Will not connect to vpn after upgrading to UP5

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Forum rules
User avatar
ChiVampir
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue May 03, 2011 4:29 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Will not connect to vpn after upgrading to UP5

Postby ChiVampir » Wed Sep 26, 2012 8:24 am

The title says it all.
I've been trying to connect to my university's vpn (pptp) for hours without any results.
It just keeps telling me that it fails to connect.

I've tried to add the vpn again, and also adding another vpn just to check if the server was down, but I couldn't connect with that either.

Does anyone know how to fix this problem?

User avatar
ChiVampir
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue May 03, 2011 4:29 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: Will not connect to vpn after upgrading to UP5

Postby ChiVampir » Thu Sep 27, 2012 1:09 am

I see that this is a problem in Ubuntu 12.04 and Linux Mint 13 as well (tried to install them yesterday to see if they solved the problem).
I've tried to reinstall pptp-linux and network-manager-pptp without any results.

This is the guide provided by my university: http://www.umb.no/computer-service/arti ... -for-linux is it possible to connect with another program than the network manager? I really need this to work, to be able to work at home.

User avatar
ChiVampir
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue May 03, 2011 4:29 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: Will not connect to vpn after upgrading to UP5

Postby ChiVampir » Fri Sep 28, 2012 2:28 am

Huh..
When I started my computer today the vpn magically worked again, really weird (it have been working all the while on my netbook with Peppermint OS).

But now no window shows up when I'm clicking on the "network settings" button under the network icon on the panel. But I still find network manager in the menu so that's not a big problem for me, just a little bit irritating :)

User avatar
dritzominous
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 159
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 12:49 am

Re: Will not connect to vpn after upgrading to UP5

Postby dritzominous » Fri Sep 28, 2012 2:55 am

You might want to try deleting it, and then adding it to the panel again. That sometimes does the trick.

These network managers have been quite finicky in the update process. That is, in multiple desktop environments; including Xfce, which is what I happen to be running at the moment.


Return to “Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: linux22 and 5 guests