lmde repositories error [Solved]

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Forum rules
corcaigher
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 11:18 am

lmde repositories error [Solved]

Postby corcaigher » Fri Aug 10, 2012 6:14 am

I always get the following error when running Synaptic: W: GPG error: http://debian.linuxmint.com testing Release: The following signatures couldn't be verified because the public key is not available: NO_PUBKEY 07DC563D1F41B907

Here are my sources:
deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian upstream import main
deb-src http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian upstream import main #Added by software-properties
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest/security testing/updates main contrib non-free
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest/multimedia testing main non-free
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest testing main contrib non-free
deb-src http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest testing main contrib non-free

How do I correct this issue? What causes this?
Last edited by corcaigher on Tue Oct 02, 2012 4:53 am, edited 1 time in total.
Desktop: Qiana kde 64, AMD Phenom 9150e Quad-Core Processor 1.8GHz, 8GiB Memory, Nvidia GF108 [GeForce GT 430]

squeezy
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 566
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 2:05 pm
Location: The Land of Enchantment

Re: lmde repositories error

Postby squeezy » Fri Aug 10, 2012 9:40 am

You are likely missing the key for Debian Multimedia.

In Synaptic look for the package called debian-multimedia-keyring and install it. You'll get a warning about installing an unauthenticated package but ignore that. Refresh the package list in Synaptic and you should see no further errors.

craigevil
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 554
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 6:10 am
Location: down the rabbit hole
Contact:

Re: lmde repositories error

Postby craigevil » Fri Aug 10, 2012 1:16 pm

squeezy wrote:You are likely missing the key for Debian Multimedia.

In Synaptic look for the package called debian-multimedia-keyring and install it. You'll get a warning about installing an unauthenticated package but ignore that. Refresh the package list in Synaptic and you should see no further errors.


why would he need the deb-multimedia-keyring when he doesn't have it in his sources.list?

if he had it there would be a line showing:
deb http://www.deb-multimedia.org/ testing main non-free

Instead the OP is using lmde repos.
Debian Sid KDE4.8.4 Kernel 3.4 Thinkpad R40 CPU Pentium M 1.3MHz RAM 2GB ATI Mobility 7500
Debian - "If you can't apt-get something, it isn't useful or doesn't exist"
Giant Debian sources.list | Debian upgrade script smxi | sysinfo script inxi

squeezy
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 566
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 2:05 pm
Location: The Land of Enchantment

Re: lmde repositories error

Postby squeezy » Fri Aug 10, 2012 1:28 pm

craigevil wrote:why would he need the deb-multimedia-keyring when he doesn't have it in his sources.list?


This line contains Mint's snapshot of the multimedia repo...

Code: Select all

deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest/multimedia testing main non-free


As of UP4 it was still debian-multimedia, not sure if the repo for UP5 will be deb-multimedia or not.

ketoth
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 81
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 8:01 pm

Re: lmde repositories error

Postby ketoth » Fri Aug 10, 2012 10:16 pm

squeezy wrote:As of UP4 it was still debian-multimedia, not sure if the repo for UP5 will be deb-multimedia or not.

debian-multimedia.org became deb-multimedia.org meanwhile.
Anyway this repo is snapshotted as "/latest/multimedia". The packages still are signed by deb-multimedia, so "debian-multimedia-keyring" is required to validate them.

corcaigher
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 11:18 am

Re: lmde repositories error

Postby corcaigher » Tue Aug 14, 2012 2:07 am

It is not debian-multimedia because it is already installed. Something else is amiss.
Desktop: Qiana kde 64, AMD Phenom 9150e Quad-Core Processor 1.8GHz, 8GiB Memory, Nvidia GF108 [GeForce GT 430]

zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6516
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: lmde repositories error

Postby zerozero » Tue Aug 14, 2012 6:32 am

try

Code: Select all

apt install debian-keyring
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]

corcaigher
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 11:18 am

Re: lmde repositories error [Solved]

Postby corcaigher » Tue Oct 02, 2012 4:53 am

Installed Maya so this is no longer an issue for me.
Desktop: Qiana kde 64, AMD Phenom 9150e Quad-Core Processor 1.8GHz, 8GiB Memory, Nvidia GF108 [GeForce GT 430]


Return to “Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest