Low sound volume on LMDE...

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Forum rules
sirscratchalot
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 5:01 am

Low sound volume on LMDE...

Postby sirscratchalot » Fri May 18, 2012 5:16 am

Hi guys I'm new to linux and currently trying out distros. I've got a bit of a crush on LMDE but I've got a small problem:
Sound volume is very low even at a 100% compared to Ubuntu installed on the same machine. I've checked Alsamixer but there is no other sound settings rather than master.
Sound can be set above 100% from the sound settings panel which helps but is not an ideal way to change the volume.

What can I do?

User avatar
Oscar799
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9698
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:21 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Low sound volume on LMDE...

Postby Oscar799 » Fri May 18, 2012 7:18 am

Moved here by moderator
Image

wayne128
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3412
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:15 am

Re: Low sound volume on LMDE...

Postby wayne128 » Fri May 18, 2012 9:32 am

sirscratchalot wrote:Hi guys I'm new to linux and currently trying out distros. I've got a bit of a crush on LMDE but I've got a small problem:
Sound volume is very low even at a 100% compared to Ubuntu installed on the same machine. I've checked Alsamixer but there is no other sound settings rather than master.
Sound can be set above 100% from the sound settings panel which helps but is not an ideal way to change the volume.

What can I do?


Just an idea,
When you are on terminal with alsamixer, hit F6, select another sound card.. hopeful you get a full mixer..

User avatar
lunatico
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 12:00 pm

Re: Low sound volume on LMDE...

Postby lunatico » Wed Jul 25, 2012 10:20 am

I get the same issue with LM 13 Cinnamon. Pressing F6 does not bring a more detailed mixer, it just brings out playback and capture together. Also noticed volume step is to big, it increases/decreases in jumps of 7% for each press of the volume button.

Anyone found a solution yet?

User avatar
Oscar799
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9698
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:21 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Low sound volume on LMDE...

Postby Oscar799 » Wed Jul 25, 2012 10:23 am

lunatico wrote:I get the same issue with LM 13 Cinnamon. Pressing F6 does not bring a more detailed mixer, it just brings out playback and capture together. Also noticed volume step is to big, it increases/decreases in jumps of 7% for each press of the volume button.

Anyone found a solution yet?


Mint 13 and LMDE are different
Please post support questions about LM13 in the Main Edition Support section
Image

User avatar
lunatico
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 12:00 pm

Re: Low sound volume on LMDE...

Postby lunatico » Wed Jul 25, 2012 10:34 am

Oscar799 wrote:Mint 13 and LMDE are different
Please post support questions about LM13 in the Main Edition Support section


True that! Will do, thanks.


Return to “Archive”