[SOLVED] Brasero + ISO support

Archived topics about LMDE 1 and LMDE 2
Locked
rolandpish
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 54
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 4:33 pm

[SOLVED] Brasero + ISO support

Post by rolandpish »

Hi.

In my LMDE box, I'm trying to create an ISO image from a CD using brasero, but brasero only shows the options to create cue or cdrdao options. What can I do or install to let brasero create iso images?

Thanks in advance
Last edited by rolandpish on Fri Sep 24, 2010 9:20 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
tdockery97
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5059
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:54 am
Location: Mt. Angel, Oregon

Re: Brasero + ISO support

Post by tdockery97 »

I never use Brasero. I've heard too many stories of it making coasters. I have never had a bad burn using K3b. The only caveat is to install it using the Mint Software Manager, not the Package Manager. The Package Manager seems to bring in half the KDE desktop just to install K3b. Software Manager just installs the dependencies that are needed to run K3b.
Mint Cinnamon 20
User avatar
richyrich
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9057
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: Brasero + ISO support

Post by richyrich »

Don't know if this will help you, but this member found a solution by installing brasero-cdrkit

http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.p ... rn#p320773
anamnesis
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Cornwall, GB

Re: Brasero + ISO support

Post by anamnesis »

Are you sure that your hardware (cd/dvd burner) is okay? I used brasero today to burn a dvd iso image without any probs. But brasero indeed has probs to copy audio cds. Imo there is no need to install k3b. Try gnomebaker.

hth
anamnesis
rolandpish
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 54
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 4:33 pm

Re: Brasero + ISO support

Post by rolandpish »

richyrich wrote:Don't know if this will help you, but this member found a solution by installing brasero-cdrkit

http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.p ... rn#p320773
brasero-cdrkit was the solution, I'm hugely happy :)

Thanks a lot! I really appreciate your replies!

Cheers
chiefjim
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 929
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 7:26 am
Location: South Texas, USA

Re: Brasero + ISO support

Post by chiefjim »

tdockery97 wrote:The only caveat is to install it using the Mint Software Manager, not the Package Manager. The Package Manager seems to bring in half the KDE desktop just to install K3b. Software Manager just installs the dependencies that are needed to run K3b.
Is that true for other applications as well? I always thought that Mint Software Manager was nothing more than Package Manager presenting the applications in a custom sorted format.

I too have other KDE apps running with M9. No telling how much unneeded stuff came with it.
Mint-20 Mate 64 bit
Gigabyte H370M D3H
Intel G3258
Crucial Ballistic Sport 16GB DDR4 2400
4TB HDD Seagate Baracuda 7200rpm
User avatar
Hezy
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 6:09 pm
Location: Israel
Contact:

Re: Brasero + ISO support

Post by Hezy »

chiefjim wrote:
tdockery97 wrote:The only caveat is to install it using the Mint Software Manager, not the Package Manager. The Package Manager seems to bring in half the KDE desktop just to install K3b. Software Manager just installs the dependencies that are needed to run K3b.
Is that true for other applications as well? I always thought that Mint Software Manager was nothing more than Package Manager presenting the applications in a custom sorted format.

I too have other KDE apps running with M9. No telling how much unneeded stuff came with it.

I would also like to know if this is true.
keep on rockin' in the free world

[https://github.com/hezy]
porrisbar
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 11:21 pm
Location: Buenos Aires - Argentina

Re: Brasero + ISO support

Post by porrisbar »

rolandpish wrote:
richyrich wrote:Don't know if this will help you, but this member found a solution by installing brasero-cdrkit

http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.p ... rn#p320773
brasero-cdrkit was the solution, I'm hugely happy :)

Thanks a lot! I really appreciate your replies!

Cheers
Hi, I have the same problem and installed brasero-cdrkit but it still doesn't show ISO when I'm trying to make a copy of an audio CD
Mariano Sánchez
User avatar
Pjotr
Level 22
Level 22
Posts: 15762
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:18 am
Location: The Netherlands (Holland)
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] Brasero + ISO support

Post by Pjotr »

Try Xfburn. I highly recommend it. :)
Tip: 10 things to do after installing Linux Mint 20 Ulyana
Keep your Linux Mint healthy: Avoid these 10 fatal mistakes
Twitter: twitter.com/easylinuxtips
All in all, horse sense simply makes sense.
User avatar
Fragezeichen
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2015 6:10 am

Re: [SOLVED] Brasero + ISO support

Post by Fragezeichen »

Yeah, Brasero seems to be a bit buggy in general. I remember wanting to burn a Lubuntu image with a size of 698 MiB on a regular 700MiB CD a couple of months ago but it wouldn't let me do that and gave me an error and aborted the burning process halfway through rendering the disk useless. Then I tried K3b and it worked flawlessly. I think Brasero is confusing MiB and MB since smaller images or files (<650MiB) were no problem, only the bigger ones. Very strange indeed.
Locked

Return to “LMDE Archive”