4 mintTools ready for Elyssa

Releases and other announcements.
Please don't post support questions here
Forum rules
Section reserved for the team. You can reply to announcements here but not post new topics.Please do not add support questions to threads here,use the appropriate support forum instead
User avatar
clem
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4172
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am
Contact:

Re: 4 mintTools ready for Elyssa

Post by clem »

-- mintUpdate 2.2 released (fixes translation problem for level5, and adds German and Italian translations). --
Image

exploder
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5534
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:50 am
Location: HartfordCity, Indiana USA

Re: 4 mintTools ready for Elyssa

Post by exploder »

Clem, no need to look at the problem I posted, it was the same thing Husse pointed out. The explanation for Husse's post clears things up for me. Thanks!

rootkowski
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 5:06 am
Location: Wirral, UK
Contact:

Re: 4 mintTools ready for Elyssa

Post by rootkowski »

Hi!

I installed the latest tools, but I had to do it through synaptic. The problem I have is that mint update doesn't actually show available updates. It only shows some update for konqueror plugins from launchpad, which I simply don't bother installing.

No I cannot say how long it's been working like this. When I opened synaptic and checked for upgradeble packages it showed me quite a few (amarok for example - if someone knows when that was released we would have a slight time frame of how long the problem has been here). Anyway, the problem I'm describing is not only related to latest mint update. It might of course not be related to mint update at all, but perhaps I messed up something in the system.

I hope this post is helpful and someone will come up what the core of the issue really is.

User avatar
clem
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4172
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am
Contact:

Re: 4 mintTools ready for Elyssa

Post by clem »

rootkowski wrote:Hi!

I installed the latest tools, but I had to do it through synaptic. The problem I have is that mint update doesn't actually show available updates. It only shows some update for konqueror plugins from launchpad, which I simply don't bother installing.

No I cannot say how long it's been working like this. When I opened synaptic and checked for upgradeble packages it showed me quite a few (amarok for example - if someone knows when that was released we would have a slight time frame of how long the problem has been here). Anyway, the problem I'm describing is not only related to latest mint update. It might of course not be related to mint update at all, but perhaps I messed up something in the system.

I hope this post is helpful and someone will come up what the core of the issue really is.
Check the information on mintUpdate (right click the icon in the system tray and select "information") to see if something's wrong with the logs. If everything's fine check the prefs to activate all levels and when that's done click the Refresh button from the Window (not from the system tray, to make sure you have root permission).
VaMPiRiC_CRoW wrote:
clem wrote:
VaMPiRiC_CRoW wrote:Can you experiment with glade on this?
I didn't undertand what you said...
Basically the GUI is made with Glade. You can "apt install glade-3" and "gksu glade-3 /usr/lib/linuxmint/mintUpdate/mintUpdate.glade &" to modify the GUI. In there you can see if changing the size or properties of some GUI elements fix the problem.

Clem
Image

rootkowski
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 5:06 am
Location: Wirral, UK
Contact:

Re: 4 mintTools ready for Elyssa

Post by rootkowski »

clem wrote:
rootkowski wrote:Hi!

I installed the latest tools, but I had to do it through synaptic. The problem I have is that mint update doesn't actually show available updates. It only shows some update for konqueror plugins from launchpad, which I simply don't bother installing.

No I cannot say how long it's been working like this. When I opened synaptic and checked for upgradeble packages it showed me quite a few (amarok for example - if someone knows when that was released we would have a slight time frame of how long the problem has been here). Anyway, the problem I'm describing is not only related to latest mint update. It might of course not be related to mint update at all, but perhaps I messed up something in the system.

I hope this post is helpful and someone will come up what the core of the issue really is.
Check the information on mintUpdate (right click the icon in the system tray and select "information") to see if something's wrong with the logs. If everything's fine check the prefs to activate all levels and when that's done click the Refresh button from the Window (not from the system tray, to make sure you have root permission).

Clem
The log from the information thing is like this:

* Launching mintUpdate in root mode
starting refresh
auto-refresh timer is going to sleep for 0 minutes, 1 hours and 0 days
found 1 recommended software updates
refresh finished
starting refresh
found 1 recommended software updates
refresh finished
starting refresh
found 1 recommended software updates
refresh finished

So nothing out of the ordinary. I have all levels marked as safe and to be viewed, plus Update method set to include dist-upgrade packages.

If there should be other logs anywhere just let me know and I will provide them.

Thanks a lot!

PS: for comparison, synaptic says there are around 40 packages ready for upgrade.

User avatar
clem
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4172
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am
Contact:

Re: 4 mintTools ready for Elyssa

Post by clem »

Can you open the GUI and manually click the Refresh button to see if is sees the 39 updates then?

Also, can you give me an example of update from synaptic (package name + exact version) and the content of your /etc/apt/sources.list

Clem.
Image

rootkowski
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 5:06 am
Location: Wirral, UK
Contact:

Re: 4 mintTools ready for Elyssa

Post by rootkowski »

The only result of refreshing the list when the gui is opened is that then it adds one more loop of:
starting refresh
found 1 recommended software updates
refresh finished

As an example of available updates I attach a picture
Image

...and the sources.list:

## -----------------------
## LINUX MINT REPOSITORIES
## -----------------------

## +++ Daryna (Linux Mint 4.0) +++
deb http://www.linuxmint.com/repository/ daryna main upstream import
## deb http://www.linuxmint.com/repository daryna community
## deb http://www.linuxmint.com/repository daryna backport

## +++ Romeo (Linux Mint Unstable) +++
deb http://www.linuxmint.com/repository/ romeo daryna

## +++ Source Repositories +++
## deb-src http://www.linuxmint.com/repository daryna main upstream import
## deb-src http://www.linuxmint.com/repository daryna community
## deb-src http://www.linuxmint.com/repository daryna backport
## deb-src http://www.linuxmint.com/repository romeo daryna

## -------------------
## UBUNTU REPOSITORIES
## -------------------

## +++ Gutsy (Ubuntu 7.10) +++
deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ gutsy main restricted universe multiverse
deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ gutsy-updates main restricted universe multiverse
deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ gutsy-security main restricted universe multiverse

## +++ Backports & Proposed (Ubuntu Unstable) +++
# deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ gutsy-backports main restricted universe multiverse
# deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ gutsy-proposed main restricted universe multiverse

## +++ Source Repositories +++
# deb-src http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ gutsy main restricted universe multiverse
# deb-src http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ gutsy-updates main restricted universe multiverse
# deb-src http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ gutsy-security main restricted universe multiverse
# deb-src http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ gutsy-backports main restricted universe multiverse

## ------------------
## OTHER REPOSITORIES
## ------------------

## +++ Canonical +++
deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ gutsy partner

## +++ Medibuntu +++
deb http://packages.medibuntu.org/ gutsy free non-free



deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/kubuntu-members-kde4/ubuntu gutsy main
deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/rharding/ubuntu gutsy main
deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/rharding/ubuntu gutsy main

I hope that helps :)

PS: just one more thing I have to add to it all. I noticed that the repository for wine doesn't exist on the list above, though it does in synaptic (when you show things according to origin) and in software sources, and I remember I did add it. I find it very weird to be honest (I really wonder what I did :S ).

User avatar
clem
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4172
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am
Contact:

Re: 4 mintTools ready for Elyssa

Post by clem »

Check to see if there are files in /etc/apt/repos.d/ and also, try to remove/comment the repositories below and perform an "apt update":

deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/kubuntu-members-kde4/ubuntu gutsy main
deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/rharding/ubuntu gutsy main
deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/rharding/ubuntu gutsy main

The updates you're showing me appear fine on my system with mintUpdate... I can't identify the problem yet.

Clem.
Image

rootkowski
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 5:06 am
Location: Wirral, UK
Contact:

Re: 4 mintTools ready for Elyssa

Post by rootkowski »

clem wrote:Check to see if there are files in /etc/apt/repos.d/ and also, try to remove/comment the repositories below and perform an "apt update":

deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/kubuntu-members-kde4/ubuntu gutsy main
deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/rharding/ubuntu gutsy main
deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/rharding/ubuntu gutsy main

The updates you're showing me appear fine on my system with mintUpdate... I can't identify the problem yet.

Clem.
Yes, that did the trick. I commented out the 3 repos you mentioned and then mint update works just as it should. I can't say I understand how it happens like that but well, I'm not a developer :)

BTW, I found the wine repos in /etc/apt/sources.list.d so that's fine too.

I just hope that this whole thing on my system was somewhat helpful not just an unnecessary headache for you.

Thanks a lot for your help! :)

User avatar
Toontwnca
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu May 31, 2007 11:32 pm

Re: 4 mintTools ready for Elyssa

Post by Toontwnca »

Are these usable with Daryna KDE Beta 44?
It doesn't matter if a glass is half empty or half full.
There is clearly room for more wine.

Notebook: Asus K53U 1.6 gz, 4gb ram, 500 gb hd, AMD 6310 Radeon

hoppel
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 174
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 1:38 pm

Re: 4 mintTools ready for Elyssa

Post by hoppel »

Hi,


that's probably just a minor detail, but every time I update mintupdate all former settings are lost.

User avatar
Zwopper
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3078
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 12:20 pm
Location: Deep in the Swedish woods
Contact:

Re: 4 mintTools ready for Elyssa

Post by Zwopper »

hoppel wrote:Hi,


that's probably just a minor detail, but every time I update mintupdate all former settings are lost.
Dito! :(
Image
My artwork at deviantART | My Band - Electric Alchemea
CREA DIEM!

Lenovo U330P | i5 | 16GB | 128GB - SSD | Elemantary OS 0.4

Locked

Return to “Releases & Announcements”