100 / nForce 720a, 8500 GT, 8800 GTS, 8300 GS, 8800 GS, 8600 GS, 8200 / nForce 730a, 8400 SE, 8400, 8600 GT
If I am reading your info correctly, your swap file is only 128Mb while your Ram is 3Gb.
Total Memory 3095836 kB
Virtual Memory 128512 kB
Free Virtual Memory 128512 kB
If the information mick55 asked for confirms this, your solution may be as simple as increasing the size of your swap partition to be as large as or larger than your RAM.
SYSTEMS:
HP 15-bw0017cl -- Mint 19.3 Cinnamon
Compaq Presario CQ62 -- Mint 17 Cinnamon (support for 80 y/o family members 1st install)
READING:
The Secret of the Ninth Planet by Donald A. Wollheim

User avatar
mick55
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1485
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 2:47 am

Re: Unable to Suspend

Post by mick55 »

dawgdoc wrote:your solution may be as simple as increasing the size of your swap partition to be as large as or larger than your RAM.
That's what I'm thinking Dawgdoc.

I wanted to see the output of those commands to confirm or disprove the theory.

If the swap partition cannot be resized he can always create a seperate hibernate file
or swap file and dispense with the swap partition completely, or use it in
conjuction with the hibernate file.

Thankfully the possibilities in Linux are endless. :wink:
Things are more like they are now than they ever were before.

Dwight D. Eisenhower (1890 - 1969)

EchoLynx
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 8:49 am
Contact:

More information & Swap Resize

Post by EchoLynx »

Thank you both for your input.

@mick55: Here is the information you requested:
ian@Ian-LM8 ~ $ inxi -F
System: Host Ian-LM8 Kernel 2.6.31-14-generic i686 (32 bit) Distro Linux Mint 8 Helena - Main Edition
CPU: Quad core Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 (SMP) cache 4096 KB flags (sse3 nx lm vmx) bmips 19199.8
Clock Speeds: (1) 1600.00 MHz (2) 1600.00 MHz (3) 1600.00 MHz (4) 1600.00 MHz
Graphics: Card nVidia G86 [GeForce 8500 GT] X.Org 1.6.4 Res: 1280x1024@50.0hz
GLX Renderer GeForce 8500 GT/PCI/SSE2 GLX Version 3.0.0 NVIDIA 185.18.36 Direct Rendering Yes
Audio: Card-1 nVidia MCP51 High Definition Audio driver HDA Intel
Card-2 VIA VT1720/24 [Envy24PT/HT] PCI Multi-Channel Audio Controllerdriver ICE1724 at ports ac00 a800
Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture Version 1.0.20
Network: Card-1 nVidia MCP51 Ethernet Controller driver forcedeth at port c800
Card-2 Atheros Atheros AR5001X+ Wireless Network Adapter driver ath5k v: 0.6.0
Disks: HDD Total Size: 1160.2GB (43.7% used) 1: /dev/sda ST3160811AS 160.0GB
2: /dev/sdb WDC WD1001FALS-0 1000.2GB
Partition: ID:/ size: 20G used: 6.1G (33%) fs: ext4 ID:swap-1 size: 0.13GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap
Sensors: System Temperatures: cpu: 40.0C mobo: N/A gpu: 0.0:57C
Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info: Processes 191 Uptime 4 min Memory 292.2/3023.3MB Client Shell inxi 1.2.6
ian@Ian-LM8 ~ $ free | grep Swap
Swap: 128512 0 128512
ian@Ian-LM8 ~ $ sudo fdisk -l
[sudo] password for ian:

Disk /dev/sda: 160.0 GB, 160041885696 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19457 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x000755a2

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 1 3710 29800543+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda2 3711 3726 128520 82 Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda3 3727 6337 20972857+ 83 Linux

Disk /dev/sdb: 1000.2 GB, 1000204886016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 121601 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x00011154

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdb1 1 121601 976760001 7 HPFS/NTFS
@dawgdoc: Yes, everything you stated above is correct.

