Unable to change resolution - Linux

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Dusko
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 6:58 pm

Unable to change resolution - Linux

Postby Dusko » Fri Dec 28, 2012 7:06 pm

I cannot change resolution on Linux Mint 14. When i run xrandr, it output's:

Failed to get size of gamma for output default
Screen 0: minimum 800 x 600, current 1024 x 768, maximum 1024 x 768
default connected 1024x768+0+0 0mm x 0mm
1024x768 61.0*
800x600 61.0
I'm using AMD 7670m graphic card. I installed Catalyst 12.1 but it didnt solved my problem.

cwsnyder
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1242
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 6:49 am
Location: Nappanee, IN, USA

Re: Unable to change resolution - Linux

Postby cwsnyder » Fri Dec 28, 2012 8:37 pm

You may want to read the responses to this thread: http://forum.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=59&t=111745
LMDE Mate 64-bit, LM17.3 Cinnamon 64-bit
Debian Mate 64-bit, Xubuntu xenial 64-bit, Ubuntu-Mate 14.04 64-bit, Antergos Xfce 64-bit, PCLinuxOS Mate 64-bit

flashbuddy56
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 9:44 am

Re: Unable to change resolution - Linux

Postby flashbuddy56 » Sun Dec 30, 2012 4:32 pm

basic driver is just that, the basic driver,as long as you can see a desktop that's about all it douse.
sadly most of the unix os iv messed with so far cant even support a 20 year old video card and don't have drivers for them.
they support the video hardware in question in software mode only.
long story short install drivers and sadly its a real princess to do,im still working on that topic my self after a week of being at it

cwsnyder
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1242
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 6:49 am
Location: Nappanee, IN, USA

Re: Unable to change resolution - Linux

Postby cwsnyder » Sun Dec 30, 2012 5:21 pm

I found out something: To fix the "Failed to get size of gamma for output default" error, enter a dummy gamma entry on a line setting your output resolution, for example:

Code: Select all

xrandr --output default --gamma 1:1:1 --mode 1024x768
This can be the last line in a three line triplet of xrandr --newmode <modename> <frequency & pixel setting numbers> setting a new mode line on the first line, xrandr --addmode default <modename> and then the third line with both gamma and mode settings.
LMDE Mate 64-bit, LM17.3 Cinnamon 64-bit
Debian Mate 64-bit, Xubuntu xenial 64-bit, Ubuntu-Mate 14.04 64-bit, Antergos Xfce 64-bit, PCLinuxOS Mate 64-bit


Return to “Newbie Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Grahf, INeedABetterUserName, stylish doggy and 13 guests