No "Network" tab [SOLVED]

Connection sharing, Firewall, Samba..etc
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
kkrofft
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 10:32 pm

No "Network" tab [SOLVED]

Postby kkrofft » Sun Jan 20, 2013 10:46 pm

]Any idea why i have no network tab in the file browser or under "Places"?
New install of Nadia xfce. Samba on. Workgroup set in smb.conf but I can't browse my samba server or windows shares.
Last edited by kkrofft on Mon Jan 21, 2013 5:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

snison
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 12:42 am

Re: No "Network" tab

Postby snison » Mon Jan 21, 2013 7:45 am

Hi

While this is not exactly the answer relating to your gui, this may help in your search for the light.

first do

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get check


do you have cifs installed?

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install cifs-utils:i386 cifs-utils
or
sudo apt-get install cifs-utils:amd64 cifs-utils


# look at shares on server

Code: Select all

smbclient -L 192.168.22.2


# browser share on server

Code: Select all

smbclient //192.168.22.2/d

[code[sudo mkdir /mnt/d[/code]

Code: Select all

sudo mount -t cifs //192.168.22.2/mint /mnt/updates -o username=owner,iocharset=utf8,file_mode=0777,dir_mode=0777
I generally don't use salutation, valedication, or please when answering your questions. I'm not a jerk; you have a question, I have a possible solution.

kkrofft
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 10:32 pm

Re: No "Network" tab

Postby kkrofft » Mon Jan 21, 2013 9:11 am

Thanks for the tips. I will at least be able to confirm that the samba client is working.
I completed another install on a second machine and have the same issue with it in that the Network tab is not present.

altair4
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7900
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: No "Network" tab

Postby altair4 » Mon Jan 21, 2013 9:43 am

Thunar has no "Network" bookmark so make one. In a terminal run:

Code: Select all

thunar network://

Then drag and drop the network folder to the left side panel of Thunar.

Here's an explanation with screenshots: viewtopic.php?f=90&t=121289#p667004
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.


Return to “Other networking topics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest