[Solved] LMDE in to Debian

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Forum rules
User avatar
Regulus74
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 6:07 pm
Location: Mantova - Italy

[Solved] LMDE in to Debian

Postby Regulus74 » Sun Jun 24, 2012 5:52 am

How to turn LMDE in pure Debian sid? :D
I already changed repo.
Last edited by Regulus74 on Sun Jul 01, 2012 11:38 am, edited 1 time in total.
Arch Linux user

Brian49
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 611
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 2:27 pm

Re: LMDE in to Debian

Postby Brian49 » Sun Jun 24, 2012 6:13 am

Presumably part of the answer would be to remove any packages containing the word "mint", but you would need to make sure that this did not deprive you of needed functionality. For example, removing the packages mint-translations and mintupdate-debian might do so. Or you could decide that you might as well keep them. Apart from those two, the only "mint" packages on my system are linuxmint-keyring, mint-common and mint-info-xfce.

rhodry
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 344
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 7:32 am

Re: LMDE in to Debian

Postby rhodry » Mon Jun 25, 2012 1:04 am

If you are going to run "pure" Sid:

- remove all Linuxmint sources from /etc/apt/sources.list;

- remove apt.conf and apt.preferences files (if they exist) from/etc/apt. Apt "pinning" as it is called can screw with "Sid". You do not need apt.preferences to get the occasional package from "experimental";

- do not use any 'deb-multimedia' source other that "Sid", such as the Mint multimedia;

- install apt-listchanges & apt-listbugs;

- monitor "Sid" thread in here + "Debian Weather" site before upgrading;

- upgrade at least once or twice a week using command line (not GUI).

Here is my Debian Sid sources.list FYI;

##
deb http://mirror.internode.on.net/pub/debian/ unstable main contrib non-free
deb http://mirror.internode.on.net/pub/debian/ experimental main contrib non-free
deb http://www.deb-multimedia.org/ sid main non-free
deb http://dl.google.com/linux/chrome/deb/ stable main
deb http://dl.google.com/linux/musicmanager/deb/ stable main
deb http://qt-kde.debian.net/debian/ experimental-snapshots main
# Liquorix sources added by smxi
deb http://liquorix.net/debian/ sid main

This system runs the Liquorix kernels, a couple of Google direct apps and up-to-date KDE. I ALWAYS use smxi/sgfxi for Debian based proprietary kernels & drivers.

have fun,
rhodry.
Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass...
it's about learning to dance in the rain.

wayne128
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3425
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:15 am

Re: LMDE in to Debian

Postby wayne128 » Mon Jun 25, 2012 8:19 pm

Also, there are several other ways to get to Debian Sid,
1, start from aptosid, add Debian kernel, then boot to debian kernel, remove aptosid stuff, you soon get Debian Sid
good if you want kde, xfce

2, same as above, but start from Siduction, latest release had very new snapshot with kernel 3.4
good if you want kde, xfce, lxde

telenux
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 163
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 2:52 am

Re: LMDE in to Debian

Postby telenux » Thu Jun 28, 2012 11:27 am

Choices:
Debian Sid
Debian Testing
Siduction
Last edited by zerozero on Thu Jun 28, 2012 1:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: language

patrikm
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 6:18 am
Location: Berlin

Re: LMDE in to Debian

Postby patrikm » Sun Jul 01, 2012 6:45 am

rhodry wrote:If you are going to run "pure" Sid:

- remove apt.conf and apt.preferences files (if they exist) from/etc/apt. Apt "pinning" as it is called can screw with "Sid". You do not need apt.preferences to get the occasional package from "experimental";



Is this step also necessary in order to turn LMDE into debian testing?

Thanks a lot.

patrik

zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6517
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: LMDE in to Debian

Postby zerozero » Sun Jul 01, 2012 6:49 am

patrikm wrote:Is this step also necessary in order to turn LMDE into debian testing?

patrik

yes, absolutely.
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]

User avatar
Regulus74
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 6:07 pm
Location: Mantova - Italy

Re: [Solved] LMDE in to Debian

Postby Regulus74 » Sun Jul 01, 2012 11:53 am

1- I removed all mint packages

2- I changed sources.list

deb http://ftp.it.debian.org/debian/ unstabel main contrib non-free
# deb-src http://ftp.it.debian.org/debian/ unstable main contrib non-free
deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org sid main non-free
# deb-src http://www.debian-multimedia.org sid main non-free
# deb http://ftp.it.debian.org/debian/ experimental main contrib non-free *

* I active this repo only when I need it

3- I changed /etc/lsb_release

DISTRIB_ID=Debian
DISTRIB_RELEASE=unstable
DISTRIB_CODENAME=sid
DISTRIB_DESCRIPTION="Debian GNU/Linux unstable (sid)"

4- I changed /etc/issue

Debian GNU/Linux wheezy/sid \n \l

5- I changed /etc/issue.net

Debian GNU/Linux sid

6- I changed /etc/apt/preferences

Package: *
Pin: release a=experimental
Pin-Priority: 500

This because when I active experimental repo, synaptic shows me updates

7- Delete file in /etc/gconf/gconf.xml.default

8-

Code: Select all

sudo update-grub
to change mint grub with Debian grub
Last edited by Regulus74 on Fri Jul 06, 2012 1:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Arch Linux user

zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6517
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: [Solved] LMDE in to Debian

Postby zerozero » Sun Jul 01, 2012 6:45 pm

re: 6- you kept the original preferences file and added that rule? or replaced all the content with that rule only?
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]

User avatar
Regulus74
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 6:07 pm
Location: Mantova - Italy

Re: [Solved] LMDE in to Debian

Postby Regulus74 » Mon Jul 02, 2012 7:14 am

zerozero wrote:re: 6- you kept the original preferences file and added that rule? or replaced all the content with that rule only?

I replaced all the content with the rule in point 6...because the default PIN of experimental repo is 100 and so updates are not shown in synaptic or with apt-get update (the default PIN of Stable, Testing and sid is 500).
Arch Linux user

zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6517
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: [Solved] LMDE in to Debian

Postby zerozero » Mon Jul 02, 2012 7:20 am

ahh now i understand :D you want to see all the experimental updates when that repo is active. ok that way makes sense :wink:
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]

patrikm
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 6:18 am
Location: Berlin

Re: LMDE in to Debian

Postby patrikm » Thu Jul 05, 2012 6:00 am

zerozero wrote:
patrikm wrote:Is this step also necessary in order to turn LMDE into debian testing?

patrik

yes, absolutely.


Thanks, but I am still a little bit confused, sorry. Is removing /etc/apt/preferences only necessary in order to turn LMDE into a PURE debian testing or also for an /etc/apt/sources.list like this:

deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import
deb http://ftp.de.debian.org/debian testing main contrib non-free
deb http://ftp.debian.org/debian/ testing-updates main contrib non-free
deb http://security.debian.org/ testing/updates main contrib non-free
deb ftp://ftp.deb-multimedia.org testing main non-free

Is this the right sources.list to track debian testing and mint packages?

Thanks again.

patrik

zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6517
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: [Solved] LMDE in to Debian

Postby zerozero » Thu Jul 05, 2012 6:47 am

patrik,
those sources.list look right to track lmde+debian testing and yes, you should also in this scenario delete the preferences file.
it serves a fine purpose with the vanilla sources.list but gives you more troubles than needed as soon as you leave the defaults.
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]

patrikm
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 6:18 am
Location: Berlin

Re: [Solved] LMDE in to Debian

Postby patrikm » Thu Jul 05, 2012 10:59 am

zerozero wrote:patrik,
those sources.list look right to track lmde+debian testing and yes, you should also in this scenario delete the preferences file.
it serves a fine purpose with the vanilla sources.list but gives you more troubles than needed as soon as you leave the defaults.


Thank you very much zerozero.

patrik

User avatar
Regulus74
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 6:07 pm
Location: Mantova - Italy

Re: [Solved] LMDE in to Debian

Postby Regulus74 » Fri Jul 06, 2012 1:21 pm

There is another file to delete in /etc/gconf/gconf.xml.default :wink:
Arch Linux user

User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 771
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Re: [Solved] LMDE in to Debian

Postby xircon » Fri Jul 06, 2012 1:51 pm

Regulus74 wrote:There is another file to delete in /etc/gconf/gconf.xml.default :wink:

What does this file do?

Steve
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"

User avatar
Regulus74
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 6:07 pm
Location: Mantova - Italy

Re: [Solved] LMDE in to Debian

Postby Regulus74 » Fri Jul 06, 2012 2:07 pm

xircon wrote:
Regulus74 wrote:There is another file to delete in /etc/gconf/gconf.xml.default :wink:

What does this file do?

Steve


It's the default configuration of gconf; it's the file that admin can use to set default values and keys of gconf for all users...in LMDE contains default configuration of LMDE
Last edited by Regulus74 on Sat Jul 07, 2012 1:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Arch Linux user

User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 771
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Re: [Solved] LMDE in to Debian

Postby xircon » Fri Jul 06, 2012 3:04 pm

That might be the file that is causing me all the trouble with the login window, deleted, will see what happens.

Cheers

Steve
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"

User avatar
GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1603
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: [Solved] LMDE in to Debian

Postby GeneC » Fri Jul 06, 2012 5:01 pm

Thanks for this thread Regulus.

I followed all the tips and now have Debian SID.
The only things leftover from LMDE are = a Mint Grub theme, and Mint MDM theme (modified with new background, text, and Debian logo) :)

Still have my LMDE/UP4/Cinnamon partition to watch the developments of LMDE... I suspect UP5 is just around the corner.. 8)

Code: Select all

gene@zordon:~$ inxi -S
System:    Host: zordon Kernel: 3.4.0-2.dmz.2-liquorix-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit) Desktop: Gnome Distro: Debian unstable SID


Code: Select all

gene@zordon:~$ inxi -r
Repos:     Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list
           deb http://www.deb-multimedia.org sid main non-free #"NEW - SID Multimedia"
           deb http://http.us.debian.org/debian/ unstable main contrib non-free #"SID"
           deb http://www.duinsoft.nl/pkg debs all # "JAVA"
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/google-chrome.list
           deb http://dl.google.com/linux/chrome/deb/ stable main #"Chrome"
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/liquorix.list
           deb http://liquorix.net/debian/ sid main #"Liquorix"

User avatar
Regulus74
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 6:07 pm
Location: Mantova - Italy

Re: [Solved] LMDE in to Debian

Postby Regulus74 » Sat Jul 07, 2012 6:01 pm

GeneC wrote:The only things leftover from LMDE are = a Mint Grub theme, and Mint MDM theme (modified with new background, text, and Debian logo) :)


I'm using LightDM 8)
Arch Linux user


Return to “Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests