device name in router's connected devices

Connection sharing, Firewall, Samba..etc
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
petersk
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 5:10 pm

device name in router's connected devices

Postby petersk » Sat Nov 24, 2012 1:05 pm

I was wondering if anyone knew the answer to this. I have two linux mint 13 intallations. One of the hostnames shows up in my router's 'connected devices' list, while the other does not. They both show IP address, but one, for some reason will not show it's hostname. When I do a 'hostname' on either machine, they report their name correctly. Any idea why one machine reports its name and the other doesn't?
I think their samba setups are essentially the same. But they might be slightly different, but I'm not sure what to look for.

Regards,
Kurt

altair4
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7947
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: device name in router's connected devices

Postby altair4 » Sat Nov 24, 2012 2:25 pm

You might want to go through the following checklist on the machine that it cannot see:

Samba Browsing Problems Checklist: viewtopic.php?f=42&t=88146&start=0

It could be something simple like the host name being too long.
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.

petersk
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 5:10 pm

Re: device name in router's connected devices

Postby petersk » Sat Nov 24, 2012 11:32 pm

Although not in your suggestions, I noticed that both computers were set up as WINS servers for the Workgroup (if that makes sense). I changed two things: I made it a WINS client by commenting the WINS Server line that had yes, and pointed the other Wins Server IP address at the other machine.
I also put a special line in for netbios name even though it was less than 15 chars.
One of those changes fixed the problem.

Kurt


Return to “Other networking topics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests