[SOLVED] Software Manager - Clicking on Wine hangs

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
User avatar
Orbmiser
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1501
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 5:16 pm
Location: Portland,Oregon
Contact:

[SOLVED] Software Manager - Clicking on Wine hangs

Postby Orbmiser » Sun Dec 02, 2012 3:21 am

On Mint 14 Cinnamon "Nadia" 64bit
Software Manager hangs when I click on Wine in favorites just constant circle been 10 mins. And have to close it.
Synaptic try to mark Wine 1.4 or 1.5 and get "Could not apply changes!Fix broken packages first."

I Select Fix broken packages and get
"E: Unable to correct problems, you have held broken packages.
E: Error, pkgProblemResolver::Resolve generated breaks, this may be caused by held packages.
E: Unable to correct dependencies
E: Unable to correct problems, you have held broken packages.
E: Error, pkgProblemResolver::Resolve generated breaks, this may be caused by held packages.
E: Unable to correct dependencies
E: Error, pkgProblemResolver::Resolve generated breaks, this may be caused by held packages.
E: Unable to correct dependencies"

Does Wine install in Mint 14 Cinnamon "Nadia" 64bit?
Tried this and failed - http://linux.hootip.com/wine-1-5-18/#comment-270

And also tried:
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:ubuntu-wine/ppa
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install wine1.5

No Joy! Any help would be appreciated as tried to find the answer myself.
Could it be an added repo that causes this?
Way to default back to default repo's?

Thanks!
.
Last edited by Orbmiser on Sat Dec 15, 2012 8:42 pm, edited 2 times in total.

HardBoiled
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2012 3:21 am

Re: Software Manager - Clicking on Wine hangs

Postby HardBoiled » Mon Dec 03, 2012 3:27 am

I had posted the same question the the ubuntu administrator taking care of the latest wine ppa. Here is his answer,

change the nadia in the sources.list ppa entry to precise and things should work, assuming they use something similar.

~Maarten

and guess what, after hours of me frying my brain cells installing gcc some other compilers, and dling the wine Binary; Maarten's answer worked without a hitch. Smooth install on the first attempt. I am confident that this will work for you too. :wink:

User avatar
Orbmiser
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1501
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 5:16 pm
Location: Portland,Oregon
Contact:

Re: Software Manager - Clicking on Wine hangs

Postby Orbmiser » Mon Dec 03, 2012 4:20 am

I have http://ppa.launchpad.net/ubuntu-wine/ppa/ubuntu precise main
and http://ppa.launchpad.net/ubuntu-wine/ppa/ubuntu precise (Source Code) selected.

And also
http://ppa.launchpad.net/ubuntu-wine/ppa/ubuntu quantal main
http://ppa.launchpad.net/ubuntu-wine/ppa/ubuntu quantal main (Source Code)

Are these in conflict? As tried with both quantal unchecked and still just hangs for minutes and have to close. other entries in featured work fine. Synaptic gives those errors in first post above.

Confused as what Nadia entry? there are none saying nadia. Need exact
repo url or link to your solution at ubuntu.
Thanks!
.

User avatar
Orbmiser
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1501
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 5:16 pm
Location: Portland,Oregon
Contact:

Re: Software Manager - Clicking on Wine hangs

Postby Orbmiser » Mon Dec 03, 2012 6:29 pm

Any insights as still waiting for the wizard that knows! :shock:
Can't seem to track down the issue of software center chocking on just Wine package?
Repo problem?
.

User avatar
Orbmiser
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1501
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 5:16 pm
Location: Portland,Oregon
Contact:

Re: Software Manager - Clicking on Wine hangs

Postby Orbmiser » Sat Dec 15, 2012 5:23 pm

Did a Clean & Fresh Install and still can't install Wine. Same issues as posted above.

Has anyone recently installed Wine? And successful? Or is it Broken?
Thanks.
.

zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6514
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Software Manager - Clicking on Wine hangs

Postby zerozero » Sat Dec 15, 2012 5:42 pm

Orbmiser
what is the output of

Code: Select all

dpkg --print-foreign-architectures
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]

User avatar
Orbmiser
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1501
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 5:16 pm
Location: Portland,Oregon
Contact:

Re: Software Manager - Clicking on Wine hangs

Postby Orbmiser » Sat Dec 15, 2012 7:11 pm

zerozero wrote:Orbmiser
what is the output of

Code: Select all

dpkg --print-foreign-architectures


Nothing just returns prompt.
.

zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6514
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Software Manager - Clicking on Wine hangs

Postby zerozero » Sat Dec 15, 2012 7:21 pm

you installed using an RC iso? http://blog.linuxmint.com/?p=2211
those isos were lacking multiarch support (needed to run 32bit app in 64bit systems like wine, googleearth, skype)
the fix is easy

Code: Select all

sudo dpkg --add-architecture i386

Code: Select all

apt update
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]

User avatar
Orbmiser
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1501
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 5:16 pm
Location: Portland,Oregon
Contact:

Re: Software Manager - Clicking on Wine hangs *** Solved ***

Postby Orbmiser » Sat Dec 15, 2012 8:36 pm

zerozero wrote:you installed using an RC iso? http://blog.linuxmint.com/?p=2211
those isos were lacking multiarch support (needed to run 32bit app in 64bit systems like wine, googleearth, skype)
the fix is easy

Code: Select all

sudo dpkg --add-architecture i386

Code: Select all

apt update


Yer the Man!
Thanks that cleared up a Head scratching last week and tried other searching & solutions to no avail.
And So the RC versions are not upgraded to stable iso? I assumed that updates would resolve that?

This Learning sometimes Hair-Pulling,Cussing & Spitting Coffee.
But as a result My last Two Good Brain Cells have started to Divide & Multiply Again! :shock:

Again a Life Savior here in these Forums Thanks!
.

zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6514
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Software Manager - Clicking on Wine hangs

Postby zerozero » Sun Dec 16, 2012 12:12 pm

glad you got it sorted :)
Orbmiser wrote:And So the RC versions are not upgraded to stable iso? I assumed that updates would resolve that?
most of the time and with most situations found in the rc cycle that is true: updating solves any issue found and running an rc updated or a stable is exactly the same. not this time :shock: and regarding only this multiarch issue.
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]


Return to “Software & Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: windyweather and 16 guests