Mint 13 (Maya) RC out

Chat about anything related to Linux Mint
Post Reply
User avatar
outfieldgrass
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 12:56 pm
Location: Port Angeles, WA
Contact:

Re: Mint 13 (Maya) RC out

Post by outfieldgrass »

I've noticed with Mint 13 that after a restart, or logging out and back in, all windows lose their GTK theme setting and they are left with a black border that contains no button to close or minimize. I then have to go into Cinnamon settings, change the GTK theme and then change it back. I didn't have this issue with Mint 12 and its using the same version of Cinnamon, right? Anybody else experience this?
''Any time you have an opportunity to make a difference in this world and you don't, then you are wasting your time on Earth.''
~ Roberto Clemente

zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6480
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Mint 13 (Maya) RC out

Post by zerozero »

outfieldgrass wrote:I didn't have this issue with Mint 12 and its using the same version of Cinnamon, right?
the v. in maya's repository is different from the one available in lisa.
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]

User avatar
Therion87
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 4:07 pm
Location: Youngstown, OH

Re: Mint 13 (Maya) RC out

Post by Therion87 »

Everything seems to be working fine here. Installed all the apps I normally install, compiled my custom kernel, nvidia drivers on 560m, loaded cinnamon apps. No issues I've ran into so far. Loving it right now, been waiting for 13 LTS for quite sometime now. Good work guys!
linuxmint13.jpg
linuxmint13.jpg (442.48 KiB) Viewed 3490 times
Processor: i7-2860QM
Memory: 16 GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
Graphics: Nvidia 560M 1.5GB - 313.18
Operating System: Linux Mint 13 Maya
HDD: 120 GB SSD & 500 GB HDD
Kernel: 3.9

Java_Az
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 3:51 pm

Re: Mint 13 (Maya) RC out

Post by Java_Az »

outfieldgrass wrote:I've noticed with Mint 13 that after a restart, or logging out and back in, all windows lose their GTK theme setting and they are left with a black border that contains no button to close or minimize. I then have to go into Cinnamon settings, change the GTK theme and then change it back. I didn't have this issue with Mint 12 and its using the same version of Cinnamon, right? Anybody else experience this?
Yes i am getting the same thing on my system. If i figure out a solution i will post back with it

realitykid
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 184
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 10:43 pm

Re: Mint 13 (Maya) RC out

Post by realitykid »

I haven't been having said issues with GTK themes on my Mint 13 Cinnamon install. It might have something to do with your hardware? Or maybe you need to reinstall it? Idk. But, as of right now, Mint 13 works perfectly fine for me. I just don't like the replacement for lightdm much. But I can live with it.
Read my full signature, it's too long for this forum:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/113 ... nature.txt

steviejay
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 89
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 7:08 am
Location: London, England
Contact:

Re: Mint 13 (Maya) RC out

Post by steviejay »

Java_Az wrote:
outfieldgrass wrote:I've noticed with Mint 13 that after a restart, or logging out and back in, all windows lose their GTK theme setting and they are left with a black border that contains no button to close or minimize. I then have to go into Cinnamon settings, change the GTK theme and then change it back. I didn't have this issue with Mint 12 and its using the same version of Cinnamon, right? Anybody else experience this?
Yes i am getting the same thing on my system. If i figure out a solution i will post back with it

Add me too the list as well. Bit of a PITA but it's the only issue I have. Apart from that everything's working great.

User avatar
outfieldgrass
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 12:56 pm
Location: Port Angeles, WA
Contact:

Re: Mint 13 (Maya) RC out

Post by outfieldgrass »

steviejay wrote:
Java_Az wrote:
outfieldgrass wrote:I've noticed with Mint 13 that after a restart, or logging out and back in, all windows lose their GTK theme setting and they are left with a black border that contains no button to close or minimize. I then have to go into Cinnamon settings, change the GTK theme and then change it back. I didn't have this issue with Mint 12 and its using the same version of Cinnamon, right? Anybody else experience this?
Yes i am getting the same thing on my system. If i figure out a solution i will post back with it

Add me too the list as well. Bit of a PITA but it's the only issue I have. Apart from that everything's working great.
If this is the only issue we can find I think we are good to go lol. I agree its a PITA but not a deal breaker for me.
''Any time you have an opportunity to make a difference in this world and you don't, then you are wasting your time on Earth.''
~ Roberto Clemente

realitykid
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 184
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 10:43 pm

Re: Mint 13 (Maya) RC out

Post by realitykid »

Well I updated VirtualBox, but the problem I had before still persists. It's only when I have 3D acceleration on though.
Read my full signature, it's too long for this forum:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/113 ... nature.txt

User avatar
esteban1uy
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 733
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 6:20 am

Re: Mint 13 (Maya) RC out

Post by esteban1uy »

Softpedia breaking news: http://news.softpedia.com/news/Linux-Mi ... 0025.shtml
(And they're using a screen capture from LMDE!!! :oops: )
Last edited by esteban1uy on Wed May 16, 2012 4:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Sorry, I only speak Spanish

rodrigodk
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 9:46 am

Re: Mint 13 (Maya) RC out

Post by rodrigodk »

I have a strange bug:

I'm used the option to auto-use the remaining space alongside Windows, and grub was installed on my USB pendrive (mapped as sdb on Live Mint) instead my hard drive (mapped as sda on Live Mint).

I've booted from the pendrive (created from iso using LiLi - Linux Live USB Creator).

How can I submit this installer bug?

The Dark Side
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 321
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 2:58 pm
Location: En el Lado Oscuro !!
Contact:

Re: Mint 13 (Maya) RC out

Post by The Dark Side »

Well, I got the two versions of Linux Mint 13 RC, both are felt very fast, especially with the MATE desktop version. The desktop Cinnamon did not load on my machine, since it still needs graphics acceleration, so I loaded a desktop fallback mode that really works well. I found a great ugly bug in both editions: They have problems to connecting to the Internet, cost me several times using the Network Manager and I recognized the connection to the Internet, nor walked me using "sudo pppoeconf". Hopefully this is corrected in the final version should be borne in account that it is an LTS version.-
MX Linux 18.3 (KDE & XFCE)
PCLinuxOS KDE
PCLinuxOS MATE
Devuan Ascii 2

realitykid
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 184
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 10:43 pm

Re: Mint 13 (Maya) RC out

Post by realitykid »

Jose Manuel wrote:Well, I got the two versions of Linux Mint 13 RC, both are felt very fast, especially with the MATE desktop version. The desktop Cinnamon did not load on my machine, since it still needs graphics acceleration, so I loaded a desktop fallback mode that really works well. I found a great ugly bug in both editions: They have problems to connecting to the Internet, cost me several times using the Network Manager and I recognized the connection to the Internet, nor walked me using "sudo pppoeconf". Hopefully this is corrected in the final version should be borne in account that it is an LTS version.-
I've tested the internet connection both wired and wireless, and both work flawlessly. I don't know why it isn't working for you correctly. What kind of network card are you using? And is it wired or wireless?
Read my full signature, it's too long for this forum:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/113 ... nature.txt

realitykid
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 184
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 10:43 pm

Re: Mint 13 (Maya) RC out

Post by realitykid »

So, I'm listening to music in Mint 13 Cinnamon with Banshee. I noticed that the Banshee icon shows in the system tray area.

Image

Should it be like this? Or is this just a bug?
Read my full signature, it's too long for this forum:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/113 ... nature.txt

cariyawa
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 11:40 pm

Re: Mint 13 (Maya) RC out

Post by cariyawa »

Finally I am done with installing mint 13 with MATE. I used fglrx without any problem(I think cinnamon gave problems because of fglrx.. that is my guess), MATE is really fast.. and seems like very stable. It is just like I am working in my mint 11(I love it :D ). Still I am installing all the required packages. Thanks Clem and all the developers who are working hard to bring this release.

User avatar
esteban1uy
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 733
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 6:20 am

Re: Mint 13 (Maya) RC out

Post by esteban1uy »

realitykid wrote:So, I'm listening to music in Mint 13 Cinnamon with Banshee. I noticed that the Banshee icon shows in the system tray area.
Should it be like this? Or is this just a bug?
That's not a bug, that's a feature!
The same for VLC:

Image
Sorry, I only speak Spanish

cwwgateway
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 832
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 10:44 pm

Re: Mint 13 (Maya) RC out

Post by cwwgateway »

esteban1uy wrote:
realitykid wrote:So, I'm listening to music in Mint 13 Cinnamon with Banshee. I noticed that the Banshee icon shows in the system tray area.
Should it be like this? Or is this just a bug?
That's not a bug, that's a feature!
The same for VLC:

Image
Somewhere on the blog announcement Clem said that banshee kept its icon so it was compatible with other DEs like Xfce.
Dell XPS 15 l502x - Debian Testing 64-bit NetInst Xfce, SolydX 64-bit Debian Testing, SolydK 64-bit SolydXK Testing
Old Gateway Pentium 4 Desktop - Arch Linux 64-bit Xfce and SolydX 32-bit Sid

badmotor
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 379
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 7:40 pm
Location: New Zealand.
Contact:

Re: Mint 13 (Maya) RC out

Post by badmotor »

If anyone is having trouble with the G-streamer bug not playing some MP4 videos in Minitube or other players... I found this:

http://flavio.tordini.org/forums/topic/ ... tributions

User avatar
esteban1uy
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 733
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 6:20 am

Re: Mint 13 (Maya) RC out

Post by esteban1uy »

cwwgateway wrote:Somewhere on the blog announcement Clem said that banshee kept its icon so it was compatible with other DEs like Xfce.
You're right: http://blog.linuxmint.com/?p=2010#comment-64409
"Edit by Clem: (...) For Banshee, we enabled the systray icon despite the fact that Cinnamon doesn’t need it so that it would be compatible with all DEs out there (MATE and Xfce in particular)."
Sorry, I only speak Spanish

Rua
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 148
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 11:09 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Mint 13 (Maya) RC out

Post by Rua »

I wonder why would it not be needed?

User avatar
esteban1uy
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 733
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 6:20 am

Re: Mint 13 (Maya) RC out

Post by esteban1uy »

Rua wrote:I wonder why would it not be needed?
Because it is already integrated into the volume applet:

Image

Image
Sorry, I only speak Spanish

Post Reply

Return to “Chat about Linux Mint”