Where are Compiz packages in LMDE UP6 ?

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Forum rules
mark1mint
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 143
Joined: Tue May 22, 2012 4:36 pm

Where are Compiz packages in LMDE UP6 ?

Postby mark1mint » Wed Mar 13, 2013 6:32 am

I've just booted the LMDE UP6 CD to see what's what,and I haven't been able to find in the repos the Compiz packages I'm currently using in my disk installation of LMDE:what gives ? Has Compiz been removed from the LMDE repo ?

zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6514
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Where are Compiz packages in LMDE UP6 ?

Postby zerozero » Wed Mar 13, 2013 8:01 am

i believe you are talking about the new lmde 201303 rc iso, right?
yes, compiz was removed from debian testing, it's on sid tho
http://packages.debian.org/search?suite ... rds=compiz
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]

mark1mint
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 143
Joined: Tue May 22, 2012 4:36 pm

Re: Where are Compiz packages in LMDE UP6 ?

Postby mark1mint » Wed Mar 13, 2013 12:25 pm

Yes,that 201303 rc iso exactly...I kinda suspected that something had changed in Debian,but I asked to make sure I wasn't missing something obvious...
So,if you don't mind the next dumb question,the only way to currently use that Compiz packages in LMDE would be to modify the software sources to track sid,or can it be done in some other way ?
Like,say,downloading and installing every single package with dpkg -i ?

User avatar
GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1599
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: Where are Compiz packages in LMDE UP6 ?

Postby GeneC » Wed Mar 13, 2013 12:56 pm

Mark

You dont have to track SID, per se. Just temporarily enable it, install Compiz (and extras), then delete or comment out the SID repo.

Code: Select all

deb http://http.us.debian.org/debian/ unstable main contrib non-free

Its what I did many moons ago.

Code: Select all

gene@lmdeup6:~$ apt-cache policy compiz
compiz:
  Installed: 0.8.4-5.2
  Candidate: 0.8.4-5.2
  Version table:
 *** 0.8.4-5.2 0
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status

mark1mint
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 143
Joined: Tue May 22, 2012 4:36 pm

Re: Where are Compiz packages in LMDE UP6 ?

Postby mark1mint » Thu Mar 14, 2013 3:27 am

Excellent,thanks for the suggestion.


Return to “Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests