Software Manager Installed/Not Installed

Write suggestions and new ideas in here
More ideas here
Forum rules
  • Only post ideas here that are specifically about the Linux Mint distribution or its websites.
  • So that developers and users from any distribution can discuss ideas in one place, post ideas about improving software to the collaboration website for that software instead.
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 1:37 pm
Location: Slough, UK

Software Manager Installed/Not Installed

Postby craig100 » Fri Aug 10, 2012 9:51 am

Could we have the "Not Installed" indication change to "Installed" when an install completes? Currently when an install is completed the only indication is "0 ongoing actions" as it still says "Not Installed" in the blue bar near the top. Catches me out everytime!



User avatar
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5138
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: Software Manager Installed/Not Installed

Postby viking777 » Fri Aug 10, 2012 1:29 pm

Never having used the software manager, I can't comment with any certainty, but it seems like a pretty reasonable request to me, so why not put it here as well:
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).

Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 268
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 4:04 pm

Software Manager Installed/Not Installed

Postby animaguy » Wed Aug 15, 2012 12:42 pm

I like this idea. I have learned a personal system for keeping track of everything currently installed on my Linux Mint OS.

I have not yet devised a method for keeping track of all installed repositories or the uninstalled programs that are available on all installed repositories.

Eventually I will have a system in place via the command line.

However it would be nice if there was a standard Linux Mint GUI that could do the job with the click of a few shiny buttons.

User avatar
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19499
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Software Manager Installed/Not Installed

Postby xenopeek » Wed Aug 15, 2012 2:39 pm

This is already up for consideration by the developers over at the Community website:

It's not really a missing feature so let's just call it what it is; a bug. I'm sure it wasn't intended to work this way :wink: Clem commented a while back the Software Manager needs an overhaul, so hopefully that is in the works soon.

Return to “Suggestions & New Ideas”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests