Lock screen (SOLVED! Thanks proxima_centauri!)

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
jdanfor1
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2012 5:49 pm

Lock screen (SOLVED! Thanks proxima_centauri!)

Postby jdanfor1 » Tue Jan 29, 2013 5:31 pm

I have the newest version of Linux on my computer, but I am lost as to how I can add a "lock screen" on my computer so when I turn it on, I need to put in my admisistrative password before being able to access all of my files/internet. I was able to do this on an older version of linux on another computer of mine, but I don't know how (or if it's possible) to put a "lock screen" on this computer with this new version.

Could someone help me out?
Last edited by jdanfor1 on Fri Feb 01, 2013 7:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
proxima_centauri
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3970
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: NB, Canada

Re: Lock screen

Postby proxima_centauri » Tue Jan 29, 2013 6:17 pm

What edition of Linux Mint are you using? With the main edition using Cinnamon desktop, you can get a lockscreen from the menu above shutdown and logout, or use the keyboard shortcut Ctrl+Alt+L

jdanfor1
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2012 5:49 pm

Re: Lock screen

Postby jdanfor1 » Wed Jan 30, 2013 5:10 pm

I have Linux Mint 13. And I found what you are talking about. I was thinking more of, like, as soon as you turn the computer on, you have to use your password before being able to use the computer. Does that make any sense?

User avatar
proxima_centauri
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3970
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: NB, Canada

Re: Lock screen

Postby proxima_centauri » Wed Jan 30, 2013 7:11 pm

Make sure Automatic Login is turned off in User Settings, found under Administration in the menu.

User avatar
proxima_centauri
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3970
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: NB, Canada

Re: Lock screen

Postby proxima_centauri » Wed Jan 30, 2013 7:13 pm

Actually that might not do the trick in Cinnamon.

Go to Login Window under Administration in the menu. Go to the security tab and uncheck automatic login.

jdanfor1
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2012 5:49 pm

Re: Lock screen

Postby jdanfor1 » Fri Feb 01, 2013 7:55 pm

That second tip helped! Thank you for helping me out :D


Return to “Newbie Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: rene, Schultz, tenfoot and 21 guests