LMDE Xfce RC - 32 or 64bit?

Archived topics about LMDE 1 and LMDE 2
Locked
edv
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 4:53 am
Location: Vilnius, Lithuania

LMDE Xfce RC - 32 or 64bit?

Post by edv »

I'm planing to ditch Katya (gnome) for LMDE Xfce edition when the final respins are ready. Currently I've been checking 32bit and 64bit XFCE isos and I can not decide which one is better for my machine (Toshiba A300 1-gn with 3gigs of ram) and would there be any noticeable difference in actual user experience.
The ram usage in 32 and 64bit live sessions looks like this:
running system monitor: 144 vs 220 MB RAM
+Firefox displaying homepage: 180 vs 270 MB
playing youtube video: 225 vs 355 MB

Also I ran available benchmarks.
32bit:
CPU Blowfish
This Machine 2267 MHz 16.286
CPU CryptoHash
This Machine 2267 MHz 83.133
CPU Fibonacci
This Machine 2267 MHz 3.734
CPU N-Queens
This Machine 2267 MHz 10.784
FPU FFT
This Machine 2267 MHz 7.923
FPU Raytracing
This Machine 2267 MHz 18.469

64bit:
CPU Blowfish
This Machine 1600 MHz 8.244
CPU CryptoHash
This Machine 1600 MHz 176.316
CPU Fibonacci
This Machine 1600 MHz 3.302
CPU N-Queens
This Machine 1600 MHz 9.892
FPU FFT
This Machine 1600 MHz 3.668
FPU Raytracing
This Machine 1600 MHz 6.516

So I think this is kinda "RAM usage vs benchmark results" question :)
Also I noticed that 32bit does not recognize my CPU as dual core (because of 486 kernel I guess...). Does this somehow impact my system performance?
User avatar
Oscar799
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 10024
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:21 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: LMDE Xfce RC - 32 or 64bit?

Post by Oscar799 »

Moved here from Newbie Questions
Image
User avatar
sumski
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 6:36 am
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: LMDE Xfce RC - 32 or 64bit?

Post by sumski »

yes, it affects performance, but you can easily install 686-pae kernel wich will recognize both CPU-s. I always choose 64-bit, only somewhat problematic software is flash, but with the latest 11beta , situation is better
Acer Extensa 5630G - Core2Duo T5800 2GHz , 4 GB ram, Ati Mobility 3650.
OpenSUSE 12.1 KDE 4.7.3
Debian Sid KDE 4.7.1/2
edv
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 4:53 am
Location: Vilnius, Lithuania

Re: LMDE Xfce RC - 32 or 64bit?

Post by edv »

sumski wrote:yes, it affects performance, but you can easily install 686-pae kernel wich will recognize both CPU-s.
That sounds like a good idea, but what is the proper way of doing that? I tried it in virtualbox. Simply installed 2.6.39-2-686-pae kernel using this guide, successfully booted into it, but system monitor still shows my cpu as single core.
Locked

Return to “LMDE Archive”