Is mintUpdate synchronized with Synaptic updates?

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
User avatar
lunatico
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 12:00 pm

Is mintUpdate synchronized with Synaptic updates?

Postby lunatico » Fri Aug 10, 2012 5:28 am

Hello,

Forgive me if this is a dumb question but I'm confused with this.

So LM has it's own Update Manager which is very nice and works very well. But I just noticed today that my systems appears to be up-to-date according to Update Manager (it has a green check mark icon). But if I go into Synaptic is see there's a few packages that have a bang (!) icon which I think means they can be marked for upgrade.
Screenshot.png
Screenshot.png (65.52 KiB) Viewed 1523 times


So my question is: is mintUpdate in-line or synchronized with Synaptic or do they work separately?

The reason I ask is because I'm troubleshooting a problem that involves xserver and the fix seems to be on the xserver-xorg-input-evdev package. Mint's Update Manager does not report this package as a candidate for update but on Synaptic it looks like I can mark it for update. So before I go updating packages I though I'd ask to clarify and to ultimately understand this.

Thanks!

HughT
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 627
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 1:54 pm
Location: England

Re: Is mintUpdate synchronized with Synaptic updates?

Postby HughT » Fri Aug 10, 2012 6:30 am

hi lunatico, I guess it would depend upon which level of upgrades you have selected in the Mint Update Manager preferences. Check that out first. regards
Please Edit your post title and add [SOLVED] once your question is resolved.

User avatar
lunatico
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 12:00 pm

Re: Is mintUpdate synchronized with Synaptic updates?

Postby lunatico » Fri Aug 10, 2012 8:01 am

HughT wrote:hi lunatico, I guess it would depend upon which level of upgrades you have selected in the Mint Update Manager preferences. Check that out first. regards


I haven't changed it so I suppose it's the defaults. It looks like I have level 1, 2 and 3 on.
Screenshot1.png
Screenshot1.png (49.66 KiB) Viewed 1513 times

squeezy
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 566
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 2:05 pm
Location: The Land of Enchantment

Re: Is mintUpdate synchronized with Synaptic updates?

Postby squeezy » Fri Aug 10, 2012 9:30 am

Checkmark "Visible" under levels 4 and 5 and you'll see the same updates that Synaptic shows. Synaptic has no restrictions on what it shows.

Marking 4 and 5 as visible will allow them to be seen in Update Manager but not selected by default.

User avatar
lunatico
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 12:00 pm

Re: Is mintUpdate synchronized with Synaptic updates?

Postby lunatico » Fri Aug 10, 2012 9:38 am

squeezy wrote:Checkmark "Visible" under levels 4 and 5 and you'll see the same updates that Synaptic shows. Synaptic has no restrictions on what it shows.

Marking 4 and 5 as visible will allow them to be seen in Update Manager but not selected by default.


Thanks very much, that makes sense.


Return to “Software & Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 14 guests