SOLVED: Problems with Netbeans main menu and/or Java

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
mayid
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 10:02 pm

SOLVED: Problems with Netbeans main menu and/or Java

Postby mayid » Sat Jan 28, 2012 7:39 pm

Today i downloaded the JVM. Sadly i tried to installed it from the downloads folder and i didn't want that. So, after that i moved the installation file to a new /usr/java folder and installed it again (previously i just deleted the first installation folder).

Now, i think that this way i caused troubles to Netbeans. It's hard to say, because i'm running a new Mint 12 installation (64bits). Weird behavior in netbeans starts from the main menu items. When i click'em they won't open. I mean, they shot down inmediately at least i keep the mouse pressed. Then, if i move the mouse over the items i just can't be sure wich item i'm selecting, because the mouse point one but the highlight color enlights other.

What should i do? Can i uninstall my first try? How?

Ps: according to Java docs, it's ok to just delete the installation folder: http://www.java.com/en/download/help/li ... nstall.xml
What's the problem then? :?
Last edited by mayid on Sun Jan 29, 2012 11:33 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
xenopeek
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19698
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Problems with Netbeans and/or Java

Postby xenopeek » Sun Jan 29, 2012 6:39 am

Any reason why you are not installing this through the repositories? Software Manager or Synaptic Package Manager, search for sun-java6-jre, and install.
Image

grizzler
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 645
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 5:19 pm
Location: The Hague, NL

Re: Problems with Netbeans and/or Java

Postby grizzler » Sun Jan 29, 2012 9:29 am

The sun-java6 packages offered by repositories are hopelessly outdated (6.26 or older) and unsafe, so that is not a viable option. Always try OpenJDK first (search for openjdk-6-jre in Synaptic) and if that doesn't work, look here http://sites.google.com/site/easylinuxtipsproject/java or here http://www.duinsoft.nl/packages.php?t=en for an alternative.

Also, this: viewtopic.php?f=42&t=93052

mayid
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 10:02 pm

Re: Problems with Netbeans and/or Java

Postby mayid » Sun Jan 29, 2012 11:11 am

Thanks. Updating from the duinsoft repositories (http://www.duinsoft.nl/packages.php?t=en) was my preferred option. I had to uninstall and then reinstall netbeans anyway. But i find the same problem still. However i can point that the problem only exists when the window is maximized. By other hand, there's no issues with other Java based soft here, so the problem must be other. Notice that also the secondary windows in Netbeans works well. The only misbehavior is the main menu when windows is maximized, as far as i can tell now.

Edited: I found other people with same problem (in year 2009): http://forums.netbeans.org/post-55143.html
My Netbeans says this in the "About" menu item:
Product Version: NetBeans IDE 7.1 (Build 201201101530)
Java: 1.6.0_30; Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM 20.5-b03
System: versión Linux 3.0.0-12-generic ejecutándose en amd64; UTF-8; es_AR (nb)


Edited: here's some more (year 2011). They talk about GNOME 3, and the comment #8 points the maximized window fact: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=118737 : Maybe this is related to Cinnamon desktop or themes?

SOLVED: the last mentioned thread provides a funny solutions. Moving the window to left/top corner previous to maximize window solves the issue! :) After that, each time i open Netbeans it's just fine.

ishanmahajan
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2012 11:02 am

Re: SOLVED: Problems with Netbeans main menu and/or Java

Postby ishanmahajan » Sat Jul 21, 2012 11:05 am

Thank you.
Funny solution indeed but it works!

LordFoobar
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2012 8:07 am

Re: SOLVED: Problems with Netbeans main menu and/or Java

Postby LordFoobar » Tue Jul 31, 2012 12:32 pm

It may solve your problem, but not mine. Although the ALT+SHIFT+ENTER (x2) to enter and leave full screen does work.

However, I have noticed that the main menu (JMenuBar) does not use the system UI, and the drop-down menus have no border, which leads me to think that the menu component of Netbeans is not working as it should. Any idea how to solve this?

User avatar
knightmaremx
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2007 10:55 pm
Location: México

Re: SOLVED: Problems with Netbeans main menu and/or Java

Postby knightmaremx » Tue Aug 07, 2012 8:53 am

Thanks!!! moving the window to the upper left corner before maximizing solved my issue, I was going crazy.

mintish
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 5:05 pm

Re: SOLVED: Problems with Netbeans main menu and/or Java

Postby mintish » Tue Dec 11, 2012 1:33 pm

year 2012 december i had same problem but am using ubun2 with mate i solved th problem by clicking syncronize views option in the view menu in netbeans tought would post in case it helped someone


Return to “Software & Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 12 guests