Mouse Wheel in LMDE? (Solved)

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Forum rules
Whitefort
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2011 2:53 pm

Mouse Wheel in LMDE? (Solved)

Postby Whitefort » Tue Feb 26, 2013 6:10 am

Hi. I've just tried installing LMDE (in virtualbox), and so far I like it a lot, but it's not recognising my mouse wheel, so I can't scroll in Firefox, LibreOffice, or anything else.

I thought I'd find posts about this issue here, but I can't, so now I'm wondering:

1. Is this something that's so trivial to fix that no one's asked about it, but I'm too inept to know about?
2. Could it be that the problem is just unique to LMDE in VirtualBox?
and, most of all,
3. Can anyone give me any clues on how to fix it?

Thanks!
Last edited by Whitefort on Tue Feb 26, 2013 7:03 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
xenopeek
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19694
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Mouse Wheel in LMDE?

Postby xenopeek » Tue Feb 26, 2013 6:44 am

I guess you are using the LMDE 201303 RC? VirtualBox guest additions are not enabled in the kernel I believe, at least that is what other users are reporting on the blog. You can easily enable that.

Step 1, enable the needed modules in the kernel (have a drink or a snack, this can take a few minutes):

Code: Select all

sudo dpkg-reconfigure virtualbox-guest-dkms

It should finish with the message "DKMS: install completed."

Step 2, load the new modules:

Code: Select all

sudo modprobe -a vboxguest vboxsf vboxvideo

Mouse wheel should work after those steps. Upon a reboot the modules should be loaded automatically I think, so step 2 is only needed because you haven't rebooted yet.
Image

Whitefort
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2011 2:53 pm

Re: Mouse Wheel in LMDE?

Postby Whitefort » Tue Feb 26, 2013 7:02 am

MANY thanks, Xenopeek. Problem solved!

In fact, not only did it solve the mouse wheel problem, it also removed an error notification I'd been getting about the system not finding any 3D hardware.

Thanks again!

bdsatish
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 3:59 pm

Re: Mouse Wheel in LMDE? (Solved)

Postby bdsatish » Mon Mar 25, 2013 4:33 pm

Worked well for me too, thanks!

AgedGeek
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 3:01 am

Re: Mouse Wheel in LMDE? (Solved)

Postby AgedGeek » Sun Jun 23, 2013 1:45 pm

Ditto, thanks!

Dwel
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 8:59 am

Re: Mouse Wheel in LMDE? (Solved)

Postby Dwel » Thu Jul 11, 2013 1:44 pm

Yeeeee Hawwwwwww....it work. Hapiness everywhere!


Thx!


Return to “Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests