Adding a third HDD (mint13) [SOLVED]

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
stackmanpf77
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2012 9:50 am

Adding a third HDD (mint13) [SOLVED]

Postby stackmanpf77 » Mon Feb 11, 2013 9:36 pm

I've run out of space on my storage drive (2tb SATA) and went and bought another to add (also, purely for storage).

Everything I've been able to find on the topic suggests that mint will automatically detect the new drive But Not mount it.
Yet it isn't detecting it.
Any suggestions/help would be appreciated.

(I realise there is a parity of information here, but as I don't know what is relevant to my dilemma I didn't know what was needed to provide any help)

(also, the mint install itself is on a separate ssd, used purely for the OS and related applications, the two regular SATA drives are pure storage)

Thanks in advance
Last edited by stackmanpf77 on Wed Feb 13, 2013 9:36 pm, edited 5 times in total.

User avatar
lmarmisa
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 5:22 am
Location: Madrid - Spain

Re: Adding a third HDD (mint13)

Postby lmarmisa » Mon Feb 11, 2013 9:45 pm

stackmanpf77 wrote:I've run out of space on my storage drive (2tb SATA) and went and bought another to add (also, purely for storage).

Everything I've been able to find on the topic suggests that mint will automatically detect the new drive But Not mount it.
Yet it isn't detecting it.
Any suggestions/help would be appreciated.

(I realise there is a parity of information here, but as I don't know what is relevant to my dilemma I didn't know what was needed to provide any help)

(also, the mint install itself is on a separate ssd, used purely for the OS and related applications, the two regular SATA drives are pure storage)

Thanks in advance


Have you defined the partition table on the new hard drive?. Have you defined a partition and formated it?.

I recommend the program gparted:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install gparted


Once partition is defined, you will need to add a line in file /etc/fstab for automatic mounting.

stackmanpf77
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2012 9:50 am

Re: Adding a third HDD (mint13)

Postby stackmanpf77 » Mon Feb 11, 2013 9:58 pm

*points up*

Thanks lmarmisa, instant success.
mounted, partitioned and formatted.
/added to christmas card list

stackmanpf77
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2012 9:50 am

Re: Adding a third HDD (mint13)

Postby stackmanpf77 » Wed Feb 13, 2013 2:46 am

I've managed to get the third HDD mounted, etc....

but now for some bizarre reason I have two folders in /home/user/media that are causing my OS to pause on boot because it "doesn't recognise files name [[xx] and [xx]" and gives me the option to skip or manually retrieve them.

I know they're not actually there for anything, they're stuff-ups I made when mounting the third HDD..

How do I delete the folders? Move to trash and delete options are greyed out completely, and when I try to manually drag the offending folder(s) to the trash icon, I get a 'permission denied' error...

Any suggestions as to how to get rid of the offending folders?

User avatar
catweazel
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1649
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm

Re: Adding a third HDD (mint13)

Postby catweazel » Wed Feb 13, 2013 3:24 am

stackmanpf77 wrote:they're stuff-ups I made when mounting the third HDD..

How do I delete the folders?

The easiest way for you is to open a terminal and type, for Cinnamon:

Code: Select all

gksu nemo


Or for MATE:

Code: Select all

gksu caja


Then navigate to the offending directories and kill them from within the file browser.

Alternatively you can use this if you're game:

Code: Select all

sudo rm -rf _offendingpath_


Where _offendingpath_ is the full path to the offending directory.
Mint Testing Team & Mint Donor #3606
KDE 4.14.2, custom preemptive kernel 3.16.5,
Intel i7 4820K @ 4.7GHz, 32GB Corsair Vengeance Pro
3122MHz XMP, 4 Samsung 840 PRO 512GB SSDs in
RAID0, 6TB HW RAID10, 3 x 24" Samsung UlHD,
Dual R290X

stackmanpf77
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2012 9:50 am

Re: Adding a third HDD (mint13)

Postby stackmanpf77 » Wed Feb 13, 2013 4:01 am

fixt.

/adds TehGhodTrole to christmas card list

thanks muchly :)

edit: after a reboot, it still gives me the message "The disk drive for /media/Windows is not ready yet or not present" (windows was the hdd name i initially tried to mount it under as my first attempt was a simple copy'n'paste from a google search solution, in no way do I have that PoS OS on my system)

any other suggestions?

cecar
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 371
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 2:47 am
Location: Stenungsund, Sweden

Re: Adding a third HDD (mint13)

Postby cecar » Wed Feb 13, 2013 6:23 am

Please open a terminal and post the output of this command.

Code: Select all

cat /etc/fstab

stackmanpf77
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2012 9:50 am

Re: Adding a third HDD (mint13)

Postby stackmanpf77 » Wed Feb 13, 2013 3:47 pm

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# Use 'blkid' to print the universally unique identifier for a
# device; this may be used with UUID= as a more robust way to name devices
# that works even if disks are added and removed. See fstab(5).
#
# <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
proc /proc proc nodev,noexec,nosuid 0 0
# / was on /dev/sda1 during installation
UUID=d0d68d11-5d09-4909-a138-b1dea8a00c4b / ext2 errors=remount-ro 0 1
# swap was on /dev/sda5 during installation
UUID=f34c59dc-edd0-4a0f-96c3-d6dc1e887a5a none swap sw 0 0
/dev/sdb1 /media/sdb1 ntfs defaults 0 0
/dev/sdxx /media/Windows ntfs defaults,umask=007,gid=46 0 0
/dev/sdc1 /media/sdc1 ntfs defaults

(as requested cecar)
(sdb1 and sdc1 both automount without a problem, and without causing the error message to appear during the boot sequence)

User avatar
lmarmisa
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 5:22 am
Location: Madrid - Spain

Re: Adding a third HDD (mint13)

Postby lmarmisa » Wed Feb 13, 2013 3:53 pm

The syntax is not fully correct. But I would like to know the UUID of your partions befor to recommend any change.

Could you post the output of this command?

Code: Select all

sudo blkid

stackmanpf77
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2012 9:50 am

Re: Adding a third HDD (mint13)

Postby stackmanpf77 » Wed Feb 13, 2013 4:24 pm

/dev/sda1: UUID="d0d68d11-5d09-4909-a138-b1dea8a00c4b" TYPE="ext2"
/dev/sda5: UUID="f34c59dc-edd0-4a0f-96c3-d6dc1e887a5a" TYPE="swap"
/dev/sdb1: LABEL="Secondary Disk" UUID="722A7F7E2A7F3DE3" TYPE="ntfs"
/dev/sdc1: LABEL="Tertiary Disk" UUID="36430AFC5DCAE3E6" TYPE="ntfs"

(sudo blkid results)

cecar
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 371
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 2:47 am
Location: Stenungsund, Sweden

Re: Adding a third HDD (mint13)

Postby cecar » Wed Feb 13, 2013 4:26 pm

Comment out this line:

Code: Select all

/dev/sdxx /media/Windows ntfs defaults,umask=007,gid=46 0 0


So it looks like this:

Code: Select all

#/dev/sdxx /media/Windows ntfs defaults,umask=007,gid=46 0 0


That should make it work.

stackmanpf77
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2012 9:50 am

Re: Adding a third HDD (mint13)

Postby stackmanpf77 » Wed Feb 13, 2013 5:09 pm

/sheepish

how would I go about editing that line in terminal?

cecar
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 371
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 2:47 am
Location: Stenungsund, Sweden

Re: Adding a third HDD (mint13)

Postby cecar » Wed Feb 13, 2013 5:45 pm

If you have Cinnamon:

Code: Select all

gksu gedit /etc/fstab


If you have Mate:

Code: Select all

gksu pluma /etc/fstab

User avatar
lmarmisa
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 5:22 am
Location: Madrid - Spain

Re: Adding a third HDD (mint13)

Postby lmarmisa » Wed Feb 13, 2013 6:02 pm

I recommend to follow this procedure.

Open a terminal and type the command:

Code: Select all

cat /etc/passwd


Check if your user and group ids are 1000:

Code: Select all

...
youruserhere:x:1000:1000:yournamehere,,,:/home/youruserhere:/bin/bash
...


I will suppose that those values are 1000. Change them if required.

Type these commands:

Code: Select all

cd /etc
sudo cp fstab fstab.bak


Now you have to edit the file fstab with your prefered editor (nano, gedit, pluma, vi, etc). I will use gedit:

Code: Select all

gksu gedit fstab


I recommend to update last lines with tese contents:

Code: Select all

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# Use 'blkid' to print the universally unique identifier for a
# device; this may be used with UUID= as a more robust way to name devices
# that works even if disks are added and removed. See fstab(5).
#
# <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
proc /proc proc nodev,noexec,nosuid 0 0
# / was on /dev/sda1 during installation
UUID=d0d68d11-5d09-4909-a138-b1dea8a00c4b / ext2 errors=remount-ro 0 1
# swap was on /dev/sda5 during installation
UUID=f34c59dc-edd0-4a0f-96c3-d6dc1e887a5a none swap sw 0 0
# Secondary Disk
UUID=722A7F7E2A7F3DE3 /media/sdb1 ntfs defaults,uid=1000,gid=1000 0 0
#Tertiary Disk
UUID=36430AFC5DCAE3E6 /media/sdc1 ntfs defaults,uid=1000,gid=1000 0 0


Save & exit.

Type these commands:

Code: Select all

sudo umount /media/sdb1
sudo umount /media/sdb2
sudo mount -a
mount


Check if partitions are correctly mounted.

Finally you can define Tash folders (very useful) in these partitions:

Code: Select all

mkdir /media/sdb1/.Trash-1000
mkdir /media/sdc1/.Trash-1000

stackmanpf77
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2012 9:50 am

Re: Adding a third HDD (mint13)

Postby stackmanpf77 » Wed Feb 13, 2013 9:36 pm

fixt properly this time.

thanks repliers for tips/help, much appreciated.


Return to “Newbie Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MajorMuff and 10 guests