Cinnamon 1.3 released!!

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon here
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon
chazdg24
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 5:11 pm

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released!!

Postby chazdg24 » Tue Feb 21, 2012 6:13 pm

aloysius wrote:
chazdg24 wrote:I had the same problem. In the Applet tab in the Cinnamon Settings, there is a button "Restore Default". I clicked that and everything went back in its right place.


I couldn't locate that button. Is it in 1.3.1 version only?

I have no idea - I never got that far with 1.3. I assume that is what you installed. Why would you use 1.3 with all its problems?

chazdg24
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 5:11 pm

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released!!

Postby chazdg24 » Tue Feb 21, 2012 6:16 pm

aloysius wrote:
aloysius wrote:
chazdg24 wrote:I had the same problem. In the Applet tab in the Cinnamon Settings, there is a button "Restore Default". I clicked that and everything went back in its right place.


I couldn't locate that button. Is it in 1.3.1 version only?


I upgraded to 1.3.1 but "reset to default" didn't do the trick for me. :roll:

I did have to do a little "tweaking". I did a little drag and drop, but I got the Menu working just right.

User avatar
Lumikki
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 231
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 5:21 pm

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released!!

Postby Lumikki » Tue Feb 21, 2012 6:20 pm

I got 1.3.1 and it little bit messed my panel, some stuff moved left side. But I was able to fix it very easy after reseting to default, some draging, droping and using Cinnamon settings.
Restore to Default in Cinnamon Settings (1.3.1 only) is in Applets, under selections window where applets are.
Asus P7P55D, i5 750 2.6Ghz, 4GB DDR3, GeForce 750Ti, 80GB Intel SSD, Dell 1600x1200, Dual boot, Linux Mint 18 Cinnamon, Windows 7

User avatar
bimsebasse
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1702
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 10:21 am
Location: Scandinavia

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released!!

Postby bimsebasse » Tue Feb 21, 2012 8:36 pm

1.3.1. - codename "effing up your panel" :D

In dconf editor your can edit your applet placement in a more controlled and less buggy manner than drag and drop - and as soon as you find your desired applet order, don't touch a thing! things will just mess up again
Thank you for this thread. That’s all I can say. You most definitely have made this forum into something special. You clearly know what you are doing, you’ve covered so many bases. Thanks!

Sammaul
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 10:48 pm

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released!!

Postby Sammaul » Tue Feb 21, 2012 9:28 pm

unfortunately dragging and dropping just didnt work for me this time around...even resetting to default, while it worked with some applets, removed others entirely and when I try to place those back in the panel everything moves right back to the left side this time instead of the right...dconf editor here I come lol

User avatar
Lumikki
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 231
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 5:21 pm

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released!!

Postby Lumikki » Tue Feb 21, 2012 9:35 pm

I think when you drag applets, you need to drag them as far left or right you can, then drop it.
It's gonna be little bit wrong place, but after it's correct side of panel, you can arrange them in corrent order.
Asus P7P55D, i5 750 2.6Ghz, 4GB DDR3, GeForce 750Ti, 80GB Intel SSD, Dell 1600x1200, Dual boot, Linux Mint 18 Cinnamon, Windows 7

Sammaul
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 10:48 pm

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released!!

Postby Sammaul » Tue Feb 21, 2012 9:41 pm

yes except the window manager applet, can't move that one at all. Would not let me move the calender applet either, and I still get a reset when i try to add applets...so right now I will have to make do without I think, or spend the time in dconf tweeking it. However, and this is of course just a feeling, I think another update will be on its way soon enough so I just may leave it as is until the next update.

Though I must add 1.3.1 seems to have a much snappier response time. I noticed a definite lag with the 1.3 update compared to 1.2, so i am pleased with that. The panel I can deal with...I use panel applets and a dock as well so I will just shift a couple things around

roger64
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 274
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 5:48 am

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released!!

Postby roger64 » Tue Feb 21, 2012 9:52 pm

bimsebasse wrote:1.3.1. - codename "effing up your panel" :D

In dconf editor your can edit your applet placement in a more controlled and less buggy manner than drag and drop - and as soon as you find your desired applet order, don't touch a thing! things will just mess up again


I had to do it.We can move applets within three zones (left, center, right). The side ones are small, the center one is huge. Then within each zone, you can permute applet order.

Moves can be controlled, either by drag and drop (preferably with Cinnamon theme, where zones are highlighted) or with dconf.

Using dconf, on dconf/org/cinnamon/ when I tried to edit the "enabled-applets" line, I suffered an explosion at the factory. No applets died, but the dconf line went kilometers away on the right. I think old dconf is a little overwhelmed when it has to deal with so many applets.
Has somebody experimented the same problem?

mikesmithv
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 5:38 pm

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released!!

Postby mikesmithv » Tue Feb 21, 2012 9:59 pm

After the update yesterday I now get what appears to be "Gnome Classic" instead of Cinnamon. It does not matter if I select "Gnome Classic", "Gnome" or "Cinnamon" at login, all three bring up the same thing. I noticed today's update was Cinnamon 1.3.1 and I was hopping that would correct this situation but after the update I got the same thing, "Gnome Classic" for all three menu selections. Any idea's on what would cause this? I tried creating a new user but logging in with a fresh home directory did the same thing. I also tried removing Cinnamon, restarted, and installed Cinnamon again - still the same problem.

User avatar
Lumikki
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 231
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 5:21 pm

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released!!

Postby Lumikki » Tue Feb 21, 2012 10:05 pm

mikesmithv wrote: Any idea's on what would cause this? I tried creating a new user but logging in with a fresh home directory did the same thing. I also tried removing Cinnamon, restarted, and installed Cinnamon again - still the same problem.

Most likely it's related graphics cards.

Can you go in your system setting, system information, what does it reads there in graphics tab as driver?
if it reads fallback, then it's graphics driver thing.

Check this: viewtopic.php?f=208&t=94842&start=20#p543183
Asus P7P55D, i5 750 2.6Ghz, 4GB DDR3, GeForce 750Ti, 80GB Intel SSD, Dell 1600x1200, Dual boot, Linux Mint 18 Cinnamon, Windows 7

mikesmithv
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 5:38 pm

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released!!

Postby mikesmithv » Tue Feb 21, 2012 10:28 pm

Lumikki wrote:Can you go in your system setting, system information, what does it reads there in graphics tab as driver?
if it reads fallback, then it's graphics driver thing.

Thanks, that was it! A simple "apt remove --purge nvidia-current" did the trick. Thanks for the quick reply.

User avatar
bimsebasse
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1702
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 10:21 am
Location: Scandinavia

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released!!

Postby bimsebasse » Tue Feb 21, 2012 10:51 pm

roger64 wrote:Using dconf, on dconf/org/cinnamon/ when I tried to edit the "enabled-applets" line, I suffered an explosion at the factory. No applets died, but the dconf line went kilometers away on the right. I think old dconf is a little overwhelmed when it has to deal with so many applets.
Has somebody experimented the same problem?


It does that, dconf editor/window manager bug, though, not a cinnamon bug (AFAIK).
Thank you for this thread. That’s all I can say. You most definitely have made this forum into something special. You clearly know what you are doing, you’ve covered so many bases. Thanks!

z06gal
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 660
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 7:16 pm

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released!!

Postby z06gal » Tue Feb 21, 2012 11:11 pm

roger64 wrote:
bimsebasse wrote:1.3.1. - codename "effing up your panel" :D

In dconf editor your can edit your applet placement in a more controlled and less buggy manner than drag and drop - and as soon as you find your desired applet order, don't touch a thing! things will just mess up again


I had to do it.We can move applets within three zones (left, center, right). The side ones are small, the center one is huge. Then within each zone, you can permute applet order.

Moves can be controlled, either by drag and drop (preferably with Cinnamon theme, where zones are highlighted) or with dconf.

Using dconf, on dconf/org/cinnamon/ when I tried to edit the "enabled-applets" line, I suffered an explosion at the factory. No applets died, but the dconf line went kilometers away on the right. I think old dconf is a little overwhelmed when it has to deal with so many applets.
Has somebody experimented the same problem?



I experienced the same thing and the only thing I know to do is copy the whole line, paste it in a text editor, edit it with the changes you want, and then paste it back in the enabled applets line :wink:

Rehdon
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 142
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 9:18 am

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released!!

Postby Rehdon » Tue Feb 21, 2012 11:36 pm

z06gal wrote:I experienced the same thing and the only thing I know to do is copy the whole line, paste it in a text editor, edit it with the changes you want, and then paste it back in the enabled applets line :wink:


Thanks, that did the trick for me :)

Rehdon

KBD47
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1140
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 12:03 am

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released!!

Postby KBD47 » Wed Feb 22, 2012 1:13 am

bimsebasse wrote:1.3.1. - codename "effing up your panel" :D

In dconf editor your can edit your applet placement in a more controlled and less buggy manner than drag and drop - and as soon as you find your desired applet order, don't touch a thing! things will just mess up again


:lol: That little .1 added to 1.3 is a pita. My wifi and volume applets shot over to the left side of the screen after that update. I moved them back over to the right side, tucked them behind the battery icon, but that made my other icons on the left turn into gray blocks. Logged out and logged back in and all was well.
KBD47

aloysius
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 7:25 am

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released!!

Postby aloysius » Wed Feb 22, 2012 2:30 am

chazdg24 wrote:
aloysius wrote:
chazdg24 wrote:I had the same problem. In the Applet tab in the Cinnamon Settings, there is a button "Restore Default". I clicked that and everything went back in its right place.


I couldn't locate that button. Is it in 1.3.1 version only?

I have no idea - I never got that far with 1.3. I assume that is what you installed. Why would you use 1.3 with all its problems?


Merely testing it on a separate installation.

chazdg24
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 5:11 pm

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released!!

Postby chazdg24 » Wed Feb 22, 2012 11:27 am

Apologies if this has been mentioned. This may be a bug, or perhaps it can be fixed. When I double click an Icon on my Desktop, the program does not open. I can go down to the Menu which works fine, or right click the icon on the Desktop to open the program. Any suggestions or is this a bug?

Thaskalas
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2011 1:08 pm

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released!!

Postby Thaskalas » Thu Feb 23, 2012 5:09 pm

Clem and gang,

I am LOVING Cinnamon!!!! I have been hoping that you guys would dump what Gnome is doing and come up with your own solution. I know this is a small thing, but it is something that I really LOVE about Cinnamon: I love being able to drag an internet shortcut to my desktop on my Winbloze desktop at work, trying to do this with any 'nix desktop UI out there has never worked, it does however work Beautifully in Cinnamon!

Keep up the FANTASTIC work with all of the Minty Goodness!
Thas

bit101
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 9:00 am

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released!!

Postby bit101 » Fri Feb 24, 2012 8:19 am

SidharthaXx wrote:Just to feedback... issues I'm seeing with Cinnamon 1.3,

1. Alt + F2 then "r" is not working anymore... "command not found"

2. The power manager applet (battery icon for my laptop) keeps disappearing (after sleep mainly I have noticed). I have to keep rebooting the applet to see it.


open dconf-editor

go to org / cinnamon

make sure development-tools is checked.

roger64
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 274
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 5:48 am

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released!!

Postby roger64 » Fri Feb 24, 2012 8:57 am

Hi

MainMenu (alacarte) bug.

Unable to delete entries on the main menu display for Cinnamon.

This has been reported to me on a French forum.

Using Cinnamon 1.3.1, you cannot delete entries in the Menu. We should be able to do it the classical way using alacarte and unticking the concerned entry, it does not work. Opening /usr/share/applications and deleting manually the entry does not work either -I did not forget to reload the shell, or to open a new session to make the changes available.

But, if you log as a different user, and open a MGSE session, you can delete entries normally.

I tried to delete the entry "Epiphany" and failed. I suspect it's a real Cinnamon bug.


Return to “Cinnamon”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests