After fresh install of Mint 14 Ethernet doesnt work anymore

Questions about cabled networking
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
joachim
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2012 4:06 am

After fresh install of Mint 14 Ethernet doesnt work anymore

Postby joachim » Sun Dec 02, 2012 2:05 pm

Hi,

After a fresh install of Mint 14 my Internet via ethernet doesnt work anymore. It worked before the fresh install with Mint 13.

Any help?

:/

Code: Select all


inxi -Fc 0
System:    Host: joachim-TravelMate-5744 Kernel: 3.5.0-17-generic x86_64 (64 bit) Desktop: N/A Distro: Linux Mint 14 Nadia
Machine:   System: Acer product: TravelMate 5744 version: V1.06
           Mobo: Acer model: BA52_CP version: Type2 - Board Version Bios: Insyde version: V1.06 date: 011/21/2011
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core i3 CPU M 380 (-HT-MCP-) cache: 3072 KB flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx)
           Clock Speeds: 1: 933.00 MHz 2: 933.00 MHz 3: 933.00 MHz 4: 2533.00 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller
           X.Org: 1.13.0 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) Resolution: 1366x768@60.0hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Ironlake Mobile GLX Version: 2.1 Mesa 9.0
Audio:     Card: Intel 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset High Definition Audio driver: snd_hda_intel Sound: ALSA ver: 1.0.25
Network:   Card-1: Broadcom NetLink BCM57780 Gigabit Ethernet PCIe driver: tg3
           IF: eth0 state: down mac: e8:40:f2:c7:c1:71
           Card-2: Atheros AR9485 Wireless Network Adapter driver: ath9k
           IF: wlan0 state: down mac: 44:6d:57:18:37:b7
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 500.1GB (0.8% used) 1: id: /dev/sda model: TOSHIBA_MK5059GS size: 500.1GB
Partition: ID: / size: 455G used: 3.6G (1%) fs: ext4 ID: swap-1 size: 3.95GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap
RAID:      No RAID devices detected - /proc/mdstat and md_mod kernel raid module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 51.0C mobo: N/A
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 153 Uptime: 43 min Memory: 419.0/3626.9MB Client: Shell inxi: 1.8.4
joachim@joachim-TravelMate-5744 ~ $ ifconfig -a
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr e8:40:f2:c7:c1:71 
          inet6 addr: fe80::ea40:f2ff:fec7:c171/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:77 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:94 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:40733 (40.7 KB)  TX bytes:12259 (12.2 KB)
          Interrupt:17

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:78 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:78 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:5700 (5.7 KB)  TX bytes:5700 (5.7 KB)

wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 44:6d:57:18:37:b7 
          BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

joachim@joachim-TravelMate-5744 ~ $ cat /etc/network/interfaces
# interfaces(5) file used by ifup(8) and ifdown(8)
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback


Gord
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 5:14 pm
Location: Canada

Re: After fresh install of Mint 14 Ethernet doesnt work anym

Postby Gord » Sun Dec 02, 2012 3:38 pm

Joachim wrote:

Code: Select all

eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr e8:40:f2:c7:c1:71 
          inet6 addr: fe80::ea40:f2ff:fec7:c171/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:77 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:94 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:40733 (40.7 KB)  TX bytes:12259 (12.2 KB)
          Interrupt:17

There is no IPv4 address in there. I would have expected the second line to look something like...

Code: Select all

          inet addr:192.168.1.100  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0

...with the 'inet6 addr' line following it.

What does `nm-tool` say? Also, are we talking about MATE, Cinnamon, or something else?

joachim
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2012 4:06 am

Re: After fresh install of Mint 14 Ethernet doesnt work anym

Postby joachim » Sun Dec 02, 2012 5:15 pm

yes MATE is installed


Code: Select all

nm-tool

NetworkManager Tool

State: connecting

- Device: eth0  [Wired connection 1] -------------------------------------------
  Type:              Wired
  Driver:            tg3
  State:             connecting (configuring)
  Default:           no
  HW Address:        E8:40:F2:C7:C1:71

  Capabilities:
    Carrier Detect:  yes
    Speed:           10 Mb/s

  Wired Properties
    Carrier:         on


- Device: wlan0 ----------------------------------------------------------------
  Type:              802.11 WiFi
  Driver:            ath9k
  State:             unavailable
  Default:           no
  HW Address:        44:6D:57:18:37:B7

  Capabilities:

  Wireless Properties
    WEP Encryption:  yes
    WPA Encryption:  yes
    WPA2 Encryption: yes

  Wireless Access Points



Gord
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 5:14 pm
Location: Canada

Re: After fresh install of Mint 14 Ethernet doesnt work anym

Postby Gord » Sun Dec 02, 2012 6:05 pm

Under...

Control Center > Network Connections

...on the "Wired" tab, select "Wired connection 1" and then click the "Edit..." button. On the "IPv4" tab, ensure that "Method:" is set to "Automatic (DHCP)".

(I see results similar to yours if I set the method to "Disabled".)

joachim
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2012 4:06 am

Re: After fresh install of Mint 14 Ethernet doesnt work anym

Postby joachim » Mon Dec 03, 2012 3:01 am

It was set already and enabling the "Require IPv4 addressing for this connection to complete" doesn't change anything. ipconfig -a still does not show an ipv4 line on eth0.
I have to use 802.1x Security for the connection but on Mint 13 I just got to the 802.1x Security Tab in the network Edit window and set it up properly and then it worked..

Also what is this "lo" interface?

Gord
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 5:14 pm
Location: Canada

Re: After fresh install of Mint 14 Ethernet doesnt work anym

Postby Gord » Mon Dec 03, 2012 5:55 am

joachim wrote:I have to use 802.1x Security for the connection but on Mint 13 I just got to the 802.1x Security Tab in the network Edit window and set it up properly and then it worked..

I see. That's something I've never had to set up before. I hope somebody else can help you.

joachim wrote:Also what is this "lo" interface?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Loopback#V ... _interface


Return to “Ethernet”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests