Cant install anything without the terminal.

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
phantommaggot
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 6:08 pm

Cant install anything without the terminal.

Postby phantommaggot » Thu Feb 14, 2013 8:18 pm

HI,
So I've had this really irritating little issue since my first updates after the fresh linux mint 14 install.

Im using mate

Anyways,
Anytime I go to the software portal or another place where I would download programs and applications and try to do so nothing happens. I click the button/link and a new empty browser windows opens. Thats it. Its always a window too not a tab.

How can I fix this problem?

Thanks
-J

User avatar
TheDynamicHamza21
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 795
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 7:24 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Cant install anything without the terminal.

Postby TheDynamicHamza21 » Sun Feb 17, 2013 12:18 am

So the software manager is malfunctioning? Can you install programs using the package manager?
Linux Registered User: # 573034

www.domeshotsandfatlaces.com

phantommaggot
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 6:08 pm

Re: Cant install anything without the terminal.

Postby phantommaggot » Tue Feb 26, 2013 1:05 pm

TheDynamicHamza21 wrote:So the software manager is malfunctioning? Can you install programs using the package manager?


Pretty sure I can but I'll check again. I got steam installed using the instructions on the page.

I think its a different issue. I've been playing around with it more when I have time.

Anything I try to download or open from a link that needs to open another program to work just opens a browser.

For example, I was attempting to download a torrent from a magnet link. Instead of opening my torrent client it jsut opens a new browser window.

I'll hit the software manager now and see how that goes. I need to decide what I want from there LOL.


--------
EDIT

Synaptic Package Manager put gnome games on my pc no problem.

Seems like my problem is related to command given to the pc when I click a link that opens a program.


Return to “Software & Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: saabyurk and 6 guests