To be honest, I chose the Swap size based on information I gathered from this forum. I was under the impression that the Swap partition was, for lack of a better description, virtual memory - as in Windows. How would resizing the Swap partition alleviate this issue? Unless I'm mistaken, nothing extra is saved to the hard disk during Suspend... simply, the processor, fans, and HDDs are turned off, while the power to the memory is maintained.
Saturday August 9th, 2008: Acquired Technician-class Amateur Radio License. Assigned call KB3ROH.
February (?) 2010: Acquired General-class Amateur Radio License.
Image

dawgdoc
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2744
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 12:53 am
Location: Formerly of Kentucky, the land of Mint Juleps

Re: Unable to Suspend

Post by dawgdoc »

for additional diagnostics check your log files:
Menu > Administration > Log File Viewer > pm-suspend.log (on my system)
(in one forum a log file did not indicate any suspend errors, but there was no resume/thaw section.)
EchoLynx wrote: I was under the impression that the Swap partition was, for lack of a better description, virtual memory - as in Windows. How would resizing the Swap partition alleviate this issue? Unless I'm mistaken, nothing extra is saved to the hard disk during Suspend... simply, the processor, fans, and HDDs are turned off, while the power to the memory is maintained.
I am under the same impression as you regarding how Suspend saves to ram and Hibernate to hdd. And what I found in Ubuntu, Windows, Fedora and Arch forums supports this. Other than swap partition size, I didn't find specific easy to verify causes of the problem. Other causes include video driver issues, "Some hardware just can not suspend" in both Linux and Windows forums, and Compiz causing problems.

Then you get into what implementation you are using for power management: swsusp, suspend2 or uswsusp. I am using acpid packages, but there is also pm-utils that controls power management.

SO: additional things to try --
1) turn Compiz off
2) check video drivers (if using proprietary, try free; if using free, try proprietary)
3) make sure you have the latest acpid packages, or
4) increase swap size, to see if this fixes it (maybe there is some mystical routing of suspend through swap to prevent disasters in case of power loss/battery death)
SYSTEMS:
HP 15-bw0017cl -- Mint 19.3 Cinnamon
Compaq Presario CQ62 -- Mint 17 Cinnamon (support for 80 y/o family members 1st install)
READING:
The Secret of the Ninth Planet by Donald A. Wollheim

User avatar
mick55
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1485
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 2:47 am

Re: Unable to Suspend

Post by mick55 »

Theoretically swap size should impact hibernation and not suspend, but people have
reported that a small swap has prevented them from suspending.

A simple way to test this out is to create and activate a hibernation file. If it
doesn't fix your problem you can just delete it, and we can look for another solution.

Run these commands in a terminal.

Create hibernation file

Code: Select all

sudo dd if=/dev/zero of=/.hibernate.img bs=1048576 count=3200
Format the file as a swap file.

Code: Select all

sudo mkswap /.hibernate.img
You don't want to use this as a swap file, except when hibernating,
so we need to add this line to fstab -- (gksudo gedit /etc/fstab)

Code: Select all

/.hibernate.img   swap  swap	noauto,defaults	0	0
Now enable the hibernate file

Code: Select all

sudo swapon /.hibernate.img
And then test it.Check that the additional swap space is added to the total memory.

Code: Select all

free -m
mick
Things are more like they are now than they ever were before.

Dwight D. Eisenhower (1890 - 1969)

EchoLynx
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 8:49 am
Contact:

Re: No Luck

Post by EchoLynx »

@dawgdoc: I did as you said, but unfortunately nothing did the trick. Compiz wasn't the issue, nor were the proprietary drivers. (I disabled the proprietary ones, tried to suspend, enabled the open source ones, tried to suspend - both no luck). I expanded my Swap partition this morning, and just tested it...
Disk /dev/sda: 160.0 GB, 160041885696 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19457 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x000755a2

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 1 3710 29800543+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda2 3711 4102 3148740 82 Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda3 4103 6713 20972857+ 83 Linux

Disk /dev/sdb: 1000.2 GB, 1000204886016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 121601 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x00011154

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdb1 1 121601 976760001 7 HPFS/NTFS
... but that didn't work either.
Here is my log as you requested: http://echolynx.com/dwnld/perm/EII-pm-suspend.txt

@mick55: I appreciate your help regarding the hibernation file, but unfortunately I saw it after I had already resized my Swap partition. Unless I'm mistaken, the larger partition proved the Swap size was not the issue. I have noted your advice, though, as I hadn't known you could do that, and I am sure it will help sometime in the future.
Saturday August 9th, 2008: Acquired Technician-class Amateur Radio License. Assigned call KB3ROH.
February (?) 2010: Acquired General-class Amateur Radio License.
Image

dawgdoc
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2744
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 12:53 am
Location: Formerly of Kentucky, the land of Mint Juleps

Re: Unable to Suspend

Post by dawgdoc »

Comparing snippets from my log file to yours:
Mine:
success.
/etc/pm/sleep.d/action_wpa suspend suspend: success.
Thu Apr 15 21:19:42 EDT 2010: performing suspend
Thu Apr 15 21:47:38 EDT 2010: Awake.
Thu Apr 15 21:47:38 EDT 2010: Running hooks for resume
/etc/pm/sleep.d/action_wpa resume suspend: success.
Yours:
/etc/pm/sleep.d/action_wpa suspend suspend: success.
Wed Apr 14 18:54:23 EDT 2010: performing suspend
Initial commandline parameters:
Thu Apr 15 17:56:52 EDT 2010: Running hooks for suspend.
/usr/lib/pm-utils/sleep.d/000record suspend suspend: success.
/usr/lib/pm-utils/sleep.d/00auto-quirk suspend suspend: Adding quirks from HAL: --quirk-vbe-post
success.
I don't see anything about awake or resume in your log file.
Both files reference pm-utils and acpi_video_flags (not shown) so we seem to be using the same packages and such. I do not really have another good suggestion.

(I'm fishing here.) Maybe a complete removal and re-install of the acpid packages using synaptic. Complete removal also deletes the config files, whereas removal does not.
SYSTEMS:
HP 15-bw0017cl -- Mint 19.3 Cinnamon
Compaq Presario CQ62 -- Mint 17 Cinnamon (support for 80 y/o family members 1st install)
READING:
The Secret of the Ninth Planet by Donald A. Wollheim

User avatar
mick55
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1485
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 2:47 am

Re: Unable to Suspend

Post by mick55 »

Hi EchoLynx

Could you run these 2 commands again and post the results.
The reason I ask is to check that your newly expanded swap is actually
being utilized.Your suspend log still shows the original size.

Code: Select all

free | grep Swap

Code: Select all

free -m
cheers
mick
Things are more like they are now than they ever were before.

Dwight D. Eisenhower (1890 - 1969)

dawgdoc
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2744
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 12:53 am
Location: Formerly of Kentucky, the land of Mint Juleps

Re: Unable to Suspend

Post by dawgdoc »

Good catch
mick55 wrote:Hi EchoLynx
...Your suspend log still shows the original size.
cheers
mick
I saw that but made a possibly incorrect assumption that he posted the log before expanding the swap.
SYSTEMS:
HP 15-bw0017cl -- Mint 19.3 Cinnamon
Compaq Presario CQ62 -- Mint 17 Cinnamon (support for 80 y/o family members 1st install)
READING:
The Secret of the Ninth Planet by Donald A. Wollheim

EchoLynx
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 8:49 am
Contact:

Re: Swap Resize Unrecognized

Post by EchoLynx »

@dawgdoc: Thank you very much for your help so far. I will try the acpid solution you suggested once this Swap issue is ruled out. I was pretty sure that log was from AFTER the Swap resize...

@mick55: Thanks to you, as well, for your input. Here are the results of the commands you posted.
ian@Ian-LM8 ~ $ free | grep Swap
Swap: 3148732 0 3148732
ian@Ian-LM8 ~ $ free -m
total used free shared buffers cached
Mem: 3023 574 2448 0 41 276
-/+ buffers/cache: 256 2766
Swap: 3074 0 3074
Saturday August 9th, 2008: Acquired Technician-class Amateur Radio License. Assigned call KB3ROH.
February (?) 2010: Acquired General-class Amateur Radio License.
Image

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware Support”