Does Megatokyo.com work?

Chat about just about anything else
Post Reply
lotharjade
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 5:43 pm
Location: Alaska

Does Megatokyo.com work?

Post by lotharjade »

Could someone check to see if they can log into Megatokyo.com, and verify the website is working?

I have followed that webcomic for years (it has been one of the most popular), and in the last few months I cannot log into the website from my computer, laptop, or phone. Looking at facebook or twitter, the artist is indicating that he is posting his work on the site and it is working. Is this just me? It is the only website I have a problem with. :cry:

If you could verify, it would help to figure out if it is their website, my ISP, or something on my end.
Have you tried turning it off and on again, then hitting it repeatedly? :/

sagirfahmid3
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1017
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 12:39 pm

Re: Does Megatokyo.com work?

Post by sagirfahmid3 »

Works here for me.

lotharjade
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 5:43 pm
Location: Alaska

Re: Does Megatokyo.com work?

Post by lotharjade »

Any idea if there is a way to check if the ISP is blocking access?
Have you tried turning it off and on again, then hitting it repeatedly? :/

mank_in
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1389
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 2:29 pm
Location: Bali

Re: Does Megatokyo.com work?

Post by mank_in »

use this website to check :
http://www.downforeveryoneorjustme.com/#

lotharjade
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 5:43 pm
Location: Alaska

Re: Does Megatokyo.com work?

Post by lotharjade »

So it is either me, or my ISP. Joy.
Have you tried turning it off and on again, then hitting it repeatedly? :/

User avatar
xenopeek
Level 24
Level 24
Posts: 24284
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Does Megatokyo.com work?

Post by xenopeek »

To check your ISP, run dig to see if your DNS can resolve the domain name. Open a terminal and do:

Code: Select all

dig megatokyo.com
When I run it, I get the following. Note the bits in read being important confirmation that my DNS can resolve the domain name.
vincent@nadia ~ $ dig megatokyo.com

; <<>> DiG 9.8.1-P1 <<>> megatokyo.com
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 59190
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 2, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;megatokyo.com. IN A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
megatokyo.com. 3318 IN A 67.210.248.26


;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
megatokyo.com. 3318 IN NS ns1.megatokyo.com.
megatokyo.com. 3318 IN NS ns2.cologuys.com.

;; Query time: 26 msec
;; SERVER: 127.0.1.1#53(127.0.1.1)
;; WHEN: Sun Dec 9 15:04:03 2012
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 92
Try to visit http://67.210.248.26/, which is from above the IP address of megatokyo.com. If you can not resolve the domain name on your ISP, but you can access the website at its IP address, then you could consider switching to a DNS other than your ISP's DNS.

If you can also not reach this website at its IP address, the admins of that website may have banned your IP address (for spamming or other misconduct), or your ISP may have a block on this website and IP address for some reason.
Image

MintyGo
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 5:36 am

Re: Does Megatokyo.com work?

Post by MintyGo »

Megatokyo.com worked fine from here for about 2 minutes and having refreshed it's gone all 'error loading page' on me. I used downforeveryoneorjust me and it turns out it's just me haha great stuff!

Post Reply

Return to “Open chat”