Motherboard recommendations?

Chat about just about anything else
Post Reply
Azarado
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2010 4:38 pm

Motherboard recommendations?

Post by Azarado » Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:19 pm

I need board for any Phenom II X6 CPU (I'm flexible...any will do) that will meet all following requirements:
1. At least five PCIe/PCI slots (hopefully 2 supporting nVIDIA SLI, but starting to think this a lost cause!).
2. Floppy disc drive.
3. At least five SATA connectors.
4. Gigabit ethernet.
5. At least one FireWire, and three USB 2.0 ports
Would prefer either Gigabyte or Asus boards, but desperate enough to consider other brands. Suggestions welcomed.

User avatar
xenopeek
Level 24
Level 24
Posts: 24135
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Motherboard recommendations?

Post by xenopeek » Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:35 pm

Moved here by moderator

This sounds like a question you would be better answered on AnandTech, Tom's Hardware or similar hardware forums.

You can check out any hardware from other members and how it works with Linux Mint on the community site: http://community.linuxmint.com/hardware/search
Image

User avatar
karliet
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 9:15 pm
Location: western hemisphere :D

Re: Motherboard recommendations?

Post by karliet » Fri Jan 27, 2012 2:39 pm

does this suit your needs good enough?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6813128514

do you really use floppys still?
they DO make good coasters
Last edited by karliet on Fri Jan 27, 2012 10:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"If to live, we have to be numb, I'd rather know the pain"

AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6719
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands

Re: Motherboard recommendations?

Post by AlbertP » Fri Jan 27, 2012 3:26 pm

I recommend not to use Gigabyte, see also http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTAwMjg.

Asrock motherboards often work well with Linux. There is, for example, M3N78D. That board has an nVidia chipset, but it lacks a second graphics card slot.

Perhaps you can get a board with nForce 680a, 750a, 780a or 980a chipset. Those chipsets support AM3 CPU's like the Phenom II X6 and also support SLI.

Edit. I found this board: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 813131636R
This is the only nVidia SLI capable board for socket AM3 which I can find on Newegg. I think it is a good board, though it is a bit expensive. It has everything you need except floppy.
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.

Post Reply

Return to “Open chat”