Can I use mouse scroll to switch workspaces on Cinnamon?

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon here
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon
endeavornet
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 12:33 pm

Can I use mouse scroll to switch workspaces on Cinnamon?

Postby endeavornet » Mon Dec 17, 2012 12:36 pm

In Ubuntu I was able to use the compiz settings tool to map the horizontal mouse scroll to switch workspaces. Is that possible in Mint?

User avatar
xenopeek
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19374
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Mouse Shortcuts

Postby xenopeek » Mon Dec 17, 2012 3:06 pm

Perhaps you should include which desktop environment you are using (or are going to use on Linux Mint) and whether or not you have installed Compiz on it (or intend to do so).
Image

endeavornet
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 12:33 pm

Re: Mouse Shortcuts

Postby endeavornet » Mon Dec 17, 2012 3:25 pm

Sorry, I forgot to add that info. I'm using Mint 14 with the Cinnamon environment. I haven't installed compiz and hadn't planned to.

User avatar
xenopeek
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19374
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Can I use mouse scroll to switch workspaces on Cinnamon?

Postby xenopeek » Mon Dec 17, 2012 3:32 pm

Okay, Compiz doesn't work on Cinnamon so no sense in installing it. I've moved your topic to the Cinnamon forum and updated your topic subject to reflect the new information you have. Hopefully somebody else can pitch in with an answer on this one.
Image

abnvolk
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 11:05 am

Re: Can I use mouse scroll to switch workspaces on Cinnamon?

Postby abnvolk » Wed Dec 19, 2012 12:57 am

Try this extension: cinnamon-spices.linuxmint.com/extensions/view/17
Hope it helps you :)

endeavornet
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 12:33 pm

Re: Can I use mouse scroll to switch workspaces on Cinnamon?

Postby endeavornet » Wed Dec 19, 2012 3:03 pm

abnvolk,

Thank you for the suggestion. I installed it and modified it to look for direction 2 and 3 instead of 0 and 1. That way I could use the horizontal scroll. It worked fine. I'd still like to find a way to do it without having to move the mouse to a screen edge first, but this will work for now.

Thank you again for the help.


Return to “Cinnamon”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest