Bose USB speakers work intermittently

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
User avatar
jlr1701
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 237
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 3:22 am
Location: Anchorage, AK
Contact:

Bose USB speakers work intermittently

Postby jlr1701 » Thu Feb 07, 2013 1:42 pm

Hey everybody,

I have some really nice Bose USB speakers that take a long time to start working in Mint. After I boot the system up I have to keep messing with the sound settings and testing the speakers to get them to work. Or... maybe it's just a matter of time until they kick in. What could be taking so long to initialize so the speakers work? What can we check and fix? :)

Thanks,

Jeff
Last edited by jlr1701 on Sun Feb 10, 2013 1:42 am, edited 3 times in total.
Asus Sabertooth X79 mobo/i7-3930k/Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO/32GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 RAM/Nvidia GTX670/Samsung 540GB SSD/ 2 1TB WD hard drives

User avatar
jlr1701
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 237
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 3:22 am
Location: Anchorage, AK
Contact:

Re: Bose USB speakers take a long time to start working

Postby jlr1701 » Thu Feb 07, 2013 3:52 pm

I found the fix for this issue here:

http://www.josephcrawford.com/2010/09/b ... nd-ubuntu/

But... choose Pulse Audio instead of ALSA.
Asus Sabertooth X79 mobo/i7-3930k/Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO/32GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 RAM/Nvidia GTX670/Samsung 540GB SSD/ 2 1TB WD hard drives

User avatar
jlr1701
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 237
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 3:22 am
Location: Anchorage, AK
Contact:

Re: Bose USB speakers take a long time to start working

Postby jlr1701 » Sun Feb 10, 2013 12:01 am

This issue is actually NOT solved. I am still researching this on my own and have found this topic:

viewtopic.php?f=90&t=123702&p=680390&hilit=pulse+audio&sid=fbd9570e76058ad84cca498b51e4bc7e#p680390

Also, I have set the sound to work through ALSA instead of Pulse Audio. It's not really a fix since whether the speakers will work or not is a crapshoot every boot. I have also tried these fixes with limited success.

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?p=11553513

I am considering removing Pulse Audio and just using ALSA. Is that possible to do without hosing my Mint installation?

Thanks,

Jeff
Asus Sabertooth X79 mobo/i7-3930k/Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO/32GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 RAM/Nvidia GTX670/Samsung 540GB SSD/ 2 1TB WD hard drives


Return to “Sound, Multimedia, & Codecs”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests