Is it possible to use Google Search correctly in Firefox?

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
TwilightBeach43
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 9:29 am

Is it possible to use Google Search correctly in Firefox?

Postby TwilightBeach43 » Wed Dec 12, 2012 11:41 am

Hey. :D

I know how to add Google to the search area in Firefox on Linux Mint. But I don't get any search suggestions, even with them enabled. I add it via the http://www.linuxmint.com/searchengines.php page instructions.

Also, even if the search area changes to Google, the location bar still uses DuckDuckGo. How could I change this?
I have nothing against DuckDuckGo or Yahoo!, but the results I get from them aren't as good (IMO) as the ones given by good ol' Google.

Thank you.

User avatar
xenopeek
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19692
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Is it possible to use Google Search correctly in Firefox

Postby xenopeek » Wed Dec 12, 2012 11:51 am

Go into about:config and change the keyword.URL setting. This one determines the search done from the address bar. For example for Google:

Code: Select all

https://encrypted.google.com/search?q=

To get search suggestions you need to install a search plugin that supports search suggestions. You can install these for Google from Mozilla's Mycroft Project: http://mycroft.mozdev.org/. Make sure to install one that has the A9 icon (meaning it is an OpenSearch plugin, which usually will support search suggestions).
Image

TwilightBeach43
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 9:29 am

Re: Is it possible to use Google Search correctly in Firefox

Postby TwilightBeach43 » Wed Dec 12, 2012 1:39 pm

Thank you very much. It worked perfectly. :)
Have a good day!

User avatar
Dngrsone
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 454
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2012 12:18 pm

Re: Is it possible to use Google Search correctly in Firefox

Postby Dngrsone » Wed Dec 12, 2012 3:23 pm

Very nice! I am glad to have found this post... it might need to be stickyed.
Try politeness; people will like you for it.


Return to “Software & Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: xenopeek and 5 guests